We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal & Great views”
Review of Ferrybridge Hotel

Ferrybridge Hotel
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in North Queensferry near Edinburgh underneath the Bridges.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
563 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Ideal & Great views”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Don't listen to the bad reviews untill you have tried it for yourself...

My partner picked this hotel in queensferry as it was it was close to the deep sea world and had amazing views of the bridges, On arrival we managed to park right at the side of the building and oh the views were ideal for pictures, its a hidden gem i would say, When walking into we approached the bar and were served by a women who was the owner she was very friendly and told us everything we needed to know for our stay.

We went up the stairs towards the room and i never knew what to expected as i never seen the place before going, opened the door and oh the room was lovely, and the view of the rail bridge was amazing, Our room had a double bed, soft comfy chair, tv and free view box, and bathroom with basket of towels,shower gel and soap, and tea and coffee facility's. The rooms have a lock but we felt safe the min we walked in to the hotel.

As we had traveled we went to the restaurant for dinner, its limited but has offers on, and the prices were alright, we got burgers and chips, the waitress was very polite and well manarerd, within couple of mins sitting down she asked us what drinks would would like and then came and took our order, You will be happy with the size of meal it was filling.
Queensferry is a small village and not many shops but if your looking for romantic views then this area is ideal for you, We went out a walk and then headed back for a drink at the bar, there was 3 other couples sitting, and some music was been played in the background, its a relax place and feels like home, the women that owners it is very friendly and so is the chef and waitress they are happy to help if you ask.
I saw below regarding the noise from the trains yea you hear them but after a wile you don't i had a great sleep, breakfast is served in the restaurant in the morning, we had orange and pineapple juice, tea, theres cereal on offer, and cooked breakfast is available if you want.

Well on leaving we said to ourselfs we will be back, Pictures will be uploaded soon,

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G_Inspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    38
    19
    3
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Fantastic 1st Anniversary Meal!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

As my boyfriend and I had been going out for a year, we wanted to go somewhere nice for a meal and we picked here as we were going bowling and playing mini golf afterwards near there - so really we picked it for convenience above anything else. Being a pub type place, We weren't expecting anything extraordinary as such - but it still looked nice. When we arrived we were greeted by a nice lady who showed us to our table - a nice table at the window. We were the only ones in so it was nice and relaxing. The menu looked delicious and I opted for both the starter and main course specials - lamb koftas to start and venison steak for my main. Infact, we both had steak I think (apologies as I have only just got round to writing this review just now and we visited at the end of April). We both thoroughly enjoyed our meals... So much so that we even decided to stay for dessert which was great too. For somewhere we werent expecting too much of, it actually turned out o be really great and we really felt like we found a hidden gem which we will definitely return to at some point!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Night Out”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had a great night out in this lovely restaurant yesterday. What a shame it was so quiet but there again, that meant we had excellent service. Three of us had the steak and ale pie which was delicious and one had the fish which again, looked great. For desert, we had various (Eton Mess was my sin) but all excellent. Portions were plentiful without being excessive. Good value for money. We did not feel rushed when we finished our meal and found the staff courteous and friendly. Will definitely go again. They have started "Tribute Nights" so might be tempted to one of them.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Family Meal”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Lovely family meal.Great service.Lovely warm welcome very homely.Lovely warm open fire.Can't wait to return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHORLEY
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lazy staff lets this place down”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

The food has always been pretty good at The Ferrybridge but they REALLY need to retrain their staff to have a decent business. The place is looking really shabby so redecoration and better staff would mean a better business. It is always empty when we go. There is one lady in particular who never asks us if we want more drinks, just serves us our meal and pretty much leaves us to it - no 'can I get you anything else'. Any request just seems to much effort. We had to ask her three times for to out in a drink order yesterday, she was too busy doing her long hair behind the bar, yuck!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CESTTOUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ferrybridge Hotel also viewed

North Queensferry, Fife
North Queensferry, Fife
 
North Queensferry, Fife
Inverkeithing, Fife
 
South Queensferry, Edinburgh
South Queensferry, Edinburgh
 

Been to Ferrybridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing