We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hotel, modern comforts”
Review of The Douglas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Douglas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Brodick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The rooms are large and very comfortable and quiet, with modern styling. Being opposite the ferry terminal the location is good with views across the bay. Service was friendly and efficient. The menu was varied and everything we tried was tasty and fabulous - it made choosing something else difficult as we were tempted to make the same choices again. The breakfasts set us up for the day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nic-and-Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (969)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

491 - 497 of 969 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

A top class treat from start to finish! I can't praise The Douglas Hotel highly enough for their warm welcome, fantastic food, excellent service and our luxurious bedroom. Lots of wonderful art and personal touches which helped make our overnight stay very special.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

After a very early start from London the Douglas proved to be the perfect overnight stop for us to unwind and get into the holiday mood. One very small snag of a booking error was quickly dealt with and free drinks proffered whilst the room was sorted were a really nice touch. We booked an executive room and were very happy with it. The bed was sumptuous, the room spotless, the bathroom had everything and more we could want. We were the first into the Bistro as we needed an early night, the plus side to the early start was a window with a sea view with which to watch the setting sun. The food was superb, well presented, tasty and we thought good value for money. We were in bed way too early to make the most of the room, but we had been up at half three that morning. Breakfast the next morning was really good, we both had the "Full Scottish" and whilst we we had trepidations about haggis for breakfast, we soon relaxed, it was divine. I suspect we will return, but if we do it will be for a less flying visit

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a 2 night midweek offer. Was amazing. Could fault nothing. Rooms, staff, location, food couldn't get any better. Hired a car and drove round the island. We had a beautiful sunny day which let us see Arran at it's very best. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186534Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at The Douglas in October 2011 with my convalescing daughter,I felt it was time to introduce my 89 year old Mother (a self confessed Arranite all her life) to this wonderful hotel.
Our executive room,with a lovely vista of the bay from her armchair,just delighted Mum and the service and courtesy she received from staff,waiting and reception,made her feel very special.
Another convert to The Douglas......Thank You once again!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tallulahbelle21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Was there over Easter weekend, with a group of old school friends. The hotel is fantastic, the rooms are very well maintained, and the hotel is clean throughout. The location of the hotel is perfect, nice and close to the ferry, and very accessible to the rest of the island. The staff in the hotel were very friendly and accommodating. The manager of the hotel was a fantastic host, and catered for all of our needs. We ate in the Bistro every night, the food was lovely and varied! I would recommend the hotel to all. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Excellent stay and a 1st class manager and staff. A really lovely place to stay and an excellent bar that also adds to the fun. Nothing too much for the staff and great as just off the boat and straight in to Hotel and out exploring!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taylordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.8 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,765 reviews
3 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
782 reviews
9.1 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,137 reviews
21.7 mi away
Portavadie Loch Fyne
Portavadie Loch Fyne
#1 of 1 in Portavadie
729 reviews
3 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Douglas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Douglas Hotel

Address: Shore Road, Brodick KA278AW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Brodick
Price Range: £105 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Douglas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel with beautiful panoramic views over Brodick bay and Goatfell, a stone's throw away from the ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Douglas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Douglas Hotel Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing