We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would NOT recommend”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Ferrybridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ferrybridge Hotel
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Would NOT recommend”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed overnight recently, the evening meal was ok. The room was poorly decorated, dull and dingy, the shower was broken, paper comming off the ceiling and walls. In the morning we found ourselves locked in our bedroom by a faulty lock with no phone in the room to call for help, eventually someone came and unlocked the door from the outside. The owner tried to tell us we had put the deadlock on, I still maintain that the lock was faulty as I tried several times to get out, I dread to think what would have happened if ther was a fire. At breakfast my "full Scottish breakfast" was served up extremely cold, the owner did not appear too happy when I complained about my cold breakfast. I would most certainly not stay here again and would not recommend this establishment, it was uninviting, dull and in need of some TLC? I didn't mention the noise from the trains thundering overhead as they crossed the bridge.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    19
    16
    8
    11
See reviews for
14
31
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

had lunch here while visiting had a friendly greeting from staff after taking our order the food and drinks were served in a professional manner . the meal was most enjoyable more importantly hot and freshly made . would certainly go back .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotmacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Went here for a quick lunch after Deep Sea World (excellent). Only 2 other people in the place. Staff very grumpy - didn't smile once. Took forever to get our lunch - club sandwiches and fish & chips. The sandwich was ok, but the chips were undercooked. The fish & chips were extremely greasey and chips virtually raw. Not a great meal at all. Definitely will not go back.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these North Queensferry hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Arrived slightly early for a meal. Table reserved 7:30 arrived 7:15. The restaurant area was fairly empty and yet it took over 20 mins for us to be shown to our table instead we were kept in the dingy bar area where we were given menu's and literally had to shout our order over to a barmaid behind the bar. Once we were finally seated and the food arrived the disappointment got worse. we were served garlic bread from a packet out the supermarket and they even managed to get this wrong as it arrived to the table cold. I ordered a burger with cheese and bacon and whilst the beef patty was delicous and clearly freshly prepared the rest off the dish was a let down. Bun over toasted. Bacon burned to the stage I thought I might crack a tooth on it and served with frozen supermarket oven chips and as for the wine it was clearly supermarket basics wines which they quite merrily charged 14.50 for. This standard of food was acceptable twenty years ago when people were less aware and economic conditions were kinder. It is a miracle given the current economic climate that xomewhere like this is still in existance. My advice stay away!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rennes, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Having a one night stay at a hotel nearby, had dinner in this restaurant; food was very nice (especially the cheesecake white chocolate and strawberry !!!), not expensive.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManuelaC26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Went for an evening meal. Blazing fire in the bar for pre meal drinks, lovely to just sit there by the heat choosing the meal. Food was VERY good. Good portions and very tasty - particularly liked the fish chowder. The blade of beef is really something special. Very friendly staff. Altogether a really nice night with change to spare. Definitely would go there again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schlussel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

This was my first Christmas Day lunch out,and I was very impressed from our arrival till our departure.The service was excellent,the meal was also excellent,which I thought it would be as I had dined there before,but not on Christmas Day.I can only recommend it highly, to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zebra55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Queensferry
0.5 mi away
The Queensferry Hotel
The Queensferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Staghead Hotel
The Staghead Hotel
#4 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
1.3 mi away
Orocco Pier
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferrybridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferrybridge Hotel

Property: Ferrybridge Hotel
Address: Main Street, North Queensferry KY11 1JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > North Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in North Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ferrybridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome awaits you at the Ferrybridge Hotel, a family run hotel in the picturesque village of North Queensferry - just 20 minutes from the centre of Edinburgh and around 45 minutes from Glasgow. Ideal for both business and leisure, we are perfectly located for motor racing at Knockhill, rugby at Murrayfield, and, of course, golfing at the many nearby courses. In addition to the awe-inspiring views of the Forth Bridges, we have Deep Sea World - one of the largest public aquariums in the UK - right on our doorstep. A short walk and you are linked to the many tourist attractions in Edinburgh and surrounding area by a regular train & bus service. We offer a cosy lounge bar with an open fire, ideal for a relaxing drink or informal meal, an award winning intimate restaurant - serving locally sourced produce all cooked to order and a range of comfortable en-suite bedrooms. Events are catered for with a passion in our newly refurbished voile tented suite all expertly managed for you by our in - house events team to ensure your perfect day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ferrybridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferrybridge Hotel North Queensferry, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing