We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing
Reviewed 15 April 2014

we booked this hotel through Itison and it was a bargin!! Hayley on reception is a wee gem! She organised an upgrade for us for a small fee and made sure everything was as it should be. Rooms are a wee bit tired but really clean and the beds are comfy. We ate in the hotel for both lunch and dinner and it was first class, food was amazing and beautifully presented and the staff were all fantastic, really helpful and chatty. We loved our stay and will defo be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Guest feedback is vital in helping us develop.

I'm pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and have passed on your kind comments to the reception team and the rest of the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

579 - 585 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

We have been to this hotel a few times and each time we go we just love it. Everything from the atmosphere, the rooms, the view, the food. It's a big hotel with a small, family feel to it. The reception staff are lovely and so polite. They would go out their way to make sure you have the best stay you can. We just love this hotel. Luxury at a very affordable price.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lauren7887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Guest feedback is vital in helping us develop.

I'm pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and have passed on your kind comments to the reception team and the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Had a nice walk over the bridge from the South Queensferry side and needed a coffee. Walked up to the hotel - no signage to say anything about coffee availability, only menu for restaurant. Went in and delighted to find coffee and cake deal on offer for £2.50 (10am to 4pm) - scone and jam went down a treat. The scones were not the seemingly normal giants that other places offer but decent enough for the price. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel has added benefit of nice views out towards the new bridge under construction.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Gordilindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. Guest feedback is vital in helping us develop.

After walking the bridge it is lovely to sit in the lounge and relax. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your scones and have passed on your kind comments to the chefs and the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel again soon - perhaps when the weather is a little warmer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stopped off at the Queensferry Hotel for a family lunch in their North Shore restaurant and will definitely be back.

The steak sandwich was excellent and our little one helped mum with the impressive fish and chips - highly recommended! Also loved the homemade ketchup, nice to have something a little different.

The service was great and it was a relaxing, comfortable environment to be in, helped by the views across the water.

Will hopefully be back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MD0n0van
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. Guest feedback is vital in helping us develop.

I'm pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and have passed on your kind comments to the chefs and the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Booked a deal here through Itison for myself and my young daughter for a wee girly day and night away. On approach, the gardens are a bit neglected and the external woodwork of the hotel is all peeling. The general decor is really tired and hugely in need of a makeover. The standard room is ok though a duster wouldn't go amiss-you can blow dust off the table lamp shades!!. The reception staff, However were lovely, very welcoming . Late afternoon we visited the bar for a soft drink, stood ages to get served and while waiting, a rather ill natured female bar person(?managerial) was just appauling. She was making coffee and a colleague said something to her. She had her back to the bar but stated "the coffee can only be made as quick ad the machine for f's sake!!". I was a bit gobsmacked as that is just not professional at all and I also had my ten yr old daughter with me. A male member of staff was beside her at this time but obviously this didn't cause him concern though he clearly was a manager of some description, I did complain at reception but never heard a thing thereafter by way of apology. If you have booked through Itison, then be advised that your 3 course meal is a streamlined menu and not as it tells you on the voucher, which only tells you that steak is £5 extra. It seems there is a specific corridor of rooms for those with Itison vouchers, very poorly lit unlike the other floors. Our room was serviceable but not clean with filthy skirting boards(coffee stains, thick dirt etc) the bathroom was ok except for other peoples hairs on the wall at the shower and the remnants of someone else's soap still in the shower soap tray!! Certainly wouldn't return and definitely not 3 star from the experience we had. Luckily it didn't spoil our day as we only really slept in the room. Breakfast waitress even stood looking at her watch as we were just after 930am even though the room information says up until 10am but apparently that's only at weekends so there was little if anything left so just had toast. Felt very uncomfortable

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanukkiska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Firstly I would like to apologise for the poor experience you have had whilst staying with us recently. The points you raise are far below the standard expected of our staff and would like the opportunity to discuss this with you further. Please can you contact me either by phone on 01383 410 000 or by email at sales@queensferryfifehotel.co.uk

Kind Regards,

Louisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The hotel was a little tired and in need of a refurb. Having said that the room was clean and had everything you needed. The service was brilliant and the food was amazing, very well presented and melt in the mouth.
Will defiantly go again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Granan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us - guest feedback is vital in enabling us to grow and develop as a team.

We are just awaiting the final points of our refurbishment to be finalised and work will start in earnest in the near future.

I'm pleased to read that your experience in the North Shore Restaurant was enjoyable and I have passed your kind comments on to the chefs and the rest of the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Queensferry Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here one night after 8 month of siling at sea. It was fantastic experience. The staff were really friendly and helpful and rooms are pretty standard and complimentary wifi is quite good. Hope before sign on I will stay one day here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank girish p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us - I'm pleased that you enjoyed it so much. I have passed on your kind comments to the rest of the team and hope that you will be back in the Queensferry Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Queensferry
2.1 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,002 reviews
1.6 mi away
Orocco Pier
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
681 reviews
5.2 mi away
Travelodge Edinburgh Airport Ratho Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Staghead Hotel
The Staghead Hotel
#4 of 4 in South Queensferry
26 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing

Address: St Margaret's Head, North Queensferry KY11 1HP, Scotland (Formerly The Queensferry Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > North Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Queensferry
Price Range: £54 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With panoramic views across the Firth of Forth, our hotel and venue offers spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi and our destination restaurant, The Shore Grill & Fish House. Our restaurant serves a menu of both international and traditional dishes, using fresh, local produce. Edinburgh city centre and Edinburgh Airport are 12 miles from the hotel. Inverkeithing Rail Station is 2 miles away.There is ample free parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensferry Hotel North
DoubleTree By Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing North Queensferry, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing