We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect”
Review of The Douglas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Douglas Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This distinctive and landmark building has had a major revamp after it fell into dereliction and was an embarrassment to the island. It would seem that no cost has been cut from the budget in creating a beautiful hotel. It is now marketed as a boutique hotel and it fits that category well.

My wife and I booked a double room on the second floor which had two outlooks. One to the front onto the pier and the other to the access drive. Our Queen bed allowed my wife to report on the comings and goings of the Calmac ferries. Many of the front rooms overlook the bay and an outlook of the big mountain, Goatfell.

Our bathroom was enormous and would have been the size of a double bedroom in another hotel. Sadly the lighting was quite inadequate when the window blind was down which was a necessity because there was a back driveway. State of the art plumbing was sadly without instructions on how to use it.

There was a most welcome tea tray with home made shortcake biscuits but only one dressing robe, no Arran aromatheric hand cream/body lotion, no shower caps and a room door which was so hard to open we thought we were locked in.

Our dinner was extremely tasty and the choice from the menu was perfectly adequate. If we had been staying longer we might have strayed away to other eating establishments as it seemed to be a fixed menu rather than ever changing. The staff were courteous although no-one checked that our meal was satisfactory and my dinner roll created crumbs which were not cleared up between courses.

The hotel, for all its lavish embellishments lacks character however hard the mainly Scottish staff endeavour to keep guests happy. We have been visiting Arran for many years and desperately want this hotel to succeed and with a light touch on the daily disciplines this would change this good hotel into an excellent one. It won't take much.

Room Tip: A view onto the bay is almost essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilkos99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (955)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

655 - 661 of 955 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2013

spent a great weekend here last week 10th may. weather wasn't great but the hotel was. room was beautiful and the staff, food and ambience were all great. no complaints whatsoever just a comment - possibly think about minibars in the rooms to round off a great experience.

Room Tip: upgrade to executive - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rossio1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Douglas Hotel for a two night dinner, bed and breakfast stay. Hotel was great, stay were very accommodation and attentive. Room was clean and spacious and meals were excellent. Would definitely return

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme Cochrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Spent 2 night midweek break DB&B with our two friends at the Douglas Hotel 8th-10th May.

The hotel is tastefully decorated, contemporary with some traditional features, the staff are very polite, helpful and professional, standard of cleanliness throughout the hotel is very high.

We had deluxe double rooms to the back of the hotel on the second floor with a large window giving side views. The room was large tastefully decorated and fresh and clean. The bed was a super king with plenty of pillows and most important very comfortable. The bathroom was very large and again contemporary in design, with a large bath with overhead shower, with plenty of towels and Arran Aromatics toiletries.

The Bistro restaurant served very good food, there was a set dinner menu for mid week guests,
with good choices, we were unaware that you could order a la carte until reading previous review prior to posting this review. The breakfast was excellent, again with a wide range of dishes.
The atmosphere in the Bistro was very relaxing, you never felt that you had to rush either at breakfast or dinner unlike some other hotels. David, Tom and Roland were excellent waiters, professional and very helpful.

We enjoyed our stay, have recommended the hotel to other friends who have now booked a midweek break. We will also return to The Douglas.

Room Tip: Ask at time of booking regarding positions of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLSScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Booked this hotel based on all the positive reviews - we were not disappointed. Got an excellent 2 night mid-week package at an unbelievable price = 2 nights, 2 adults, dinner, bed and FULL breakfast for only £199, WHAT A BARGAIN!
Reception was efficient and welcoming and our room (although at the back of the property) was large and spacious. Super-King size bed, modern styling and a huge bathroom, all spotlessly clean.
Public areas, lounge, bar and bistro restaurant all well presented with friendly staff. The food was also as "advertised" and locals all recognised the quality of this hotel.
Only one negative; from initial booking, check-in and even the in-room information, there was NO information about the dinner menu offered as part of the package, only found this out when enquiring at reception before our first evening meal. However, the selection offered was good and featured dishes from their regular al a carte menu, with a decent allowance if you wanted to go "off-piste" and choose from the main menu (which we did on the second night).
Check out was also a breeze with no nasty surprises. We would definitely stay here again if travelling to Arran in the future.

Room Tip: If a sea view or a view of Brodick is important to you, then this should be requested when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Thanks guys, we had a wonderful stay. Of course, helped by the fantastic weather; so sunny and warm we could sit on your terraces until 7.30pm! Unbelievable.
Thank you for our upgrade to the Suite; this was a very nice gesture and we enjoyed it very much. Very good bed. Very good bathroom. And what a nice balcony.
The dinner in your bistro was absolutely excellent.
So, all in all, we had a great stay and we enjoyed every minute of it.
Please go on like this.

Room Tip: The Suite is excellent. we don't know the other rooms, as we had a free upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob_van_Houdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

just returned from the Douglas hotel having spent a weekend there.5 of us stayed for a short golfing break.The hotel is fantastic.Rooms very clean and spacious.The bar is great ,drinks well priced and a great bar menu.The bistro is also superb and as for my first scottish breakfast , i cant speak highly enough of it !!The staff are all very friendly and they cant do enough for you.Would reccommend this hotel to everyone.Mr Reid ,the general manager certainly welcomed us.
If like us you want tp play some good golf courses this is very close to Brodick golf club which although a short course is well worth playing . Also try Whiting Bay and Shiskine golf courses.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mercmanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.8 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,208 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
769 reviews
9.1 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Corrie Hotel
Corrie Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corrie
185 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
440 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Lagg Hotel
The Lagg Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilmory
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Douglas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Douglas Hotel

Address: Shore Road, Brodick KA278AW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Price Range: £106 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Douglas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel with beautiful panoramic views over Brodick bay and Goatfell, a stone's throw away from the ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Douglas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Douglas Hotel Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing