We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with fantastic views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Queensferry Hotel
A TripAdvisor Member
“Very nice hotel with fantastic views”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel with my partner for 4 nights. The room was spacious, nice with two double beds. The view from our room over the bridge and bay was stunning adding to overall ambiance and peaceful atmosphere of the hotel. Breakfast was nice with generous selection. Evening meals were of a high quality, yet again views from the restaurant were great. Fully recommend.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, customer feed back is very important in helping us improve and develop. I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay and I have passed on your kind comments to rest of the team and look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    224
    120
    67
    56
See reviews for
121
320
28
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed overnight after a family function in the hotel. Good points - friendly staff in the main - particularly breakfast waitress, good fried breakfast. Bad points - the rest of the breakfast. Hard bread for the toaster, sad looking buffet, coldish coffee from the urn, very sticky floor in front of the buffet area. No mobile phone signal. TV stopped working - it said there was no signal. Only half a roll of loo paper in bathroom. Paid extra for an executive twin. I asked what made it an executive rather than an ordinary twin and was told it was the décor!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Queensferry Hotel I'm saddened to hear you were disappointed in your time with us. I have passed the points you raise onto the food and beverage team and they will be reviewing procedures to ensure that the breakfast buffet is always available at the highest possible standard. We are due to enter into a period of extensive refurbishment including all bedrooms. I am glad, however, to read that you found the staff to pleasant. I hope that you will reconsider coming back to The Queensferry Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Great location right off of the North Sea. Beautiful view the staff was very nice and polite. The hotel was in a perfect location to ride the city bus right into Edinburgh. Train station a few miles away from the hotel as well. I had my 6 month old baby with me and the hotel staff provided us with a small crib with no additional cost everything was very convienant. We paid about $69 a night and it was well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrianne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, customer feed back is very important in helping us improve and develop. I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay and I have passed on your kind comments to rest of the team and look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

You definitely need a car to get here! We arrived by train and there were no taxis or directions around. The nice local shopkeeper tried to find a taxi to no avail, however a lovely lady saw us struggling with cases and gave us a lift to hotel. Good food, helpful staff, and great views of bridges and cranes ( the tall, metal type). Staff suggested travelling to and from next town of Inverkeithing for more frequent trains into Edinburgh and faster journey, but you need a taxi to get there (about £6.00) or bus which stops near hotel and takes longer. Same price as train.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susielizzy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us I am glad that despite the trouble you had getting here you had an enjoyable stay. We do suggest that if getting the train guests get off at Inverkeithing - it is a little further away but it is much easier to travel to and from. Alternatively, as you say, there is a very good bus service which stops just outside the hotel. Hopefully next time you stay with us your journey is a little less complicated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 days Thursday till Sunday as we were going to a wedding being held at the hotel on the Friday. A big thank you to Andrew ,Pauline and all the staff who made our stay superb nothing was to much trouble for them and we treated as if we were friends. Also well done to " the chef " husband said it was the best steak he had in years I had salmon which was excellent as well. Big changes are coming to this hotel it is being refurbished which will make it even better as long as they keep the same staff.can't wait to go back hopefully for new year. Well done the queensferry hotel and a big thank you again. Meant to say breakfast is a buffet very good with a great choice.

Room Tip: Overlooking the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manger at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us - I'm pleased you had such a pleasant break away. I have passed on your kind comments to the kitchen team and the rest of the staff. It really is lovely to receive such positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed here for a over night at the weekend and was pretty impressed by the standard of the hotel.Read some other less positive reviews and felt they were a little harsh.The hotel was comfortable and clean,decor in the adjoining building could do with a little update but this aside a nice comfortable stay and a relaxed atmosphere.The staff were friendly and efficient,the breakfast was lovely with a great choice.Would not hesitate to stay here again if I was in Queensferry

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliza1967_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and have passed your kind comments onto the rest of the team. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Queensferry Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Spent a night with my husband through a living social voucher. We upgraded our room for £15 had a view of the Forth and the Forth Road Bridge it was lovely. Afternoon tea was included too much couldn't eat it all but managed to drink the prosecco that was also included.
Breakfast was a buffet with plenty of selection.
Decor a bit tired but spotlessly clean. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Executive top floor brilliant view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleGeddes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm pleased that you had an comfortable stay and enjoyed your afternoon tea. I have passed your kind comments onto the rest of the team.

The hotel is a little tired in places, however we are due to enter into a period of total refurbishment starting in the next couple of weeks. This will include a total overhaul of all public areas including the function suits and the gardens, the introduction of a gym, all bedrooms will be refurbished and there is a planned extension to the bedroom stock.

The refurbishment is due to be completed by March 2014 so I hope that you will return to see the changes that have been made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Queensferry
2.1 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
1.6 mi away
Orocco Pier
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Staghead Hotel
The Staghead Hotel
#4 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queensferry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queensferry Hotel

Property: The Queensferry Hotel
Address: St Margaret's Head, North Queensferry KY11 1HP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > North Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queensferry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With panoramic views across the Firth of Forth, The Queensferry Hotel offers spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi and a modern bar. There is ample free parking on site. Our restaurant serves a menu of both international and traditional dishes, using fresh, local produce. There are stunning views of Forth Bridges. Edinburgh city centre and Edinburgh Airport are 9 miles from The Hotel. Inverkeithing Rail Station is 2 miles away. Hotel Rooms: 77. Please note there are renovation works happening on site, mostly externally which should not affect your stay. If you have any concern please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Queensferry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensferry Hotel North
The Queensferry Hotel North Queensferry, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing