We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveller rating
89
119
49
17
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
119
49
17
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgroupon dealfish and chipssea viewboth nightsa bit tiredeast neukbedroom windowshort breakrailway inndog friendly hotelevening mealburgerstaff were very friendlykippersrestaurant upstairslambvery popular place
Filter
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 290 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed at the Crusoe with three friends for a mid-week golfing break and overall we were happy with the experience.
True, the place could stand a lick of paint and some refurb to bring it up to pristine condition - and doubtless elevate the tariff! - and I cannot comment on the restaurant food as we missed out on the night we intended to dine in. We didn't book, wanted to get a table at the Thursday-night quiz across at The Railway (excellent pub and good quiz) and our timings didn't fit.
Our fault entirely, but it seems that the number of diners pouring into the place attests to the general level of cooking rather than an occasional glitch, and this was certainly supported by the breakfast offerings, which were first-class in every respect.
The rooms were simple, clean and tidy, and the ones on the coastal side of the premises have that wonderful sleep enhancing bonus of the tide lapping gently below.
The staff were friendly and helpful, with the master of the house Stuart a member of Lundin Links and Royal Dornoch and as such a very helpful source of support for visiting golfers.
In the final analysis, the location is the key which transcends any minor flaws.
A repeat booking has already been made.

Room Tip: Rooms on the extension wing have a sea view - with sound
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarefulYorkshireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We were passing through the area on the way down to Edinburgh and found this establishment and decided to grab a quick late lunch.The hotel is situated right on the beach with inside and outside seating, beautiful location. I ordered the Salmon with courgette linguine and the flavours were intense, well balanced and expertly executed. My Husband ordered the Pigeon which was perfectly cooked and the fondant potato and blueberry jus were to die for, compliments to the chef. We will be back in the future and will highly recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Food in restuarant was very poor. The mussels in white wine and cream had no wine and little seasoning and no accompanying bread roll. On asking, I was told a roll would take 10 minutes to heat and was subsequently brought two slices of white pan bread. My main course of pidgeon was over cooked and tough. My wife's starter had no dressing on her salad despite promising wasabi and ginger. Her main course of deep fried fish in batter was saturated with oil. Having gone to this restuarant to celebrate a friends birthday we were very disappointed. At the end of the meal, on complaint to the manager , I was treated with a complete lack of interest. On the plus side at least one couple waiting for a meal left after witnessing the managers attitude.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adammac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Attempted to have a meal here on Saturday 20th July. Great setting at the harbour with tables available inside and out. Had walked a mile from our campsite and was 7 p.m on a lovely sunny evening. When asked if we could order food after having a drink we were told that they were no longer serving food. This was despite seeing food still being served and orders being taken from other customers. Spoke to a local couple who said the same had happened to them and they were driving elsewhere to get a meal. Tried a different member of staff who said that food was only being served to people who had pre-booked or were staying in the hotel! Began to feel like an episode of Fawlty Towers but was not particularly funny. Staff serving behind bar looked a bit shame-faced and if this is how we serve tourists and customers in Scotland it is a bit embarrassing.
Finally gave up and walked to another hotel (Lundin Links) who were kind enough to serve us even though we arrived later than there specified hours. That is what you call service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank Susanwbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinsonScotland, Owner at Crusoe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

The Crusoe Hotel being located right on the beach at Lower Largo is one of the most sought after locations for food in the area, especially in the good weather. As with all restaurants we have a maximum capacity of customers that we can cater for in a professional manner. It was unfortunate that when you came to the Crusoe Hotel our target of being fully booked for that evening had been reached. It is essential, especially over the summer period to book a table for meals. You would have observed some empty tables and presumed that they were available for food service but we have a split of tables earmarked for food service and the other tables are just for drinks. i have to say that i am slightly bemused that you think that you can walk into a popular busy restuarant on a saturday evening without a booking and expect to get a table for dinner. I can assure you that it is our business to sell food, that is how we survive! we do not like to turn any customers away, so if you are told we are full, and cant do any more meals, please believe me that is the case!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Situated on the harbour and in the sea wall at Lower Largo, this old lady of the sea is certainly well located. The older main building is well featured with a sea going theme. It is very busy with locals and tourists alike. The sea view rooms are in a newer wing incorporated into the he sea wall and then views are certainly to take your breath away. Despite being the newer part if the hotel the fixtures and fittings are a bit tired and would benefit from a revamp.

The service and food were all good and very welcoming, so overall a good place for a night or two at the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank euanpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews