We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wash out hogmanay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Queensferry Hotel
dundee scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“wash out hogmanay”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

we arrived at brooks queensferry on the 30th to the 1st of january as a party of 4 (dickson) had high expectations of a brilliant new years eve party it was fine when we first got there tea,s coffee with cakes scones etc as was our first dinner which was a good because it had a choice of mains desserts as well first night fine second night new years eve the food was good but very small portions & no choice now my wife does not like sauce of any kind but steaks appeared & hey presto peppercorn sauce covering the whole dish i complained & asked for steak with no sauce & it did get changed but it seemed like it was the very end of the cow cause it was tiny & full of fat & gristle grub on the whole big let down on new years eve also & this is the crux there were lots of english people at this gig 6 at our table so i guess they thought great what a night we are goin to have after the meal was finished & cleared up the band appeared at round about 21 50 pm they played for about 30 mins 40 tops then had a break then then appeared again about 2300 pm & that was them until 2350 when they left for a break & put on the RADIO to bring in the bells i mean WHATTTTTTTT !!!!!!!!! need less to say the english folks said is this it we said looks like it & guess what it was it it seemed like we the public were on our own & just got on with it there was no staff in the room at all now i would have thought a manager at least would be on hand to help celebrate this so called scottish extravaganza lol as a scotsman i was very embarassed by this whole affair specially when our english friends stood there open mouthed wonderein whats goin on i mean they travelled hundreds of miles & for what abyssmal very very poor paul the manager is gettin an email from us as well he introduced himself on the first night then that was it never seen him again the breakfasts were the best thing about this hotel a buffet type deal fine hotel staff were nice (well some of them ) the room was basic we had tea coffee makin facility on closer inspections found the tray where the tea was sittin on was stained with spilt beverages dont get me wrong the hotel was good but the cleaning need seriously looked at bear in mind this was meant to be 4 star not good enough will not return to this hotel for either xmas or new year dunno about any other time like i said very embarrasing

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dartschamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    224
    120
    67
    56
See reviews for
121
321
28
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverkip
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I have just return after staying at this hotel for a conference from 18th -20th November. The staff at this hotel are without exception the most attentive and friendliest I have ever came across, nothing is any trouble, always smiling and engaging with customers. This hotel has stunning views and I can only agree with other reviews. The room was lovely large and clean with a lovely comfy bed and welcome power shower to fresh in the morning. The food was excellent.

Thank you one and all for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InverkipKippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I have just returned from a business trip to Edinburgh and had a very enjoyable stay in the Brook Queensfeery Hotel, I stayed from the 30th October to 4th November and dined in the hotel over the four nights. The room that I had was suprisingly large with a fantastic view of the Forth road Bridge and the Firth of Forth.

The hotel is located 15 min drive from the centre of Edinburgh, is ideal for both business and pleasure, especially if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre.

The staff were both professional and very helpful, but my best praise is for the dining, over the four nights myself and my colleagues dined in the restaurant, the food was incredible with a great selection and this was every night.

I will definitely stay in this hotel again and would recommend it highly. I have stayed in many four star hotels , that were nowhere near as good as this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niall0byrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The Queensferry is well situated on the banks of the Forth of Firth next to the Forth road bridge. It is a pleasant hotel with a mixture of business and leisure guests. The large bedroom (room 210) was very nice with a huge comfy bed. Best of all was the lovely view of the water, watching a few boats sail past. The hotel was quiet overnight and I had a great night's sleep.
The food was of a good standard although I did find I had to wait a little while when I only ordered a main course in the restaurant. Breakfast was fine with all the usual choices.
The hotel has a small bar area with a few chairs and sofas in which I enjoyed a couple of gins & tonic. It does not have any facilities as such but is well placed for a nice walk. There is at least one pub in walking distance in north Queensferry.
Whilst closer to Dunfermline, the hotel is within easy reach of Edinburgh, whereby you can get a train from either North Queensferry station or Inverkeithing for about £5.50 return, much cheaper than parking in the city.
All in all I would reccomend the hotel is you are staying in the area

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water, preferably on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Our daughter and son-in-law were married and had the reception at the hotel. The staff could not have been more helpful before, during and after the event. The meals, decor and disco were excellent as was the location. We stayed the night of the wedding and the rooms were very well appointerd and the breakfast the next day was just what was needed after a night of celebrations. We would highly recommend this hotel for any occasion, especially a wedding for which we have nominated them for a VOWS Award.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobnJillH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

The hotel's location is second to none - it has stunning views from all over the hotel because it has great big windows in the hallway, restaurant, the rooms and even the reception area! I absolutely feel in love with it!

Modern rooms, very quiet and a very comfortable bed made me feel like I was floating on a cloud. The room was so clean and modern, quite big also.

Moreover, the staff's customer service was impressive, from the reception to the restaurant, the people working there are lovely. The manager Stuart is very nice and a member of staff called Craig was just lovely making the evening in the restaurant so pleasant for us!

Room Tip: You definitely need to ask for a room with a view of the bridge and the water because the views are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andraoprea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2011

A short walk down The Brae from the railway station , and then turn right at the shore for a 5 min walk to this hotel . Welcoming reception staff , clean room , powerful shower , quiet surroundings , excellent vista of the river and a fill your boots breakfast . Impressed with the restaurant manager who appeased a couple of complainants at breakfast ( there was no reason whatsoever for their food gripe ) and infact all the staff were very helpful indeed .

nb. The sign outside says Queensferry Hotel , and does not mention Brook !!

We will be going back soon !!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMAN1965_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Queensferry
2.1 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
1.6 mi away
Orocco Pier
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Staghead Hotel
The Staghead Hotel
#4 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queensferry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queensferry Hotel

Property: The Queensferry Hotel
Address: St Margaret's Head, North Queensferry KY11 1HP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > North Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queensferry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With panoramic views across the Firth of Forth, The Queensferry Hotel offers spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi and a modern bar. There is ample free parking on site. Our restaurant serves a menu of both international and traditional dishes, using fresh, local produce. There are stunning views of Forth Bridges. Edinburgh city centre and Edinburgh Airport are 9 miles from The Hotel. Inverkeithing Rail Station is 2 miles away. Hotel Rooms: 77. Please note there are renovation works happening on site, mostly externally which should not affect your stay. If you have any concern please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Queensferry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensferry Hotel North
The Queensferry Hotel North Queensferry, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing