We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Queensferry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Queensferry Hotel
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just back from a night here and would not go back. The room was nice and clean and overlooked the bridge. They were a bit hasty with there milk, sugar in the room only enough for one cup each. Had dinner in the restaurant was very poor. They did not have the starter or dessert that my husband asked for and when the food did eventually come , after waiting over an hour for it mine was ok although very small portions, however my husband ordered the gnocchi and it was very overcooked and was like stodge. The service was very very slow and overheard the waitress telling the table next to us(who were also complaining about the waiting time)that the chef was very grumpy this evening! We also complained to the receptionist who did not seem to care. Would definitely not recommend this hotel and will not go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us. Gust feedback really is important in helping us develop as a team.

I'm saddened to read of your experiences whilst staying with us and can only apologise for what seems to be a significant failure in our standard of service. We are currently investing heavily in the restaurant staffs training and development focusing on providing a much better standard of customer service.

I hope that with time you will reconsider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    210
    116
    66
    54
See reviews for
117
300
24
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alloa scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were also at Murder Mystery Night having purchased through Itison along with our friends.Our rooms were fine and we enjoyed the evening.Problems started when we went to have breakfast it seems the hotel did not expect all of its guests to eat breakfast !!!! We had to sit and wait for a table to become available first of all and then the fun started ......no food ready cold or hot all the trays were empty they ran out of orange juice no rolls or croissants no toast ??? Essential breakfast ingredients I would have thought !! We did get a pot of coffee from a young waitress who was taking all the flak for a poorly managed kitchen.She was really stressed and kept apologising to us. The other staff were no help whatsoever they just kept telling us that the food was coming out of kitchen soon ??? If this hotel can't cope with holding theme nights along with weddings then perhaps they should tell Itison who would not sell people deals. We left with only having coffee as we weren't prepared to wait any longer on food having waited almost an hour !!! Faulty Towers springs to mind only difference is that they are funny and doesn't cost us money.
Would not stay here again due to the breakfast experience.One of the treats of having a nice away break includes having a good breakfast to set you up for day ahead this was not the case here.!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tescocarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Please allow me to first and foremost apologise for the breakfast service, or lack of it, that you experienced during your stay with us.
Whilst I am very pleased that you enjoyed your evening at the Murder Mystery event, it disappoints me greatly to know that this was marred by the breakfast experience the following morning.
With a new management team on board, Breakfast is one of the areas we are looking hard at to improve, develop and certainly be more prepared in the event of busy occasions. I would really like to hope that no-one in the future has cause to liken us to 'Fawlty Towers'.
I agree that one of the great treats to staying away is the breakfast in the morning, and I appreciate that we did not manage this for you on this occasion; it would be a disappointment though for you not to return, having enjoyed other elements of your stay, based on a bad morning experience.
Should you wish to give us another chance in the future, please contact me directly on Operations@queensferryfifehotel.co.uk so that I can ensure a different experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these North Queensferry hotels

East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Booked this as a surprise for my husband. Murder mystery night. On arrival at hotel checked in and everything seemed ok. Decided to have lunch in hotel, my husband ordered a lager for himself and a tia maria and coke for me. After waiting 10 minutes the barmaid re-appeared to inform us there was no tia maria in hotel had to settle for a shandy. This did not bode well for the enjoyment of the murder mystery that night. Going back lunch was ok nothing great, service very slow.
Murder mystery night was very good. The meal was nice, but yet again poor service at the bar let the hotel down badly. The following morning had the serious misfortune of trying to have breakfast. We had to sit at a table that was dirty and wait for 10 mins for the table to be cleared. Nice young girl came and took our order for tea, coffee and toast. I then went up and queued for my breakfast which took ten minutes as had to wait on bacon, eggs etc as they kept running out. My husband queued for another 15 - 20 minutes and gave up on having a full breakfast as they kept running out of everything all the time. Nothing seemed to be planned, and the staff( apart from the young girl who was run off her feet) didnt seem to care. My husband eventually gave up on breakfast and we checked out telling the receptionist of the shambles.
We are sorely disappointed and will not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Guest feedback is vital in helping us grow and develop as a team.

I'm saddened that you were disappointed by your time with us and can only apologise for this. I have passed on your comments to our Operations Manager who will be reviewing the service at breakfast as a priority.

I am pleased to note, however, that you did enjoy the murder mystery evening and hope that with time you will reconsider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Went for a wedding and was unimpressed.
Staff were mostly young- absolutely lovely, but inexperienced and not trained properly.
Clean linen was on the floor of corridor outside the room-they were propping doors open with clean towels!!Spoke to a few guests who were also disgusted by this. We complained about it to the receptionist at the front desk, but the linen was still on the floor 4 hours later.
The rooms were clean and well equipped, however there were no ironing facilities in my room-receptionist went to find an iron and ironing board and had to bring it up to the room myself.
Fire alarm went off at 07:00am Saturday morning and all guests came out of their rooms-not a staff member in sight and after 5mins had to call reception to check if there was, indeed a fire! (someone had accidentally pressed the break glass switch). No apology given.
Service was poor at lunch and dinner-food was nice when it came, and good value.
The best thing they have going for them is their lovely staff, although they need better training.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RACHLVZBEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Guest feedback is vital in helping us grow and develop as a team.

I'm saddened that you were disappointed by your time with us and can only apologise for this. I have passed on your comments to our Operations Manager who will be reviewing the procedures used by the housekeeping staff as a matter of importance. I have passed on your comments regarding the poor service you received in our restaurant to our Food and Beverage Manager who will investigate this further.

I hope that you have not been too heavily deterred form visiting the hotel again and look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Had an overnight stay from a deal. Thoroughly enjoyed it and staff made us very welcome from the minute we arrived till we left. Room was at the back on the ground floor but was clean and very comfortable. Knowing the area we did not mind we did not have a view looking over the Bridges. Meal in the restaurant was superb and Scott the waiter was very efficient. A super stay and hopefully be able to return sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Guest feedback is vital in helping us grow and develop as a team.

I'm pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and have passed on your kind comments to Scott and the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Booked in for 12 noon and there was a major clean up going on with hoover on. We were none the less welcomed and invited to have a seat at the window while the hoover was moved away. Two courses were very slow in arriving we didn't have second course till 1 o clock. First course was very good, the sour dough bread was toasted with a poached quails egg on top and my husband had a salmon cakes with a little salad. The send course was gnocchi with truffle oil and my husband had fish (Coley) and chips neither were particularly appetising however we carried on with coffees and cheese. The coffee came first and then the cheese so by the time we got round to drinking the coffees they were tepid. The three cheese were cheddar, brie and blue cheese all of which were very tasty. We felt as though we had walked into the wrong hotel and the staff were all talking among themselves, they didn't seem to pleased, but they were very good at serving us but it did take sometime.

Room Tip: we didn't stay in the hotel we only had lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dodonthetrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. Guest feedback is vital in helping us grow and develop as a team.

I'm disappointed to read that you felt underwhelmed by your lunch with us, this is certainly not the norm. I can only apologise for the poor service you received and have passed your comments on to the Food and Beverage Manager to review with his staff.

I hope that this experience has not deterred you too heavily and hope to see you back in the North Shore Restaurant soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at The Queensferry Hotel over the Easter Weekend. Upon arrival we were greeted by the receptionist with a sincere warn welcome.

We were allocated Room 101 which I hoped wouldn't be a bad omen. Quite the contrary!

En-suite room which was adequately featured with widescreen TV, coffee and tea making facilities.

A small niggle: Housekeeping was perhaps a bit sloppy. Beds weren't made daily neither was the room tidied. Windowsills were very dusty.
Fresh towels were supplied daily. Beds and pillows were comfortable. More pillows available upon request.

Decor Throughout the hotel was a bit tired and in need of some long overdue TLC.

Food: Breakfast the choices are endless
Can't comment on Dinner because we were out of an evening. Though the menu made interesting reading. Standards appeared to be quite high.

Bar area was relaxing with subdued lighting and tasteful decor. Sadly, the faux leather sofas were extremely uncomfortable because of the low back.
The bar was adequately stocked. Prices fairly standard as anywhere else. The young chap working behind the bar was chatty and personable.

Staff were genuinely pleasant, nothing was too much trouble. Mara (I hope I've spelled your name correctly) was a star. We liked her a lot.

Finally: if you're looking for a clean, nicely featured hotel run by lovely professional staff; The Queensferry Hotel would definitely be my first choice!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TonyFromSpondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa C, Sales Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Guest feedback is vital in helping us grow and develop as a team.

I'm pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and have passed on your kind comments to the rest of the team. I have passed on your comments regarding the housekeeping to our Front of House Manager who will investigate this further.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queensferry Hotel again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Queensferry
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
The Staghead Hotel
#4 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queensferry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queensferry Hotel

Property: The Queensferry Hotel
Address: St Margaret's Head, North Queensferry KY11 1HP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > North Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queensferry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With panoramic views across the Firth of Forth, The Queensferry Hotel offers spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi and a modern bar. There is ample free parking on site. North Shore Restaurant serves a menu of both international and traditional dishes, using fresh, local produce. There are stunning views of Forth Rail Bridge.Edinburgh city centre and Edinburgh Airport are 9 miles from Brook Queensferry. Inverkeithing Rail Station is 2 miles away. Hotel Rooms: 77. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Queensferry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensferry Hotel North
The Queensferry Hotel North Queensferry, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing