We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel but perhaps a bit stuffy...”
Review of The Douglas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Douglas Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The Douglas Hotel was very nice, with rooms which were of a very high standard. Even with an extra bed for our 9 year old there was lots of space and the bathroom was really large with good quality fittings. Breakfasts were very tasty and dinner in the bistro was good, if a little over priced. The staff were efficient and pleasant and dealt with an issue over a faulty radiator really well, moving us to another room really quickly. Our feeling was that the whole hotel was a little "stuffy" and we'd have liked the staff, particularly the younger staff, to "loosen up" a little. Overall, I would say that the hotel was very good but it isn't quite up to the mark of Auchrannie, where we normally stay when on Arran.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Alistair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (955)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

798 - 804 of 955 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012

Poor Elaine at the hotel had been helping me with my perfect marriage proposal plans. The staff were absolutely amazing, Manager Colin couldn't of done enough, the best room in the house with the large balcony overlooking the bay and Goatfell was the perfect place to ask my then girlfriend to marry me. After she said yes. We opened up the champagne and enjoyed every moment.
Dinner was fantastic and the quality and presentation was that of 4&5 start restaurants. My thanks g to the whole team for making such an important time so very special and memorable.

Room Tip: Simply go for the suite with the balcony for that little bit of indulgence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gavin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

It is many years since we visited Arran & stayed at the Douglas.
We were delighted with the recent refurbishment of the hotel.The rooms were very well appointed ; the staff very welcoming and helpful and the food in the Bistro was of a high standard and very "moreish".
We would definitely recommend this when choosing a place to stay in Arran.
Just a couple of small disappointments-- we had booked an Executive room and to qoute from the hotel web site had expected these to have "a superior view compared to our standard double" .Our room whilst bright was facing the side of the hotel looking into a side road onto what appeared to be the rear of shopping units.If we craned our necks we could just see the top of Goatfell.
There had been an offer on the web for a dinner B&B for the standard/deluxe rooms. When we asked if this offer applied to our room we were told "no" with no satisfactory reason why the Exec rooms were excluded.
I should add that the exec room was £30 more nightly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We found this hotel, set in the beautiful landscape of the Ise of Arran, an oasis of comfort, with a very welcoming and attentive staff.

The amenities and facilities of the hotel, be it the rooms, the lounge areas or the bar and restuarant are excellent and the food and drink served is first class !!

This hotel is the ideal location to use as a base for exploring this island and you know you'll have a warm and friendly welcome awaiting you at the end of the day to help you relax.

They were also well-informed about local events and places of interest and could offer valuable advice how the guests to the island of Arran could enjoy themselves.

The hotel makes use of the local products (including the bathroom supplies and naturally the bar supplies!) which in this day and age is commendable!

We were shown some other rooms, and each one is unique; decorated with local materials; and offers a view of the sea! Quite a lot of natural stone and other natural materials are used in the decoration of the ground floor, giving the hotel a luxurious atmosphere.

*******************************************************
This island is fantastic for taking photographs, although - as our time was limited to 3 days - I could only take just over 1000 shots

The views are spectacular; wildlife lovers can see swans, seals and lots of other birds and animals...

And a special feature - no doubt, organized by the staff ;-) - numerous rainbows regularly arched above the island - mesmerizing!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RusRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This was the first time we had stayed at this hotel, rooms were extremely spacious (deluxe double), bathroom had great shower and bath along with all the Arran Aromatics soaps and shampoos. Lovely view of the sea from the window and bed was extremely comfortable.

Breakfast was excellent with hot food to order along with continental buffet style, staff were welcoming and very efficient.

Couple of hiccups on arrival and departure, we had booked 2 rooms but they only had us in for 1 but the Manager sorted this within a matter of minutes and was very welcoming and apologetic. Also when departing they had slightly overcharged us but this again was automatically resolved and reception staff were very efficient.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys luxurious hotels. Was a great stay and a 3 minute walk from the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IMM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Excellent stay. Beautiful hotel and a great experience all round.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crompotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Very well appointed hotel,comfortable,food excellent,staff outstanding.Will return.

Room Tip: Would choose a room with seaward view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McCrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.8 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,208 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
769 reviews
9.1 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Corrie Hotel
Corrie Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corrie
185 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
443 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Lagg Hotel
The Lagg Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilmory
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Douglas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Douglas Hotel

Address: Shore Road, Brodick KA278AW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Price Range: £105 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Douglas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel with beautiful panoramic views over Brodick bay and Goatfell, a stone's throw away from the ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Douglas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Douglas Hotel Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing