We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Queensferry Hotel
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Just back from an overnight stay with an itison voucher. We were welcomed by a very friendly receptionist. We were allocated room 214 as we had upgraded to a room with a view. Lovely big kingsize bed, room was large and clean. We had every thing we needed hair dryer, tea/coffee tray, safe, iron and iron board. When we phoned down to reception for extra milk an tea bags they were with us within 10 minutes, very efficient staff. We were booked in for dinner and even although the menu was streamlined for the itison crowd, they had a reasonable choice of menu. We chose the salmon croquettes they were superb, then the chicken breast in a cream sauce fantastic. My husband had the beef burger and chunky chips which was also brilliant. The dessert sticky toffee pudding, very light and delicious. The wine was a reasonable price.
All the staff were friendly, happy and very attentive. A special mention to a staff member 'Netta' in the restaurant at breakfast who was just so lovely and supportive and made our breakfast experience all the better. We will definitely be back.
The only negative was how we were made to feel different, such as a different menu at dinner and then asked at breakfast if were where 'itison offer' if you are you are told you can only have continental breakfast not any of the grilled food. I felt really embarrassed and made to feel different. I have gone on many itison offers and never left to feel different. I would rather pay a little more and given the same choices as the othe guests. Apart from that thank you to all the staff and management for a great stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindylou40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Guest feedback is vital in helping us grow and develop as a team.

I'm pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and have passed on your kind comments to Netta and the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    245
    132
    68
    58
See reviews for
133
350
31
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Booked direct with hotel and got a great deal for Dinner bed and breakfast. From the moment I entered reception to checking out staff all very friendly.
Room was plenty big enough
Evening meal was very good (especially since it was included in the deal) and buffet breakfast was plentiful and good replenished when required.
Also as a runner was nice to run over the bridge next door - no traffic noise despite being so close to the bridge/ road.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TuftyBowker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Guest feedback is vital in helping us develop.

I'm pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, your right the walk across the bridge is fantastic. I have passed on your kind comments to the reception team and the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boness falkirk
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

My mother in law who is 90 and I have spent few nights here but the last visit has disgusted me prior to visit . We asked for nicer room with better few but given same room .then at lunch time meal was over an hour before getting .Evening meal on leaving room to go to dining room was not told lift was out order so had meal in room which we both did not enjoy over cooked . In morning had to get help from nice member of staff my mother in law had to walk downs stairs with i in front the kind member staff had to bring her wheel chair down stairs cause no other lift she was exhausted due having to hold on walk down as many stair .i send a email to them nearly two weeks ago still not had a reply I would so disgusted I feel sorry for the staff in the dining room who tried their best to make our stay welcome .lorraine boness

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Firstly I would like to apologise for the poor experience you have had whilst staying with us recently. The points you raise are far below the standard expected and would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you further. Please can you contact me either by phone on 01383 410 000 or by email at sales@queensferryfifehotel.co.uk

Kind Regards,

Louisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is our 3rd short stay at the hotel and always find the staff to be very friendly and helpful and we fully intend to be back at again at some point this year. The rooms are clean and are a good size, the views in some parts are fantastic and would have no problems recommending to friends

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wickercharmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Guest feedback is vital in helping us develop.

I'm pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and have passed on your kind comments to the rest of the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed fri & sat night the room was clean & spacious,staff friendly & very helpful especially reception but sat morning breakfast was a disaster feel the restaurant is maybe abit small 4 the size of the hotel! We went down for breakfast at 9.20 & there were people waiting 4 tables 4 breakfast & we ended up waiting 40 minutes 4 coffee & toast & had 2 ask a 2nd time our breakfast had been long eaten by then! Needless 2 say didn,t bother going 4 breakfast on sun morning! But the views especially from the restaurant are amazing!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Souldonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Guest feedback is vital in helping us grow and develop.

I a little disappointed to read that you felt that breakfast service was slow, I have passed your comments on to the food and beverage team to investigate further. I'm pleased however that overall you enjoyed your time with us and have passed on your kind comments to the rest of the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here on an overnight Itison deal. Reception staff were very welcoming and friendly but from then on it was downhill. The hotel is badly in need of major refurbishment with stained carpets, poor and tired decor. We had prebooked an evening meal and when we approached the restaurant the waitress could not find our booking. We were asked to wait until they found a table and took our order, the starter took 45 mins to appear. Staff were very unprofessional and did not seem to know what they were doing. When the starter was finished it took another 30 mins before the main meal appeared which was lukewarm. One of the waiters was apologetic and offered a complimentary drink but management need to look at their staffing. They act very unprofessional and dress code could be improved with black and white being the order of the day. A tealight was placed on the table but was left to ourselves to light it! Staff need more training on how to deal with customers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joisEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Guest feedback is vital in helping us develop.

I'm disappointed to read that your expectations were not met on this occasion - we strive to offer the best in customer service and on this occasion we have clearly fallen short of the mark and for this I can only apologise. Our restaurant manager is going to revisit the training with all staff to ensure that each guest receives the high level of service we expect.

I hope that you experience has not deterred you too heavily and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The room was well appointed and had a modern feel to it. It had a TV, two telephones, tea and coffee making facilities and a desk. The bed was comfortable and I loved the pocketed duvet. The staff were friendly and helpful.

From a security point of view the room was secure. The door had good solid locks. The main lock was an electronic lock that was operated by a key card. There was a strong deadbolt lock that secured the door from the inside. The door was fitted with a peephole.

The room had floor to ceiling windows. We were on the second floor and so the windows gave fantastic views.

The room was quiet which was impressive considering that when you opened the window you were met with the roar from the traffic going over the Forth Road Bridge.

On the subject of the Forth Road Bridge this was the best part of the room. Our room looked out over bridge and the view was incredible. We were fortunate enough to enjoy good weather during our stay and the bridge looked fantastic both day and night.

Unfortunately into each holiday some rain must fall. There appeared to be a problem with the key card that unlocked the door to our room. Each evening upon our return to the room we found that the key card did not work. This was annoying on the first day but by the end of our stay (four days in total) it had become very frustrating. The staff at the reception desk did their best to fix the problem but to no avail. Each evening we had to return to the reception desk to get the card re-activated so that we could gain entry to our room. Before anyone says anything I did not have the card anywhere near my keys or mobile phone.

And then there was the little issue of the false fire alarm in the middle of the night. That's right, the fire alarm sounded for about 5 seconds in the early hours of the morning. We leaped out of bed at the sudden deafening alarm only to have it suddenly stop after a few seconds. It stopped as suddenly as it started and left us rather bewildered. Crikey, that alarm was loud. I struggled to get back to sleep after that.

In conclusion I think the Queensferry Hotel is a good establishment and I would recommend it if only for the fantastic view of the Forth Road Bridge. Unfortunately due to the fact that we were inconvenienced daily as a result of the key card failing to unlock the door to our room as well as being scared half to death by the fire alarm going off falsely in the middle of the night I can only award 3 stars.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orangefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Guest feedback is vital in helping us develop.

I'm pleased that overall you enjoyed your time with us and have passed on your kind comments to the the rest of the staff.

I can only apologise regarding the issues you had with your key card - the hotel is due to enter a 2 million pound refurbishment and all door locks will be renewed within this refurbishment.

I'm sorry that the fire alarm sounding in the night was frightening, I can appreciate that this must have been quite alarming. I hope that this has not deterred you from returning and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Queensferry
2.1 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,929 reviews
1.6 mi away
Orocco Pier
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
647 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
4.8 mi away
The Woodside Hotel
The Woodside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Aberdour
177 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queensferry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queensferry Hotel

Property: The Queensferry Hotel
Address: St Margaret's Head, North Queensferry KY11 1HP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > North Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queensferry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With panoramic views across the Firth of Forth, The Queensferry Hotel offers spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi and a modern bar. There is ample free parking on site. Our restaurant serves a menu of both international and traditional dishes, using fresh, local produce. There are stunning views of Forth Bridges. Edinburgh city centre and Edinburgh Airport are 9 miles from The Hotel. Inverkeithing Rail Station is 2 miles away. Please note there are renovation works happening on site, mostly externally which should not affect your stay. If you have any concerns please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Queensferry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensferry Hotel North
The Queensferry Hotel North Queensferry, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing