We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't eat here” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Queensferry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Queensferry Hotel
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't eat here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Walked across the Forth road bridge and then stopped off this this hotel for a meal.
Wish we hadn't! As the service and meal were below par.
We ordered the special deal of haddock with home made chips with mushy peas along with a drink all for £10 each. Too good to be true!! Yes it was, unfortunately, as the server needs to take lessons on how to be more welcoming and helpful.
When the dishes came the home made chips were in fact potato wedges and they were over fried to death and were black/dark brown cooked to a crisp!!
The haddock was coated in a thick batter that was extremely greasy and again, overly fried to a dark brown colour.
The lager was good!
The floor next to our table was thick with crumbs and debris from days if not weeks of use.
On paying the bill, no enquiry as to if we enjoyed the dinner or not was made, which is normally a sign of un confidence in their food etc.
The toilets were shabby looking and one urinal was full of stale water!
In our opinion the place looks very tired and needs a freshen up, staff trained in better skills and a new chef brought in pronto.
We didn't even leave a tip, something we don't do lightly!
Poor performance from a hotel in a lovely location.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank K54C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M, Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear KennyCarr,
I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your meal and experience with us. It is certainly our intention to ensure that every guest, whether resident to the hotel or just popping in, has an enjoyable experience and clearly on this occasion we didn't manage that for you; which disappoints me greatly. I take all comments and concerns very seriously and want you to know that since your review our Head Chef, Restaurant Manager and Housekeeper have shared the comments with the team so they all fully understand that such a culmination of little things can provide a poor experience and reflection upon ourselves.
I do hope that this is not the last time we see you, as we are ever striving to better ourselves and would like for you to see us as we progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    210
    116
    66
    54
See reviews for
117
300
24
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this motel thinking it was an ideal close location, it was close enough to airport but far from anything else, the price was over the top for the quality of the motel, we stayed at numerous motels and they were far better value for money compared to this out dated, mouldy motel. We were not given panoramic views that we paid for, wifi was terrible, mouldy bathroom, no heating, dirty carpets, lumpy bed and an arrogant manager who blamed our travel agent and her cleaners for every issue we raised. Save your money! Plenty of other motels with much higher standards all over Scotland. We will not return or recommend. We stayed right in town for less and had ocean views in others for a fraction of the price. Don't bother commenting on this review management. You had the chance to rectify while we were there, lame excuses about renovating are better kept to yourself and actually renovate the place or have your prices reflect the true condition of the premises.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JollyAussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these North Queensferry hotels

Lichtenfels, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Hotel: It's clearly old and needs renovation (apart from the restaurant, wich seems to be newly done). Bathroom was a bit dirty, but rest was just old.
Staff: Was very friendly and helpful.
Restaurant: Breakfeast buffet was plentyful. Dinner was very very good.
Location: Excellent if you travel by car. Close to the motorway and Edinburough can be easily reached by bus. Station is only like 3 minutes afoot from the hotel.

All in all it's a 3-4. But the friendly staff and the location pull towards 4.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiko O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M, Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Chiko O,
Thank you for your well rounded review. Whilst I am very disappointed to read that your bathroom was not as clean as it very much should have been I am pleased that you found my colleagues to be very helpful and friendly. I am equally pleased to read your comments on the breakfast and dinner offering, we are working very hard to make our restaurant the setting for a great dining experience. Thanks for the 4!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

The location is perfect, near motorway if you come by car, close to bus stop towards Edinburgh.
The view over the firth of forth including the two bridges is amazing. Staff is very friendly and helpful.
Rooms are old but offer everything you need.

The bathroom wasn't properly cleaned (toilet, sink, floor). The seams around the bathtub were all black (laced with mold!)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blablabla77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M, Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Blablabla77,
I am so sorry that your room was not cleaned properly. Our housekeeping take a great deal of pride in ensuring the rooms, whilst not the newest, are clean and comfortable; clearly on this occasion this wasn't the case, a situation that I am very disappointed with despite it not marring your opinion of us otherwise. I am glad that you found everyone to be helpful and friendly, and hope that as we continue our scheduled refurbishment you wil return for a truly enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Located right by the Queensferry bridge over the Firth of Forth, the hotel is reasonably priced but a bit dated. Included breakfast was typical. Close to a great little restaurant called "The Wee Restaurant" is about 2/3 mile away. Cost was reasonable and staff was friendly. A errant fire alarm got us out of bed a 6 am, otherwise a good stay. Located about 15-20 minutes from EDI over the free bridge.

Room Tip: Located almost underneath the Firth bridge, select a room opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M, Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Al R,
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay, give or take a fire alarm - always better to be safe and evacuate than sorry, though. We are located reasonably close to the restaurant you mention, although I must point out that we do have our own restaurant in the hotel, The North Shore, which is available for snacks and meals throughout the day. We hope to see you back someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bornem, Antwerpen, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had a nice stay at this hotel. Nice vieuw. Clean rooms, but as read in other revieuws the rooms need a little refurbishing. Aceept that i cant think of things that didnt meet our expectations.
Breakfast ok and enough choices but maybe a piece of bread in the morning would make it super.
Parking ok, location ok so we had a great two days there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guido D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M, Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guido D,
Thank you so much for your kind comments. I am very glad that you enjoyed a good couple of days with us. The planned refurbishment is underway so we hope to be able to get these rooms ready for our guests soon. Pleased to have met your expectations, I hope we will see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The staff in this hotel are all friendly and customer focused. The choices on the dinner menu could be more extensive, but the food is excellent. The views are magnificent and the car parking is more than adequate. We have been here twice now. It has changed a little, but the overall standard is really good. Good value for money and I hope the prices do not increase by too much after the refurbishment. All in all a fine comfortable hotel, well placed for the visits we made.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keffa26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M, Manager at The Queensferry Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Keffa26,
Thank you so much for your comments regards the great experience you had at our hotel. I am very pleased that you found my colleagues attentive and friendly, they are a real asset to the hotel. I hope that we will see you back in the not too distant future for another stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Queensferry
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
The Staghead Hotel
#4 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queensferry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queensferry Hotel

Property: The Queensferry Hotel
Address: St Margaret's Head, North Queensferry KY11 1HP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > North Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queensferry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With panoramic views across the Firth of Forth, The Queensferry Hotel offers spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi and a modern bar. There is ample free parking on site. North Shore Restaurant serves a menu of both international and traditional dishes, using fresh, local produce. There are stunning views of Forth Rail Bridge.Edinburgh city centre and Edinburgh Airport are 9 miles from Brook Queensferry. Inverkeithing Rail Station is 2 miles away. Hotel Rooms: 77. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your The Queensferry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensferry Hotel North
The Queensferry Hotel North Queensferry, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing