We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Minute Stay”
Review of The Douglas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Douglas Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Certificate of Excellence
ayrshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Last Minute Stay”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Hi - we have just returned from a 2 night stay at the beautiful Douglas Hotel. I travelled there with my husband and 16 year old son. The boys went to Arran for the golf and me to simply chill. We stayed in one of the Executive Rooms on the 2nd floor. The room was spacious, beautiful and very tastefully furnished with a lovely sea view.. The shortbread in the room each day, baked by the hotel's chef, was amazing. Food at the hotel was very good and the staff were probably the friendliest and most helpful of any hotel we have stayed before. The only very minor down side for me was the lack of comfortable, relaxing seating in the bar area. I missed big comfy couches or chairs but managed to survive. There is a small piano lounge towards the back of the hotel but I would say this is if you need some quiet time. Overall, the quality of the hotel and staff, not to mention the beautiful furnishings make this probably the best hotel on the island. An excellent stay and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are lovely, executive rooms are bigger and if you feel like pushing out the bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngsantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    684
    160
    28
    8
    6
See reviews for
119
535
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We usually stay at Auchrannie when we visit Arran but the prices they quoted were very high so decided to look elsewhere. Decided on the Douglas and we (eight of us) were not disappointed. The hotel is just opposite the ferry at Brodick. The quality and finish of the hotel is really superb - first class. Loved the decor. The rooms are lovely - very spacious, luxurious and well equipped. The home made shortbread in the room was delicious and a really nice touch compared to the usual bought biscuits. There were three people in our room and only two cups and saucers, but a phonecall to reception rectifed this. The room we stayed in (107) was great but the bath was steeper than the average. Not a problem for us but may be difficult for some to step in and out of. We changed our original booking to the Valentine offer and enjoyed one dinner, two nights bed and breakfast and a bottle of prosecco per room. A great deal. Reception staff were very helpful. Dinner, which was a tad slow to be served (the restaurant was busy) was really delicious. I personally enjoyed every single mouthful! Breakfast was cooked to order. A nice selection of prepared fruits; yoghurt, croissants etc to serve yourself. One member of our party felt that some items on his cooked breakfast was a bit cool but apart from that we all enjoyed breakfast.
Below is a quote from the hotels brochure
" Arran's newest hotel.....luxurious combination of tradition, elegant design and wonderful accomodation. You will find the Douglas Hotel Staff courteous, warm and friendly".
Did it live up to this claim - yes it did!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Just returned from a one night stay at the Douglas. Took up an offer for dinner bed and breakfast for 2 for £69 on voucher website yamolo. It's an astonishing deal given the standard of the hotel.

Our room was excellent (102) with views out to sea, very good size with excellent bathroom, everything was of high quality.

Was disappointed that our deal didn't really give us a choice at dinner but I can understand why at the price. The food however was excellent (I wouldn't normally choose sea bream).

Our waiter Stephen (I think) was excellent at dinner and breakfast. In fact all staff we spoke to were top class.

Breakfast was again fantastic with a choice of anything I could imagine.

Only comment would be to soften up the bar area with armchairs and couches as its not hugely relaxing. minor detail though!

Overall an excellent hotel, it may have been a cheap deal but we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gdferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2012

As a medium sized business owner, My wife and I booked into the Douglas on the recommendation of a colleague as an ideal place to escape London and the stresses of post-Christmas January. We absolutely loved it, the renovations are done to fit the hotels past and are of a very high standard. The room was huge, the manager left a personalised welcome note, the décor , towelling and bedding were bordering on decadent and outstripped our expectations by many factors. The staff treated us as long lost friends and there was nothing we asked for that seemed to faze them in the slightest, they were frankly brilliant.

We had expected to base ourselves at the Douglas and explore some of the other bars and restaurants on Arran, however we ended up eating breakfast lunch and dinner each of our 4 day stay, this is not our usual pattern but indicative of the quality of the food, service and ambience at the Douglas. Hats off you really were fantastic.

Room Tip: Suites are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Being a regular visitor to Arran it was with great expectations that my wife and I booked into the Douglas Hotel. We were not disappointed. From the moment we contacted the hotel till the time we left the service was fabulous. The hotel room was top quality. We also asked to be shown the executive suittes and they are breathtaking. We will be back.

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for a sea view room to get beautiful views over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2012

An absolutely superb hotel. Lovely rooms, spacious bathrooms. Wonderfully friendly staff. Great food and the cocktails are, as some have already noted, worth the journey.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landsberg am Lech, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I visit Arran regularly and was absolutely blown away by my recent stay here. Fantastic Room (001), excellent bathroon with Arran Aromatics Toiletries. Brilliant location less the 5 minutes walk from the Brodick Ferry Terminal (Most Welcome as it was torrential rain when we arrived).
All in all no complaints whatsoever. I will most definitely return

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raff40035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.8 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
9.1 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kilmichael Country House Hotel
3.0 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ormidale Hotel
Ormidale Hotel
#4 of 16 in Brodick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Douglas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Douglas Hotel

Property: The Douglas Hotel
Address: Shore Road, Brodick KA278AW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Douglas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel with beautiful panoramic views over Brodick bay and Goatfell, a stone's throw away from the ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Douglas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Douglas Hotel Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing