We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came up trumps again!”
Review of The Douglas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Douglas Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Came up trumps again!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at The Douglas in October 2011 with my convalescing daughter,I felt it was time to introduce my 89 year old Mother (a self confessed Arranite all her life) to this wonderful hotel.
Our executive room,with a lovely vista of the bay from her armchair,just delighted Mum and the service and courtesy she received from staff,waiting and reception,made her feel very special.
Another convert to The Douglas......Thank You once again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tallulahbelle21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    161
    28
    8
    7
See reviews for
119
542
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Was there over Easter weekend, with a group of old school friends. The hotel is fantastic, the rooms are very well maintained, and the hotel is clean throughout. The location of the hotel is perfect, nice and close to the ferry, and very accessible to the rest of the island. The staff in the hotel were very friendly and accommodating. The manager of the hotel was a fantastic host, and catered for all of our needs. We ate in the Bistro every night, the food was lovely and varied! I would recommend the hotel to all. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Excellent stay and a 1st class manager and staff. A really lovely place to stay and an excellent bar that also adds to the fun. Nothing too much for the staff and great as just off the boat and straight in to Hotel and out exploring!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taylordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Great hotel, Staff outstanding. Went on an overnight cycle trip. Room was stunning, bathroom shower etc spotless. Modern and neat décor. Dinner lovely and staff attentive and friendly. Don't look elsewhere, book here and you will not be disappointed!
We had room 106.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doccrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Two nights in the Douglas Hotel, without the children, for my wife and I to relax and have some time together.

Executive room was great. Really well appointed and comfortable. Bathroom was fantastic as well.

Great service from the staff before arrival, during our stay and on departure. Food in the bistro, breakfast and bar were great. Could possibly have had a wider range of bottled ale but good on the hotel for supporting the local brewery.

I'm sure we'll be back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed in the Douglas Hotel 13th April & the only complaint is that it was not long enough.The hotel is fantastic,beautiful rooms with fantastic views,Dinner & breakfast was great and the staff are amazing very helpful & friendly.If you are going to Arran you must stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tayport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

All i can say is that room 103 stayed on the 9th april...is superb full view of the harbour and surrounding hills..mountains..etc...what a surprise to be upgraded to this fantastic suite...we have stay before and thought it was great then...will go back without any hesitation...superb...wish we could have stayed longer...it is the place to stay on the island...

Room Tip: All excellent...103
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pam59222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.8 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,113 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
729 reviews
9.1 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kilmichael Country House Hotel
3.0 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
368 reviews
4.6 mi away
Corrie Hotel
Corrie Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corrie
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Douglas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Douglas Hotel

Property: The Douglas Hotel
Address: Shore Road, Brodick KA278AW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Douglas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel with beautiful panoramic views over Brodick bay and Goatfell, a stone's throw away from the ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Douglas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Douglas Hotel Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing