We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Improve your golf and enjoy lunch”

Wellsgreen Golf Range
Ranked #3 of 9 things to do in Leven
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wellsgreen is the best golfing practise facility in the region. A 5 star Scottish Tourist Board Activity Centre boasting 18 golf bays, 2 tuition studios, a fully stocked golf shop and a 6 hole par three golf course.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Improve your golf and enjoy lunch”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Great driving range complete with "electric tees" and some upstairs bays looking away out to the Forth in the distance. Good place to practise even in the winter as all bays are covered and protected from the elements. Highly recommend lessons from either of the two professionals, Donald and Henry who focus on your needs to improve regardless of your ability. All the staff are friendly as well as very professional. There is also a "wee course" of 6 holes should you want to put a bit of " real" practice on a small course. Excellent golf shop complete....even ladies and junior clothing and gear.....with a fitting service and sound helpful advice as required. A pleasant restaurant with very reasonably priced food rounds of a visit especially when it might not be on your doorstep! Well worth the journey time!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank adnilyesac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    20
    11
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lunch with friends”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Very clean pleasant staff, meals were first class would recommend to anyone visiting t6he area to try the Wellsgreen, the outlook is scenic from the restaurant, try the chicken and haggis tower delicious.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Go here for lynch frequently and reallt like it. Was really surprised that dinner was of average standard. Bruschetta was cold and pasta dish was bland! Service great as always just let down by mediocre food

Helpful?
Thank geesy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Driving Range”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This is definitely the best golf range in the area. They have a great shop and a course which is excellent for all the family. The restaurant (which I have also reviewed - The Standing Stane) is also a great place to visit with good food. A+

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank brogan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KINROSS
Level Contributor
270 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Food and service leave a lot for improvement”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Went back here after a long break following previous bad food and service, disappointed to say that not much has improved. I had a chicken salad and it was served with a pineapple slice and grated cheese, like stepping back into the 60's. The decor and extension to the bar and restaurant area has been done to a very high standard and prior to this work the smaller restaurant served far better choice and quality food. Sometimes it was so busy you had to book, but not now.
Needs a complete review of the menu, chef and staff training in customer service if it is to improve.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WellsgreenOwner, Owner at Wellsgreen Golf Range, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
I am sorry to hear you have had a bad experience in our restaurant. Our menu is due to change shortly and I will take on board your comments regarding our salad. As far as your issues with our waiting staff are concerned, as you didn't expand it is difficult for me to know what they were doing wrong. I actually receive regular complements from customers regarding our staff and it disappoints to me to here you did not feel the same.

Your comments however, regarding our old restaurant vs our new one are ridiculous. Our menu is larger than ever before, we cook everything from fresh now as opposed to from mostly frozen before and we now source the majority of our main ingredients locally as never before. Our restaurant is now more than 2 times busier than the old one and is still growing month on month. We were seldom fully booked in our old restaurant however this is a regular occurrence these days and we always encourage guests to book to avoid disappointment.

Stewart Whiteford
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wellsgreen Golf Range also viewed

 

Been to Wellsgreen Golf Range? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing