We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cally slow” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caledonian Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Leven
Leven, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cally slow”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Was in the establishment the other day with my fieance.no clean table to start with,had to wait ten minutes at the bar as usual.food good waitress cleaned the two plates in to one in front of us on the table its always the same service needs a good kick up the butt ,but that's just my opinion .

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    37
    25
    25
    22
See reviews for
26
56
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed at the Caledonian in Leven on our way to golf's sacred shrine, St Andrews's. Leven is 15 miles from St Andrews but the hotel provides a reasonable priced stay and the drive is reasonable. Our room was clean and comfotable. The breakfast was well prepared though service was a little slow, probably due to under staffing. The staff arranged fo a tee time at the Leven Links upon our arrival. The course is very near the hotel. Located on the edge of the city center access to shops and pubs is no problem.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pastorsam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

On our way up to Forfar we stopped overnight at The Caledonian hotel, the room was clean and comfortable, we ate our evening meal in the pub which was quiet busy but the food was very nice. Plenty on the menu to choose from. Breakfast the next morning was great and set us up for the day to carry on with our travels. The staff were very friendly and polite.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
147 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We needed a base to travel to St. Andrews to watch golf every day. This hotel was very reasonably priced and maybe 14 miles away.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, rooms, clean and comfortable and the breakfast ( full English ) cooked fresh to order was excellent,

Not hotels fault but an early morning delivery across road was noisy and Leven not a vibrant place but good base

Room Tip: Ask for room at back of hotel, not overlooking front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteandAly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
158 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights bed and breakfast for a short break in Fife. Staff here excellent. Had a good room no. 6, facing side. Clean double bed, TV, tea& coffee and biscuits. Good clean bathroom with bath and shower, plenty of towels. Breakfast is not for the faint hearted, the portions are gigantic!! Fruit juice, yogurts, cereals, pastries. full Scottish breakfast, toast etc.
The menu in the hotel is great. There is everything from full meals to lighter snacks. If you have been out and had a late lunch there is plenty to choose from like chicken wings etc or filled baguettes. Would go back here but on a room only basis.
Sharon in reception is very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JORGE848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

stayed as part of a group of friends on motorbikes as an overnight stay - had a bit of a worry when the booking system 'cancelled' one of our rooms but luckily the management thought it a bit strange and had the foresight to ring me and check !! rooms were clean and tidy, we ate in the restaurant and it was pretty good. all the staff were excellent the next morning we were initially upset to see that some things such as ties and waterproofs left on one of the bikes were missing, but a member of staff came out with a bag and said he had seen a lot of stuff on the floor by the bike so had collected it up and kept it safe overnight! leven itself was a little disappointing - quite run down, but the hotel and staff were great....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yamriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

I haven't stayed in the hotel so can't comment on the rooms however I have eaten there on quite a few occasions. The food is OK but nothing special and a little overpriced. The whole place gives the impression of somewhere that could do with a lick of paint and a bit of updating.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leven
1.8 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Glenrothes Hotel
6.6 mi away
Golden Acorn Hotel
Golden Acorn Hotel
#5 of 9 in Glenrothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glenrothes
6.9 mi away
Kilconquhar Castle Estate and Country Club
12.6 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel

Property: Caledonian Hotel
Address: 81 High Street, Leven, Levenmouth KY8 4NG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Levenmouth > Leven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Leven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caledonian Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Leven, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing