We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Queensferry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Queensferry Hotel
Cowdenbeath, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Myself and my wife married at the North Queensferry Hotel in May 2011, the review is a little late I admit.

I can't fault the staff, the food, drink or the venue itself. It was a lovely day outside and a fantastic day held by all inside. As others have said, it was a little tired decor wise and i also understand that it is due a refurbishment as well.

All in all, I thouroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay and thank the hotel for the level of service the provided. I hope this refurbishment takes place and brings the hotel forward and look forward to helping with the refurbishment by supplying replacement windows (if we are successful with our tender).

Good luck and thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your wedding you held at the hotel in 2011. I am glad that we were able to make your special day one to remember. As you say the hotel is entering an extensive period of refurbishment which will bring the public areas and bedrooms back up to date. I hope that you will be returning to the hotel soon and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    210
    116
    66
    54
See reviews for
117
300
24
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Quite convenient for the town of North Queensferry if you are driving. A comfortable hotel all be it a bit tired in some areas; good service but it just did not have that certain 'spark' that I associate with many Scottish Hotels.... especially considering it's geographic location and proximity to the town it shares it's name with.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in February. I'm glad that you enjoyed your time in the Hotel and found the service to be of a good standard. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mersyside
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

2 night stay here,db&b. The decor is very tired. Hairdryer not working, after 2 hrs wait a member of staff brought 1 from home! Bathroom not very clean, even after room had been cleaned. Toiletries awful. Non smoking room on ground floor, cigarette stubs & empty packets abounded outside the window. On the plus side, large room, comfy bed & dog friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry that your found your stay disappointing. Some of the décor in the hotel is tired however we are due to undertake a 2.3 million pound refurbishment programme staring in the next couple of months. This will encompass all bedrooms and public areas. There will also be extensive work done to the gardens.

All of our hairdryers are wired in and so unfortunately as yours want working and our maintenance man wasn't on duty our General Manager went home to get her own personal hair dryer for you.

We have recently signed a new contract with Gilford and Soames to upgrade our bedroom toiletries.

We do have strict cleaning schedules in place however on this occasion it sounds as though we have fallen short of the mark. We will be reviewing our cleaning schedules to account for this.

I am glad however that you found your stay comfortable and hope that you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these North Queensferry hotels

Irvine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

My son and I stayed in this hotel overnight as we were going to The British Super Bikes race meeting at Knockhill the next day. Only about twenty minute drive.
The hotel is very clean and tidy, we had a twin room which was quite spacious and comfortable with a nice view over the Forth.
The restaurant was very pleasant, and our evening dinner and breakfast were of good quality and both were thoroughly enjoyable.
We found all the staff to be very courteous, friendly and efficient, and we would have no hesitation staying in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor , to have a better view over the Forth
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzukibandits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm glad that you had a positive experience and hope that you had a great day at Knockhill. I have passed on your kind comments to the team and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We booked a 2 night stay here as our son was getting marrried and holding their reception here. The staff were really nice and the wedding went well. We were however disappointed with the romm as the shaver point did not work, we had to get someone to com and close the window as it had jammed. The room was tired and I wrote "clean me" on the dusty windowsill. for £80 a night b&b I would have thought it would have been nicer. Others in our party were also disappointed with the rooms.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank noiramtessib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review you recent stay with us. Guest feedback is invaluable in helping us improve and develop so is very important to receive.

I am sorry that you were disappointed by your stay, We do have strict cleaning schedules in place however due to the extensive building work being undertaken locally for the New Forth Bridge rooms sometimes get more dusty than they ordinarily would. We will be reviewing our cleaning schedules to account for this. Some of the bedrooms are in need of some refurbishment work which we are planning to undertake, along with a full refurbishment of the grounds and public areas, during the later part of this year.

I am pleased to note, however, that the wedding went well and that your experience with the staff was positive. We really pride ourselves on delivering an excellent service to brides and grooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

My husband and I had a complimentary dinner at the hotel last Saturday (8 June) which we got for getting married at the hotel in August last year. When we arrived at the restaurant,we got a lovely table for 2 facing the bridges, the service was second to none as the waitress took our order as soon as we got seated. I ordered the lentil and vegetable soup which was extremely tasty and my husband had smoked mackerel on a bed of salad and apple compote.he said this was equally delicious.for our main course I ordered the sirloin steak and my husband ordered the lamb and it was the best 2 pieces of cut meat we have had in a very long time.the chef did an excellent job. We were offered pudding which there was a great selection but we were too full. This hotel/restaurant needs a lot more credit than it has got in past reviews as the staff work extremely hard. Yes, there are areas of development required but these things take time. My husband and I cant wait to stay back at the hotel for our 1st wedding anniversary in August.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaclyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. It is always great to hear such positive feedback. I have passed your kind words on the rest of the team and look forward to welcoming you back for your fist wedding anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemnay, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Fantastic location with beautiful views from restaurant and bedroom. Dinner was excellent and breakfast had a good selection. Room was very spacious, with quality toiletries and well stocked hospitality tray. Peaceful with lovely grounds to meander round, with access to bridge and buses within ten minutes. Staff helpful and charming. Will look forward to return visit. Thank you.

Room Tip: First floor overlooking Firth. Peaceful with no noise nuisance.......we slept with window open! This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WRM182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us. Thank you for your positive feedback regarding the staff it is greatly appreciated. I have passed on your kind words to the team. I’m glad that you had a pleasant stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Queensferry
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queensferry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queensferry Hotel

Property: The Queensferry Hotel
Address: St Margaret's Head, North Queensferry KY11 1HP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > North Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queensferry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With panoramic views across the Firth of Forth, The Queensferry Hotel offers spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi and a modern bar. There is ample free parking on site. North Shore Restaurant serves a menu of both international and traditional dishes, using fresh, local produce. There are stunning views of Forth Rail Bridge.Edinburgh city centre and Edinburgh Airport are 9 miles from Brook Queensferry. Inverkeithing Rail Station is 2 miles away. Hotel Rooms: 77. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Queensferry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensferry Hotel North
The Queensferry Hotel North Queensferry, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing