We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Terrible Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fernie Castle Hotel
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Stayed here for a wedding, drink was extortionate, service was beyond terrible, they ran out of draught beer.

Price for a dirty, poky, poorly decorated room with a a faulty TV, broken window was £140 for 1 night with an average cold breakfast.

The price is terrible i got a room in the Hilton in London for £88, and that came with a n amazing breakfast.

The best thing was the sign that said, 'No Drinking in your room, they will be checking rooms and if found with your own alcohol, you will be told to leave.

For £140 its terrible, for £70 it would still be terrible, just don't go.

Room Tip: Just don't go
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank lesliedocherty-GLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
really777, Owner at Fernie Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Unfortunately these people did stay in our hotel, what she failed to mention it was they who broke the window, also failed to mention that there was an unofficial bar going on in this room with up to 14 people in it at any one time, also failed to mention she did not just bring in a bottle of wine which we don't mind but a whole selection of spiriits and beers and even all the soft drinks, many of the other hotel guests complained with regards to the noise and this finally stopped when at around 6am when an amubulance had to be called to take the writer of this review to hospital. When our housekeeping staff went into the room this had been truly trashed with broken windows, broken t.v., blood stains, vomit etc all over the room.
When we sent an account to them for the balance of their stay and for damages caused in the room, her partner telephoned and paid for this and apologised for the behaviour.
You would think that would be the end of it but no she then goes and writes this truly terrible review, so I say to her in response to "just don't go" YOU NEVER COME BACK!!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for Fernie Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2011

Arrived as guests to find our room dirty and extremely dusty, hairs in bath, no shower and the skirtings in the bathroom were filthy, also thick urine stains on underside of loo seat!!!! sheets on the bed appeared to be laundered but had awful stains on them. there were dead flies on the carpet too, which in my opinion had not seen a hoover in weeks or perhaps months. We complained about the cleanliness of the room and was given a £30 discount, still feel ripped off as we have stayed in travelodges for £9 a night and felt more like king and queen of the castle!!!!!!!

Room Tip: scotland is a very beautiful country, please drive on by this place
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank naefairytale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We had a fantastic and fun trip upto Fernie Castle. The castle it's self has all the character you would expect of a 450 - 500year old castle and more. The rooms we stayed in along with the public spaces which we had the pleasure to use druing our stay, (bar, banqueting hall, breakfast room and lounge,) were clean, decorarted and furnished with character. All of the staff were very helpful, friendly and accomodating making our stay altogether fun and enjoyable. I would definitely have no problem visiting Fernie Castle again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed at Fernie castle with friends & family, and had an amazing time, The castle its self is fantastic, the grounds are beautiful and a lovely loch to walk by.
The bedrooms were spotless, nice white crisp bedding, fresh & clean and huge, we had the Monarchs suit and it was fabulous.
All the rooms that our group had were very clean as we all had a look at each others "a girlie thing" Not one of us was disappointed.
The staff were very helpful and friendly we couldnt of asked for a nicer place to stay. the food was amazing.
Hopefully we will be returning again soon, it was an amazing weekend all thanks to family & friends.
But most of all Many Thanks to the staff & owners of Fernie castle XXX

Room Tip: All are fantastic
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul73-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I stayed here with a colleague, and we were impressed with the building, although the weeds on the driveway let down the overall effect. The bedrooms are huge, but not entirely fresh. My loo had stinky drains, obvious as soon as I went into my room. The bar is in a nice stone cellar, although sadly draught beer is absent. The dinner menu was very limited indeed, although the food was adequate.
This is a wedding venue, possibly a very good one, but it doesn't quite work if all you want is a comfy bedroom and good food and drink.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZoomAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We went here for Y2K and went back again more recently. We love Fernie Castle. The service is fabulous, the dinner is wonderful and the food is splendid. The first time we stayed, we were surprised to find that we got the room in the brochure! Very comfortable bed and nice amenities. When we returned, the rooms had been upgraded and are of even better quality. My favorite part of the castle is the Dungeon bar! Recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ecotait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We attended a family wedding at Fernie Castle on 23/07/11. The location was perfect,the hosts were wonderful and too top it off the weather was as good as you could get.
The happy couple were able to get married outside at a quaint little archway which really made for a memorable day. The guests had travelled from all over to attend the wedding and the ones lucky enough too stay in the castle were impressed with the accomodation.The food was very tasty and the Laird was a very cool calm and collected host, his timing was just so and talking to him you could tell he had a very dry sense of humour.
I look forward to returning to Fernie castle as a weekend guest in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supersally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Letham
14.4 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,273 reviews
7.8 mi away
Balbirnie House
Balbirnie House
#1 of 1 in Markinch
854 reviews
5.6 mi away
Craigsanquhar House Hotel
Craigsanquhar House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigsanquhar
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,153 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
575 reviews
11.7 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernie Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernie Castle Hotel

Address: Letham KY15 7RU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Letham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Letham
Price Range: £153 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernie Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Fernie Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernie Castle Hotel Letham, Fife, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing