We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stranded on the island” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auchrannie House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brodick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Auchrannie House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Certificate of Excellence
Lanark, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stranded on the island”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at Auchrannie on Thursday 28th Nov using a groupon voucher... we had a lovely evening and such a relaxing time.
On checking out the next morning we where informed that there was disruptions to the ferry service due to a storm.
The next ferry was cancelled but there would be another update at 11am. At this point with a lot guests sitting in the reception area someone asked the question about buying another groupon voucher and using it to stay another night. Within a split second the receptionist said that no groupon vouchers would be accepted and the cost of the room would be £120 bed and breakfast.

With around 30 guests spending most of the day within the hotel, (spending money) The hotel still wasn't interested in offering any discount on rooms if everyone was stuck on the island.
This went on all day until at 4.10pm when Calmac announced that all remaining sailings for the day would be cancelled.

At this point the hotel announced that they would reduce rooms to £89 bed and breakfast, I totally understand that ferry sailings being cancelled isn't the hotes fault but I feel the hotel should have procedures on place if it does happen as I'm sure it probably happens more than the once a year.

With the groupon voucher still being on I feel that the hotel could have done a little more for guests that where forced to stay another night. Even by matching the groupon deal or £10 more would have a great gesture by the hotel. Or maybe even a percentage off dinner or throwing breakfast in free of charge.

On sitting at reception all day, I witnessed first hand how much of a hard time the girls at reception were getting and realise there hands are tied.
With having no other option but to book in for another night's stay at 4.30pm and actually being tired from sitting about reception all day we played £89 plays what we paid for dinner and where asleep by 9pm. All that money for a bed to sleep on.

As I have said I realise it's not the hotels fault and at the end of they day they are a business bit I just feel they should have more in place to help guests when there are people stuck on the island through no fault of there own.

With where the hotel is and no doubt relying on guests returning and also word of mouth on how good the facilities are I think more could be done to look after guests who have already spent time in the hotel and then need a room for another night due to a cancelled ferry service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisLaw81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,139
    234
    61
    26
    17
See reviews for
212
900
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

we stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and had to stay an extra night as the ferry did not run because of bad weather, the staff could not have been more helpful, the rooms were large and clean, the pool was great, meals were very good and all staff in the hotel were friendly . would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silversurfe62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Auchrannie house hotel in November 2013. We did not take our car so used the courtesy bus provided by the hotel, this was very efficient. Our room was very comfortable and the facilities are very good. [ toiletries, tea/coffee making facilities. bath robes, hair dryer and even an umbrella] The hotel has some nice seating areas with coal fires which gives the place a nice atmosphere. The food in Cruize Bar is good but could do with more vegetarian options. We did not try Brambles as they serve mainly fish which my husband is allergic to and 1869 was closed for the winter. We spent a day in Aspa, something I would highly recommend, this spa really is a slice of heaven. All the staff were very friendly & attentive. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely return soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sudan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Just back from our first visit to Auchrannie. A thoroughly relaxing break from start to finish. Hotel, rooms, facilities and surrounding we're fantastic, wonderful food and staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the country house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Had a wonderful couple of days staying at this idyllic place . From the moment of arrival we were made to feel welcome and looked after. The food in brambles restaurant was top notch and can highly recommend the fish pie (the best I ve ever had . All the staff were so friendly and helpful . As they say Auchrannie is addictive I couldn't agree more. I can't wait till my next visit

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheilacraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RS_General_Manager, Manager at Auchrannie House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thanks for posting your review and I'll make sure Brambles' Chef sees your comments about the fish pie! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

The staff at Auchrannie very very welcoming, the room was comfortable and stylish and the leisure facilities very good - two gyms, two pools and a new spa. Good range of food available in Brambles Brasserie and Cruize Bar. Didn't try the fine dining in 1869 but will do so another time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorrieShore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westkilbride
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I was treated by my siblings to vouchers for the auchrannie for my 40th b day and I had an amazing relaxed, chilled, fun weekend - food was amazing as was pool etc for my wee boy and company was fab x

Room Tip: ask for one close to reception if you have a child our room was miles away x
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lelWestkilbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.1 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,046 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
3.1 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
13.8 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auchrannie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auchrannie House Hotel

Property: Auchrannie House Hotel
Address: Auchrannie Road, Brodick KA27 8BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Auchrannie Country Hotel
Auchrannie Country Brodick
Auchrannie House Hotel Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing