We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Welcome”
Review of The Barn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brodick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Barn B&B
Ranked #12 of 16 Brodick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

I received a warm welcome, and stayed in a lovely room - tastefully furnished and well equipped. Breakfast was beautifully set out and prepared, and had a good selection of items. Highly recommended and good value.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2013

A wee bit outside the town of Brodick, the Barn is a lovely place, tucked into Glencloy. (You'll need a car, as it is a fair walk from the ferry terminal.) Very private, a large, even sumptuous room! Kath & Phil were friendly and attentive hosts, helpful beyond the ordinary - wondered aboutthe weather & soon had a computer printout of the week's forecast! Superb breakfasts, great dining nearby and a wonderful feeling of "home" in the best sense of the word!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hikeurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

If you are planning a trip to the wonderful Isle of Arran and need accommodation, I would recommend that your first consideration should be the fantastic B&B of “The Barn” in Brodick.

My wife and I had the opportunity to spend a couple of nights on the island at the beginning of November, and for us The Barn proved to be the perfect choice. We could not have wished for a warmer welcome than the one we received from Phil and Kath. We were greeted at the door on the evening of our arrival by Kath and were shown to our room that had been beautifully prepared for our stay. Our room was spacious, quiet, very clean and comfortable, and contained all that we needed, including a lovely big double bed – perfect for a peaceful and relaxing night. Similarly, the en suite bathroom was extremely clean and comfortable.

The views from our room were lovely – including one to the rear of the house which allowed us to watch all of the wild birds feeding in the rear garden (we also understand that red squirrels are regular visitors too!). Our other window looked out toward the sea at Brodick Bay in the distance. What could be better!

Phil and Kath have very skilfully and tastefully renovated the building from its origin as an old barn at the end of short terrace of cottages. They have managed to create a beautiful home for themselves, and also a very comfortable establishment for visitors. We felt that Phil and Kath have managed to strike a perfect balance between extending a warm invitation to guests into their home while at the same time remaining very discreet and allowing their visitors to retain full independence.

After a great night’s sleep we had a wonderful hearty breakfast, which is well deserving of its reputation! A choice of cereals, toast, drinks and a fantastic cooked breakfast, including the freshest eggs possible, courtesy of the free range hens outside the front door!

We came to The Barn by car. It is on the outskirts of Brodick, only a few minutes’ drive from the centre and the ferry terminal. We found The Barn without any problem – after turning off the coast road into Glencloy Road you simply follow this road until it becomes a gravel track, and then you will see The Barn well signposted. Other reviewers have mentioned the rough nature of the gravel track that leads to The Barn. For us, we found that it was not a problem at all. The distance on the track is not very far, and it really should not deter anybody from considering staying at The Barn. We soon realized that rough lanes are part of the Arran experience, as we found quite a few other places on the island where roads become tracks as you enter the land of The (very neglectful) Laird. It is just one more fascinating quirk of the island!

In every respect, we recommend The Barn most wholeheartedly. We got the best of welcomes allied with gorgeous food and luxury accomodation at a very reasonable price. It is a truly wonderful place, and should be at the top of your list.

NB: Perfect for couples, small families, or people travelling on their own. It should be remembered, however, that due to its limited size it would not be the best choice for a very large family and certainly not for a large group such as a stag party etc.

Room Tip: We had the family room, which includes both a shower and a bath in the bathroom. The room was very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012 via mobile

The Barn is a beautiful house, tucked out of the way but within walking distance of Brodick. Our room was lovely and cosy, amazing comfy bed, great attention to detail, loved all the little extra touches. Kath and Phil are fantastic hosts, the breakfast is delicious, and they really make you feel welcome in their home. We had such a lovely time, highly recommended! Thanks Kath and Phil! From Kate and Neil, Edinburgh

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kittyk89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Arrived and we were greeted at the door, which made us feel very welcome, which was nice :) Big car park, plenty of space and its all gravelled.

Our room is the same as the photos and previously described in other reviews so wont clog up the review repeating information, but I agree lovely rooms, so clean and the bed? Forget about it- its like sleeping on a cloud! Better than some of the 5 star hotels I have visited.

Breakfast was lovely, I had cooked breakfast as did my partner the first morning. the second Morning I had a cooked breakfast again but it was even nicer, they gave me different sausages- Big meaty, ones filled with lovely herbs, wish I could of had the rest. Should note that our eggs came from thier hens, and as youd expect they were lovely, definately superior to those you buy! There is also toast, white and seeded, yoghurts, juices, and cereal! Lots of side things as well, Jam, Honey, Cheese, Fruit etc looks like a roman banquet

Phil and Kath are great hosts, eager to help and very friendly- they even gave us keys so we could come back whenever we liked, as long as we were quiet and locked the door!! Phil is a right character, in a good way ofcourse!

Lovely scenery, and the track isn't as bad as people make out, we have a one litre skoda and we managed fine!

The gardens are perfect, after passing a couple of seating areas with tables the garden opens out ontop of the hill and is surrounded by forest, If you like birds try and get the room facing the garden and keep your eyes peeled, its like a RSPB reserve with all the feeders!

All in all, 10/10 its really changed my opinion of B and Bs as previously I like to just use hotels, but we took a gamble as it looked right up our street (we love animals and scenery) and I really want to go back! It's like staying at your parents after they have renovated thier house, and are in a really good mood! Only stayed 2 days and I actually miss it =(

Room Tip: If you like wildlife, there is a room which looks onto thier garden and forest, and also over the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BritishWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

It is a really nice guest house! The rooms are really nice! The breakfast is excellent, the privacy is really good, the owners were really nice with us they made us feel at home, and they were very helpful about the knowledge of the Island

Room Tip: We had a very nice view from the room! The rooms are very pieceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michman609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I stayed at The Barn some time ago and gave it a 5 star review, as do most guests, but Kath and Phil don’t rest on their laurels and this B&B has improved since my last visit. The bedrooms with their en suites are better than many hotels I have stayed in and the little extra touches such as fresh flowers in the room contribute to the feeling that nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts are still excellent, the eggs are the best you will ever taste, and Kath and Phil are perfect hosts. I would not complain about the access to the property, just take the lane slowly and there is no problem, when you arrive at the house the setting and the feeling of tranquillity more than make up for a slightly bumpy ride.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TourerLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.1 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,208 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
955 reviews
8.5 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
769 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belvedere Guest House
Belvedere Guest House
#5 of 16 in Brodick
103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ormidale Hotel
Ormidale Hotel
#6 of 16 in Brodick
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barn B&B

Address: Glencloy, Brodick KA27 8DA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Brodick
Price Range: £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Barn B&B Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing