We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Start of our holiday”
Review of Caledonian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Leven
Reviewed 27 August 2013

On our way up to Forfar we stopped overnight at The Caledonian hotel, the room was clean and comfortable, we ate our evening meal in the pub which was quiet busy but the food was very nice. Plenty on the menu to choose from. Breakfast the next morning was great and set us up for the day to carry on with our travels. The staff were very friendly and polite.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Debs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

We needed a base to travel to St. Andrews to watch golf every day. This hotel was very reasonably priced and maybe 14 miles away.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, rooms, clean and comfortable and the breakfast ( full English ) cooked fresh to order was excellent,

Not hotels fault but an early morning delivery across road was noisy and Leven not a vibrant place but good base

Room Tip: Ask for room at back of hotel, not overlooking front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeteandAly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights bed and breakfast for a short break in Fife. Staff here excellent. Had a good room no. 6, facing side. Clean double bed, TV, tea& coffee and biscuits. Good clean bathroom with bath and shower, plenty of towels. Breakfast is not for the faint hearted, the portions are gigantic!! Fruit juice, yogurts, cereals, pastries. full Scottish breakfast, toast etc.
The menu in the hotel is great. There is everything from full meals to lighter snacks. If you have been out and had a late lunch there is plenty to choose from like chicken wings etc or filled baguettes. Would go back here but on a room only basis.
Sharon in reception is very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JORGE848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

stayed as part of a group of friends on motorbikes as an overnight stay - had a bit of a worry when the booking system 'cancelled' one of our rooms but luckily the management thought it a bit strange and had the foresight to ring me and check !! rooms were clean and tidy, we ate in the restaurant and it was pretty good. all the staff were excellent the next morning we were initially upset to see that some things such as ties and waterproofs left on one of the bikes were missing, but a member of staff came out with a bag and said he had seen a lot of stuff on the floor by the bike so had collected it up and kept it safe overnight! leven itself was a little disappointing - quite run down, but the hotel and staff were great....

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yamriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I haven't stayed in the hotel so can't comment on the rooms however I have eaten there on quite a few occasions. The food is OK but nothing special and a little overpriced. The whole place gives the impression of somewhere that could do with a lick of paint and a bit of updating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We needed a last minute rescue from a 3 day booking that was cancelled at the last minute by the Crusoe Hotel in Lower Largo and the Caley came through for us. We were on something of a heritage holiday in Fife and had lost the better part of a day due to the booking cancellation. We had much we wanted to see, do, and experience in Leven since close family members had immigrated to the US from the village. The hotel is right on the High street with good parking and quiet nights, with important family sites within very easy walking distance. Staff was extremely helpful with information, suggestions, and directions. Special thanks to Lauren for her help and spirited enthusiasm. The bar area was well laid-out and food and service were both very good. Breakfast was excellent. While the Caley had not been our first choice in Fife, it was a serendipitous find that turned out to be the highlight hotel experience of the family heritage portion of our Scotland holiday. We would stay again and we hope we will.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liketogoplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We traveled 450 miles from Essex to watch a football match that was called off due to high winds etc. This would normally have made the weekend a tragic waste of time, but thanks to the fantastic service provided by the staff at the Caledonian Hotel, we still had a great time.

The bar is spacious and doubles up as the restaurant/breakfast area.

The menu was straightforward and the food cooked well. Service was attentive but not obtrusive. I'd consider our meal good value for money.

Breakfast was superb. There is a help yourself cereal/fruit juice bar followed by a table service menu. Our breakfast was cooked very well.

Like many hotels of this type, it could do with with a lick of paint and a general tidy up. I would say this a reflection of the current economic climate rather than neglect on the part of the management.

I would like to make a point of thanking the friendly staff for all their efforts, particularly Lauren, who seems to be everywhere!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back may well be quieter. Certainly those at the front were quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveB1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leven
1.8 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
537 reviews
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
5.8 mi away
Travelodge Glenrothes
Travelodge Glenrothes
#2 of 9 in Glenrothes
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
6.6 mi away
Golden Acorn Hotel
Golden Acorn Hotel
#5 of 9 in Glenrothes
209 reviews
6.9 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel

Address: 81 High Street, Leven, Levenmouth KY8 4NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Levenmouth > Leven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Leven
Price Range: £50 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caledonian Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Leven, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing