We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”
Review of Kinneuchar Inn

Kinneuchar Inn
Ranked #8 of 43 Restaurants in Leven
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: Scottish, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: NEW OWNERSHIP AS OF NOVEMBER 2016 The Kinneuchar Inn is a wonderful East Neuk Inn with a long history and a promising future. Balcaskie Estate took over the Inn in November 2016. Balcaskie farms' in-conversion-organic beef & lamb and these will be supplied to the Inn. We serve local, seasonal, straightforward food at lunch and dinner 7 days / week (excl Mon lunch). We have started with a few changes. There are more to come so please bear with us as we give this wonderful Inn a new lease of life.
glasgow
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

First time eating here although friends have been often and always enjoyed the food. Enjoyed a pint in the small bar before heading into the restaurant. 7 people in our party and all starters were finished with nothing left on the plates. Main meals consisted of 2 sirloin steaks which were ordered medium and cooked to perfection. Nice thick steaks although at just over £16 they should have been.The duck also looked to have been cooked just right. Plenty of meat in the chicken and steak pies. Both fish dishes also looked good and all meals finished. A good choice of Deserts if you had any room left. Overall very reasonable on the pocket and would go back again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beermanGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    23
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A NICE MEAL IN A LOVELY SETTING”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have family connections in the area and have used the Kinneuchar Inn regularly over many years. It has been managed by the same family over the entire period I have known it.
We have never been disappointed.
The Kinneuchar Inn is in the village of Kilconquar in the picturesque "East Neuk of Fife" noted for quaint whitewashed cottages with red pan-tiled roofs.
It takes its name from the local pronunciation of the village name.
The bar is small and friendly with a much larger restaurant to the rear.
The menu is not extensive and is mainly traditional fare.
Portions are generous and are well cooked and presented.
I would regard the prices as good value for money.
This part of Fife has a great many attractive restaurants and every one has to be good to survive against the competition.
We visited yesterday on the way home from a rally with our old car.
This shows the pub from the outside and the interior is every bit as attractive.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely friendly Inn.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have enjoyed meals on two occasions now at the Kinneuchar Inn, and have been extremely pleased with what we had. The food was excellent and plentiful, we could only manage two courses, and the price reasonable. We will certainly be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessie6623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulleskelf
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mrs McB is right”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I have to agree with the previous reviewer about the Kinneuchar Inn. A far from warm welcome - and again we were the only diners on our arrival. Main courses were served on child size plates and while the food was ok it was not worth the prices charged. I fear the menu is priced according to the pub's location rather than the quality of fayre on offer. Our six year old had watery spag bol from the kids' menu but £6 was an incredible mark up on the portion offered. I'm afraid the owners need to up their game.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinneucharInn, Owner at Kinneuchar Inn, responded to this review, 30 November 2016
Hi Chris H. I wanted to let you know that, as of November 2016, we have become the new owners of the Kinneuchar Inn. We have a new chef, new menu and have started to make some other changes to make the Inn more welcoming - see latest reviews on Tripadvisor and on Facebook. Do come and give us a fresh try. We look forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average food, Poor Customer Service”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We saw the sign for this place from the road and a quick check at trip advisor, noting lots of positive reviews. I had high hopes for a lovely warm welcome and meal and unfortunately these were not met.

On arrival our drink orders were taken very efficiently however, there was a less than welcoming and atmosphere. A smile and some small talk can go a long way in the hospitality industry and both were missing. Given that we were the only people in the restaurant, I would have expected a certain level of attention.

Our starters were all lovely. However the main meals were very average and could be greatly improved on. I personally didnt have dessert however others at the table enjoyed theirs. At no point, did the manager enquire if our meals were ok, and while the waitress worked hard to get all our meals out (we were a large party) we had to collect our own condiments.

During and following the meal, the smell of old/overused frying oil became quite overpowering and and led us to leave more prematurely than we normally would have.

We wont be returning im afraid......but im not sure anyone would care.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank MrsMcB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinneucharInn, Owner at Kinneuchar Inn, responded to this review, 30 November 2016
Hi MrsMcB2012, Just to let you know that, as of November 2016, the Kinneuchar Inn has new owners. We have already made some changes (new chef, new menu, some other staff changes) and latest TripAdvisor reviews and Facebook comments have been really good - and we are grateful for them.
I hope that you will consider coming to the Kinneuchar Inn again; it is a different place and we would love to welcome you back. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kinneuchar Inn also viewed

 

Been to Kinneuchar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing