We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value overnight stay”
Review of Caledonian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Leven
Reviewed 27 July 2013

stayed as part of a group of friends on motorbikes as an overnight stay - had a bit of a worry when the booking system 'cancelled' one of our rooms but luckily the management thought it a bit strange and had the foresight to ring me and check !! rooms were clean and tidy, we ate in the restaurant and it was pretty good. all the staff were excellent the next morning we were initially upset to see that some things such as ties and waterproofs left on one of the bikes were missing, but a member of staff came out with a bag and said he had seen a lot of stuff on the floor by the bike so had collected it up and kept it safe overnight! leven itself was a little disappointing - quite run down, but the hotel and staff were great....

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yamriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

I haven't stayed in the hotel so can't comment on the rooms however I have eaten there on quite a few occasions. The food is OK but nothing special and a little overpriced. The whole place gives the impression of somewhere that could do with a lick of paint and a bit of updating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We needed a last minute rescue from a 3 day booking that was cancelled at the last minute by the Crusoe Hotel in Lower Largo and the Caley came through for us. We were on something of a heritage holiday in Fife and had lost the better part of a day due to the booking cancellation. We had much we wanted to see, do, and experience in Leven since close family members had immigrated to the US from the village. The hotel is right on the High street with good parking and quiet nights, with important family sites within very easy walking distance. Staff was extremely helpful with information, suggestions, and directions. Special thanks to Lauren for her help and spirited enthusiasm. The bar area was well laid-out and food and service were both very good. Breakfast was excellent. While the Caley had not been our first choice in Fife, it was a serendipitous find that turned out to be the highlight hotel experience of the family heritage portion of our Scotland holiday. We would stay again and we hope we will.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liketogoplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We traveled 450 miles from Essex to watch a football match that was called off due to high winds etc. This would normally have made the weekend a tragic waste of time, but thanks to the fantastic service provided by the staff at the Caledonian Hotel, we still had a great time.

The bar is spacious and doubles up as the restaurant/breakfast area.

The menu was straightforward and the food cooked well. Service was attentive but not obtrusive. I'd consider our meal good value for money.

Breakfast was superb. There is a help yourself cereal/fruit juice bar followed by a table service menu. Our breakfast was cooked very well.

Like many hotels of this type, it could do with with a lick of paint and a general tidy up. I would say this a reflection of the current economic climate rather than neglect on the part of the management.

I would like to make a point of thanking the friendly staff for all their efforts, particularly Lauren, who seems to be everywhere!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back may well be quieter. Certainly those at the front were quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveB1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed two nights in this hotel, the staff were very friendly but the hotel itself was badly in need of refurbishment. It all looked a little 'Sad'. The meals were just about ok but lacked choice.It was very close to the sea which was a bonus, but unfortunately we had very noisy, disruptive neighbours next to our bedroom which went on until 4am.

Room Tip: Room on the other side than facing the street is advisable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

A comfy bed, clean room,delicious food and friendly staff made our overnight stay very relaxing.Plus they were dog friendly ( £10 extra ) and did room service so our dog stayed with us while we ate our evening meal in the room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We booked this hotel when travelling up for a golf comp at st Andrews.
It was very cheap and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The room itself was a good size uf not a little worn looking. The bathroom really needs some attention with stains and marks all over it.the shower curtain stank of molde.and there was inly shower gel not shampoo.

The breakfast was propably the worse iv ever had in a hotel.it all looked like it was cooked the day before and kept warm with a sausage that contains next to no meat.so poor that I ate about 3 mouthfulls and my friend couldn't face one bite.

The bar area is fine with drinks resonably priced and food also but after the breakfast we ate elsewhere.

The are around the hotel is small but has a nice curry house and a bus station with good links to surrounding towns.

All in all it was fine for us as all we wanted was somewhere cheap with a couple of beds as where were only in the rooms for a few hours.but if your travelling with kids and spend time in your room and like to eat at the hotel I'd suggest paying that bit more and staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leven
1.8 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
538 reviews
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
5.8 mi away
Travelodge Glenrothes
Travelodge Glenrothes
#2 of 9 in Glenrothes
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
6.6 mi away
Golden Acorn Hotel
Golden Acorn Hotel
#5 of 9 in Glenrothes
209 reviews
6.9 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel

Address: 81 High Street, Leven, Levenmouth KY8 4NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Levenmouth > Leven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Leven
Price Range: £51 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caledonian Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Leven, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing