We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoughts on Service”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brodick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Auchrannie House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thoughts on Service”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I've stayed at the Auchrannie many times over the years, both in the hotel and at the Spa but on this occasion I only visited the 1869 restaurant. We had drinks before our meal and then shown through to the restaurant. Granted this was a very busy evening but the service was a little chaotic however the food was very good. I had the impression that they were perhaps a couple of staff members short of what was needed to make things smoother. After our meal we returned to the lounge for a drink and to await our lift. The drinks were brought to the table and the staff member managed to knock over a bottle of mixer which splashed onto both my wife and I. These things happen of course but whilst the mixer was replaced there was no attempt to wipe up the spillage. I also noted that the empty glasses we had previously left on the adjacent table were still there some 2 hours later. All in all our experience was good but I felt that when you spend over £100 on a meal for 2 the overall service experience could have been a little better. Perhaps a better supervision oversight might have made the difference.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Murphy113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,160
    236
    61
    26
    17
See reviews for
216
909
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I booked a two day break back in February for a group of 12 for a friends birthday. Out rooms were lovely and we ate in all the restaurants and found the menus extensive and the food very good. The service was friendly. We did not use the pool but our couples package gave us £30 toward a spa treatment. Everyone enjoyed their treatments very much and felt they compared well to other high class spas.
Over all a great weekend!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Fabulous website photos inspired high expectations but the pool areas are rather basic - and the steam room has certainly seen better days. The facilities do not compare well with others I've used and the water temperature was chilly. Not as luxurious as we hoped for.

Our massages were a little disappointing also. The therapists' technique was lacking in effort in both cases - as if simply going through the motions. The relaxation room is pleasant however.

We did enjoy our meals in the Brambles and 1869 restaurants: nothing exceptional but generally hot and tasty. Service was prompt and attentive on the whole.

Our room was fine - although would have loved a bath rather than shower. Towel rail was turned off, which seemed strange ( linked to heating). No new toiletries despite five day stay and complimentary water not always renewed.

Good choice at breakfast but cooked items varied (presumably depending on the chef) from barely warmed tomato and potato scone to burnt black at edges. Bacon lacking in flavour.

Cocktails were great: we tried several. Bar staff are jolly and the waitresses lovely.

Overall fairly good value for money but room for improvement.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScruffyNellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

A great hotel in a lovely location. Something for everyone, from snooker to swimming, from bar snacks to fine dining. Access to the beautiful island of Arran, a wonderful location for cycling. walking, climbing, sailing, etc., etc.
However, the best thing about Auchrannie is the hospitality. Every member of staff with whom we made contact was unfailingly helpful and friendly, indeed cheerful.
The food in both the Cruize and Brambles restaurants was well-cooked and beautifully presented. The Eighteen69 restaurant is only open from Thursdays to Sundays so we were unable to try the "Scottish Tapas"!
The other good thing is that it's ideal for singles, couples, families and groups. I imagine it would be a great place for a wedding or a party.
Downside? Unless you've got a yacht or a private helicopter the only access is via a one hour ferry trip from Ardrossan on the Scottish mainland but that's not the fault of Auchrannie, so five stars (or green circles!).

Room Tip: Families should ask for rooms in the Spa Resort building close to the original Hotel. Elderly or dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxwellPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Enjoying the best weekend here, arrived in Thursday, and although to early to check-in, our room was ready, so we're able to check-in, bonus. There is 3 restaurants in the resort, we only tried 2, 1869, scottish tapas, was lovely although we were advised to have between 3-4 dishes each, we had 5 between 2 of us and were stuffed! Brambles is the steak and seafood restaurant, food was fantastic, I wanted to try everything on the menu! but in the end had the monkfish, which was really nice. I also had a facial in the new spa, which was the best I've had, relaxing way to start the day. The staff were very friendly attentive, and cheery, always took time to chat.

All in all a great break away, we will be back!

Room Tip: Hairdryer, iron and ironing board in the wardrobe. Also a very nice touch was an umbrella to use whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vic245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I took my wife to stay in the Auchrannie hotel for her birthday and we really enjoyed it. We were greeted by friendly staff who showed us to our room. The room was clean and tidy with lots of large black and white photos of the local area on the walls. The bathroom was clean and the powerful shower was great. The information pack was helpful with details of local walks, restaurants and anything else you would need to know. We had the choice of 3 different restaurants to chose from which was unusual but great. We decided to go with the 1869 restaurant which served Scottish tapas. The food was great and the service was friendly and attentive. My wife also had a spa treatment which she said we really relaxing which is exactly what she wanted. We would have liked more time to explore more of the area but the hotel definitely made the weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

On the day that Glasgow and Scotland won their first medals at the Commonwealth games we tried Scottish tapas in the 1869 restaurant! Overall a great dining experience and another Gold for Scotland! The dishes are priced at around a £5 for simple tapas to approx £12 for the butchers plate....... my favourite on the day. The dishes covered bread and dips, scallops, white bait, veggie options and meat. Add to this a range of cocktails and great friendly service, you have a grand experience not to be missed.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.1 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,115 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
894 reviews
3.1 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
531 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kilmichael Country House Hotel
3.2 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auchrannie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auchrannie House Hotel

Property: Auchrannie House Hotel
Address: Auchrannie Road, Brodick KA27 8BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Auchrannie Country Hotel
Auchrannie Country Brodick
Auchrannie House Hotel Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing