We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely friendly Inn.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kinneuchar Inn

Kinneuchar Inn
Ranked #8 of 43 Restaurants in Leven
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: Scottish, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: NEW OWNERSHIP AS OF NOVEMBER 2016 The Kinneuchar Inn is a wonderful East Neuk Inn with a long history and a promising future. Balcaskie Estate took over the Inn in November 2016. Balcaskie farms' in-conversion-organic beef & lamb and these will be supplied to the Inn. We serve local, seasonal, straightforward food at lunch and dinner 7 days / week (excl Mon lunch). We have started with a few changes. There are more to come so please bear with us as we give this wonderful Inn a new lease of life.
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely friendly Inn.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have enjoyed meals on two occasions now at the Kinneuchar Inn, and have been extremely pleased with what we had. The food was excellent and plentiful, we could only manage two courses, and the price reasonable. We will certainly be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessie6623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    23
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ulleskelf
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Mrs McB is right”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I have to agree with the previous reviewer about the Kinneuchar Inn. A far from warm welcome - and again we were the only diners on our arrival. Main courses were served on child size plates and while the food was ok it was not worth the prices charged. I fear the menu is priced according to the pub's location rather than the quality of fayre on offer. Our six year old had watery spag bol from the kids' menu but £6 was an incredible mark up on the portion offered. I'm afraid the owners need to up their game.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinneucharInn, Owner at Kinneuchar Inn, responded to this review, 30 November 2016
Hi Chris H. I wanted to let you know that, as of November 2016, we have become the new owners of the Kinneuchar Inn. We have a new chef, new menu and have started to make some other changes to make the Inn more welcoming - see latest reviews on Tripadvisor and on Facebook. Do come and give us a fresh try. We look forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average food, Poor Customer Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We saw the sign for this place from the road and a quick check at trip advisor, noting lots of positive reviews. I had high hopes for a lovely warm welcome and meal and unfortunately these were not met.

On arrival our drink orders were taken very efficiently however, there was a less than welcoming and atmosphere. A smile and some small talk can go a long way in the hospitality industry and both were missing. Given that we were the only people in the restaurant, I would have expected a certain level of attention.

Our starters were all lovely. However the main meals were very average and could be greatly improved on. I personally didnt have dessert however others at the table enjoyed theirs. At no point, did the manager enquire if our meals were ok, and while the waitress worked hard to get all our meals out (we were a large party) we had to collect our own condiments.

During and following the meal, the smell of old/overused frying oil became quite overpowering and and led us to leave more prematurely than we normally would have.

We wont be returning im afraid......but im not sure anyone would care.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank MrsMcB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinneucharInn, Owner at Kinneuchar Inn, responded to this review, 30 November 2016
Hi MrsMcB2012, Just to let you know that, as of November 2016, the Kinneuchar Inn has new owners. We have already made some changes (new chef, new menu, some other staff changes) and latest TripAdvisor reviews and Facebook comments have been really good - and we are grateful for them.
I hope that you will consider coming to the Kinneuchar Inn again; it is a different place and we would love to welcome you back. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Support your local pubs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Four UK pubs are closing down every day of the week. This has been the case for quite a long time, and is likely to continue. I cannot begin to understand why anyone could have the cheek to moan about any village pub. The owners of such establishments must struggle to stay in business through the long winter months. We should all be delighted to even find a village pub, particularly one as nice as the Kinnuechar Inn.
Over the years we have dined here on scores of occasions. We continue to do so. We have never had any cause to complain about anything whatsoever. The food is fresh, wholesome, well cooked, very reasonably priced, and very plentiful. You always get a packed plateful. We struggle to finish a two course meal here, and no longer even attempt a three course one. And just for the record, Willow Pattern plates have been around in this country since the 18th century.
The Kinneuchar is a lovely family run pub. We have fared far worse in expensive British hotels.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank richard_mechen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Smashing Bar Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Despite living in the area for about a year, today was the first time we stopped off at the Kinneuchar Inn for a bite of lunch and we weren't disappointed. On a freezing January day, it was cosy and the menu was reasonably priced. We enjoyed lovely generous portions of steak pie - the meat was tender, the pastry nice and flaky and the veggies just right - everything piping hot too. Looking forward to next visit in the near future.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DundeeBridie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kinneuchar Inn also viewed

 

Been to Kinneuchar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing