We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, food and people.”
Review of Lomond Hills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lomond Hills Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freuchie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

My wife and I have just come home from a 5 day stay here. This is the second time we have stayed at the Lomond Hills and it is just as we remembered it the first time, really friendly staff, excellent choice for breakfast and a great dinner menu. The Lomond Hills is well placed for visits to St. Andrews, all the coastal villages and if you fancy a trip to Edinburgh, Ladybank station is 2 miles away and has loads of parking.
Ronnie is usually around, bustling between bar, restaurant and reception but he has always time to stop and speak.
We enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dykeside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Hello dykeside and thank you for your very flattering review!
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your second visit to The Lomond Hills Hotel as much as your first one.
It was a pleasure looking after you again and special thanks for mentioning our fab staff!
We all look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Best wishes from all of us.
Ronnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

very well run - first class breakfast. the owner is charming and the rooms are good. Very quaint and homely. The rooms are a bit dated but that adds to the charm. Very good value for money. Easy journey to airport and edinburgh

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Thank you david 1 for your "EXCELLENT" review.
It means so much to all of our staff and to me to know that our guests leave happy and want to return!
Best wishes and thanks again.
Ronnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My partner and I booked a long weekend over the English August bank holiday. From the first moment of arrival, not a single staff member had anything less than a smile on their face, and the owners, Ronnie and Faye were as helpful as you could imagine.

We enjoyed the bar on Saturday evening - 54 malt whiskies, plus Jameson's, Jack Daniels and a Single Grain Scotch on offer. Interesting discussions, given the proximity of the Referndum, but never left to get out of hand. And the Sunday "High Tea" is everything you'd wish for, at half the price you;d expect. My compliments to both the Sunday chef, and the Breakfast staff.

In fact, the only thing I could possibly complain about is that fact that I was left nothing to complain about. Not only that, I swear they undercharged me, so a cheque for the outstanding balance will be on its way shortly.

Ronnie and Faye well deserve their superb ratings on TripAdvisor and Booking.com and I look forward to our next meeting. This is one venue that can be assured of my patronage in the years to come.

Room Tip: Nowhere is less than good, but southerly rooms struggle to hold Wifi,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tramlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hello tramlink and many, many thanks for your fantastic five star review!
You single out three things that I look for when managing to escape for a couple of days break...........Smiling, helpful staff, good food and a great range of malt whiskies (and real ales) in the bar. Coupled with nice rooms and intelligent (sometimes) conversation, what more can you ask for?
I'm sorry that you couldn't find anything to complain about (as you say, your only complaint) but hope you encounter the same problem on your next visit ha ha.
It was lovely looking after you both and hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes from all the team who are still smiling:)
Ronnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stopped off here for Sunday lunch after visiting the nearby Scottish Deer Centre. We hadn't booked and it was quite busy but we were fitted in no problem. Despite being busy, the staff were very attentive and friendly - instantly welcoming and helpful. We were made to feel very comfortable and relaxed here straight away. Such a nice atmosphere. When our food arrived, the portions were large - my husband had the steak pie, I had the haddock goujons and my young daughter had a cheese sandwich. All were delicious! We very much enjoyed our first visit here and would definitely come again if we were nearby. The lovely staff made it a pleasure - thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 06meg1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear 06meg1977.
I am over the moon to read that your first visit to The Lomond Hills Hotel was a resounding success and that our fantastic staff looked after you to such an extent that you are already planning your next trip here...............not too far from Dunfermline.
We all look forward to seeing you again.
Ronnie and the team thank you again for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Our second visit: everyone helpful and pleasant; child friendly hotel; swimming pool enjoyed by whole family, including young children. Excellent menu, very good food. Already looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you John F for taking the time to write a five star review after your break with us here at The Lomond Hills Hotel.
It was lovely to see your charming family again and I am delighted that you all enjoyed your stay. Glad to know too via your recent e-mail that neep was delivered safely by post after being left behind and that no tears were involved due to a lost soft toy!
We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Ronnie and all our fab staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We recently stayed over after we held our wedding reception at this lovely, clean hotel - where everyone had an amazing time and not one single complaint from anyone. Friendly and helpful owners, staff and residents. Great function suite, great room, great food, great people! Would definitely go back.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Liam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you Liam M for your kind review after your fabulous wedding day last week here at The Lomond Hills Hotel.
Another delighted Bride and Groom. I can't say any more except to wish you both a healthy and happy life together!
Best wishes from all of us.
Ronnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Very friendly staff and good customer service made this a pleasant overnight stay. Excellent dinner, with good quality local product. Well cooked breakfast. Swimming pool a bonus. Quiet location. Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TimTHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RONNIE D, Owner at Lomond Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thanks TimTHF....a great review from a senior reviewer!!!
You compliment us on our staff, our dinner menu, our breakfast, our leisure centre and our beautiful setting and quiet location. Don't think you left anything out that would attract new guests or would encourage you to return.
Thanks so much.
Ronnie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freuchie
2.9 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
18.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
13.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
560 reviews
13.3 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate
Kilconquhar Castle Estate
#1 of 1 in Kilconquhar
543 reviews
2.7 mi away
Balbirnie House
Balbirnie House
#1 of 1 in Markinch
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomond Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomond Hills Hotel

Address: High Street, Freuchie KY15 7EY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Freuchie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Freuchie
Price Range: £69 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lomond Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lomond Hills Hotel, established in 1733, is an eighteenth-century converted coaching inn situated at the foot of the Lomond Hills. This comfortable inn is an ideal place to stay when visiting the Kingdom of Fife, whether on business or for pleasure. The Old Inn has been extended over the years and has a candle-lit restaurant serving a superb A La Carte Menu, comfortable lounges and 24 well-appointed en suite bedrooms with full facilities, including free WIFI access using high speed FIBRE. The public bar is always well stocked and offers over 50 malt whiskies and quality Real Ales. Several rooms are available for meetings, conferences, parties, weddings and other functions, from 10 to 200 guests. Call to make an appointment to view what we have on offer. The well-equipped leisure centre is free for guest use comprising of a heated indoor swimming pool, fully equipped gymnasium, sauna and jacuzzi. The village of Freuchie is set amidst rich farming country and is situated in the heart of Fife where it lies within a 25 mile radius of 52 golf courses including St Andrews. Only 25 miles from Edinburgh Airport and 17 miles from St Andrews. Main Line Railway Station (Ladybank) 2 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lomond Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomond Hills Freuchie
Lomond Hills Hotel Freuchie, Fife, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing