We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting victorian light tower looking out under the forth bridge”

North Queensferry Harbour Light Tower
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“interesting victorian light tower looking out under the forth bridge”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Decided to go over the famous bridge on a lovely sunny day, took the south to north train, walked down to the waterfront and found this pretty mini lighthouse. We were openly invited to explore it by the keeper and we had a great chat about it. Have a wee peek upstairs. And it's free.

Take care on the slipways if the speedboat tours are about, as they nearly drowned us, but made up for it with a free ride out under the bridge.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ouchnotagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    30
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seneca, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Visit on a Whim - Enjoyed Every Minute - Would love to go back!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We visited here on a whim. We had arrived from America and had gone to the train station in Edinburgh to purchase tickets for a trip to Perth (on a genealogy trek) and the lady who sold me the tickets recommended a short day trip over to North Queensferry (where she lived). She told me it was quite quaint, less crowds, etc. and thought I would enjoy it. So off we went. It was the BEST experience - the village is charming, the views of the Firth of Forth Bridge are Spectacular. There was a gentleman (volunteer) on duty that day and he was so knowledgeable and interesting. We, of course, loved his accent and were mesmerized by his stories about the bridge. We could not have asked for a more delightful experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Unusual and very interesting”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We visited yesterday on a beautifully warm and sunny day. The harbour was lovely, stunning views and almost deserted. The lighthouse itself is easily accessible, small and perfectly formed! With an informative display in the tiny little information museum next door. The lighthouse has been beautifully restored with all working parts and for a donation of £5 you can light the beacon and receive a certificate which is a lovely touch and a fab souvenir for children. The staff running the lighthouse are fab, extremely friendly and helpful, more than happy for you to take as many photos as you like. Really lovely, out of the ordinary little place to visit.

Helpful?
Thank fionascot_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Called at this village almost by accident! 21/5/14 It's by the side of The Firth of Forth Road Bridge (which is fantastic) The quaint light tower is just down by the harbour, where the boats are launched. It's free too, although I'm sure everyone must give a donation! It's unmanned,just go in and up the spiral staircase and mind your head! It's only the height of a single story building, I'm guessing 14-16 spiral steps? I'm not too good at 'stairs' with my dodgy knees,but it was fine. Its SO cute! Long may it be taken care of.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,032 reviews
501 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
“Photo opportunity”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This is one of the most scenic locations in Scotland , a photo of the Harbour light Tower with the Forth Bridge in the background is beautiful

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank craigluscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed North Queensferry Harbour Light Tower also viewed

North Queensferry, Fife
North Queensferry, Fife
 
North Queensferry, Fife
St Andrews, Fife
 

Been to North Queensferry Harbour Light Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing