We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed here for one night this weekend and the whole experience was very good. The staff are really welcoming, friendly and helpful. The room had a lovely view of the bridge and the sea, was very clean, large and comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay here and would come back, it didn't take long at all to get into the main city where we headed after having breakfast at the hotel which was also very good. Good price, food room and staff, would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, the executive double is worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 88_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much.

I have passed your kind comments on to the rest of the team and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

588 - 594 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

We live fairly near the hotel and often visit for coffee, lunch or just a drink.

We are both delighted with the many positive changes that have happened recently. A few months ago when the hotel was on the market you would be lucky to get a drinkable cup of coffee and the bar area was distinctly grubby.

Now however, the food is great, staff are motivated and the place is clean. I know that a major refurbishment is in the offing which is good news as this hotel could be truly fantastic.

The location is unique and I hope that more can be made of the views of the bridges.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank slsFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Queensferry Hotel I'm pleased that you are able to see the positive changes we have started to make. Your feedback is really appreciated and I have passed your comments on to the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

When you book a room at £46 a night like we did you arrive with fairly low expectations, but the Queensferry Hotel didn't disappoint. Rooms are pretty standard and the hotel is starting to show signs of wear and tear, but I've stayed in a lot worse for a lot more.

The hotel is in a lovely location with great views however I wouldn't want to stay there if I didn't have a car as it is too far out of Edinburgh to rely on public transport.

The real selling point for this hotel should be it's bar and restaurant. One of the finest steaks I've had in a long time and at a great price. We nearly cancelled our plans just to stay in the hotel bar!

Would I stay here again? Yes. And to me that's how you decide if a hotel is good or not.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the back, see if you can get a room at the front view as it would be a great vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidrle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much.

We have recently invested a lot of time developing a new menu for the restaurant which is proving to be a real hit.

I have passed your kind comments on to the chefs and the rest of the team and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The room in the hotel was just average, probably on par with a travel lodge.The xmas party night was very poor, with no atmosphere and the food was rubbish. The only plus point was that it was cheap, but I think I will pay a bit more next year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claireabell1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your Christmas Party Night with us at The Queensferry Hotel.

I'm disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy your Christmas Party night especially considering that overall we received very positive feedback. If you would like to discuss this in further detail please do not hesitate to contact me at sales@queensferryfifehotel.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

12 of us went for a 40th birthday lunchtime celebration. First of all had trouble placing the orders. Starters eventually delivered but mussels on the starters for 3 of the party were undercooked. Complained to one of the waiters who took the dishes away and returned saying that the chef had basically said that the mussels were ok & that he knew how they should be cooked! ! We replied that some were cooked ok but many weren't and none of us wanted food poisoning. It then transpired that there were only enough for one dish to be replaced so the remaining diners choose something else. The replacement mussels were fine. When the main courses were served one dish was missing completely so was eventually served when everyone else had nearly finished.
When trying to order further drinks the staff were conspicuous by their absence and it was a good 10 minutes before anyone could be found to take the older - the place was far from busy.
At the end of the meal we were offered complementary coffee & given a 20% discount as an apology and whilst this was appreciated, we would have much preferred that this should not have been been necessary in the first place.
Would not return

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank murphypickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us - customer feedback is key in helping our team grow and develop.

I'm sorry that your birthday celebration was let down by poor service. I have highlighted the points you have raised to our food and beverage team who will be reviewing the procedures we have in place to ensure that we are able to provide all guests with the highest possible standard of service.

I hope that with time you will consider dining with us again.

If you would like to discuss this in further detail please do not hesitate to contact me at sales@queensferryfifehotel.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I have booked to hold our wedding with this hotel next year. From the moment we arrived the first time we viewed the hotel, we were treated fantastically!! On the wedding open night, Kelly and the team made us feel like they had all the time in the world for us and our families, even taking some to view rooms!! As we they were launching their new menu and because we paid our deposit on the night, they gave us a complimentary meal, which we think was so generous!! Anyway, we're just home after our meal and it was delicious!! The staff are so helpful and provided exactly the right level of privacy/attentiveness! Would go back again to try other things from the menu in a heartbeat! Great value and service, staff are lovely. We've made the right choice for our wedding venue!!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. We really appreciate such positive feedback and I have passed your kind comments onto the rest of the team.

I'm pleased that you have noticed the positive changes we are making - the new menu being just one of many. We look forward to helping to plan your wedding and celebrating your special day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed here one night but will be back. Staff are all very nice the rooms could maybe do with cheering up but nothing a coat of paint wont fix. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. We will definitely be going back. We were going to see War Horse and with the Park and Ride not far from hotel which is great for going into Edinburgh no need to worry about parking! and last bus is 11.55pm . All in all very good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolineTodd_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us I'm pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay. The transport links into Edinburgh really are fantastic and are well worth it considering what you would pay to park. I have passed your kind comments on to the rest of the team and look forward to welcoming you back to the queensferry hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Queensferry
2.1 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,002 reviews
1.6 mi away
Orocco Pier
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
681 reviews
5.2 mi away
Travelodge Edinburgh Airport Ratho Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Staghead Hotel
The Staghead Hotel
#4 of 4 in South Queensferry
26 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing

Address: St Margaret's Head, North Queensferry KY11 1HP, Scotland (Formerly The Queensferry Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > North Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Queensferry
Price Range: £54 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With panoramic views across the Firth of Forth, our hotel and venue offers spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi and our destination restaurant, The Shore Grill & Fish House. Our restaurant serves a menu of both international and traditional dishes, using fresh, local produce. Edinburgh city centre and Edinburgh Airport are 12 miles from the hotel. Inverkeithing Rail Station is 2 miles away.There is ample free parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensferry Hotel North
DoubleTree By Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing North Queensferry, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing