We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing hideaway with delicious food and great hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilmichael Country House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Brodick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed for two nights and found it very relaxing. This is a very upmarket hotel with a wonderful restaurant. We told them in advance that we are vegetarian and that we do not like goats cheese (most restaurants' default veggie option these days for some reason!) The menu was wonderful and the food delicious, perfectly cooked and exquisitely presented. Our hosts were most obliging and keen to ensure everything was to our satisfaction. The grounds are beautiful, with peacocks and chickens roaming around. It was like staying at the lovely house of a well-to-do friend. My husband managed to leave two jackets in the wardrobe and they tried to catch up with us before our ferry left to get them back to us, but missed us. It was so kind of them to try and this was well beyond what we could have expected.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jellyblips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmichael, Owner at Kilmichael Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

What a lovely review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and particularly gratified by your appreciation of our vegetarian dishes. We try really hard to make them special and it's rewarding to learn that this doesn't go unnoticed. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Kilmichael soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed for 2 nights midweek at Kilmichael. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, upgraded to a suite free of charge, very friendly, welcoming and comfortable. Beautiful situation, lovely rooms. Peacocks, chickens and ducks roaming the grounds. Excellent breakfast and dining room. Would definitely return and cant recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beeroclockScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmichael, Owner at Kilmichael Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write such a positive review of your stay with us. We're delighted that you had such a peaceful and relaxing time and hope it won't be too long before you're able to pay us another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We've stayed at the Kilmichael about 14 years ago and dined there on a couple of occasions since. It hasn't changed! Still luxurious, where the quality of the hotel is only surpassed by the quality of the food. It's not cheap but if you are considering giving yourself or partner a good dose of pampering then the Kilmichael is for you. P.S. Don't be put off by the access road!

Room Tip: Room prices vary as all rooms are of differing sizes. The choice is yours
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAPTAINCOOK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmichael, Owner at Kilmichael Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Praise indeed! Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write such a glowing review. We are so pleased to know that you continue to enjoy your visits so much. Long may they continue!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed at Kilmichael many years ago when we got married on the island and everything at Kilmichael felt special at that time simply because it was.

We returned for a short two night break and were soon asking ourselves why on earth we had not returned sooner as everything was just as good and special as before. This is a place of the highest standards, the public rooms are delightful, the bedrooms superb, the proprietors and the staff are wonderful and the food is of the highest quality.

If you are looking for somewhere special with superb food, where you can relax in beautiful peaceful surroundings broken only by the sound of the peacocks that stroll around the well manicured and mature gardens then this is the place for you.

Go and treat yourself to a first class experience !

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honestview23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmichael, Owner at Kilmichael Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

How lovely to hear that your memories of Kilmichael had not faded with time. It's always gratifying to know that our efforts are appreciated, and what better reward can there be than that we live up to your memories of a very special time! thank you for a super review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at one of the Kilmichael luxury cottages & they certainly are luxurious! Beautiful, spacious & every detail thought of. We took my parents with us, along with our 1&3 year old sons.
The cottage itself is located just at the back of the hotel. We truly felt relaxed here, the place is so peaceful & quiet.

We never got the chance to eat at the hotel restaurant, as having two little ones restricts meal times, but maybe next time we will.

We have visited Arran many times, staying at various hotels, lodges and b&b's across the island, but we really hope to return next year.

Thank you so much for a lovely holiday, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves & hope to be back! If you'll have us!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynneywho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmichael, Owner at Kilmichael Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

We're really pleased to hear that your whole family enjoyed their stay at Kilmichael and that you hope to return next year. Let us know when you are coming and we'll put you in touch with a babysitter so you can enjoy some special 'me-time' in our dining room one evening!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We returned to Arran and this hotel after several years and immediately wondered why we had lef it so long. Great hospitality and good food. We had our dog with us so chose the Dovecot, an outside room which suited us fine. The evening meal is a fixed menu (four courses with canapes and coffee) but if you have a problem with anything they will make an effort to accommodate your preferences. We enjoyed excellent breakfasts - and as I never eat a cooked one I appreciated the fruit and yoghurt options and also the croissants and pastries. Look out for the peacock in the garden - especially when he displays his fantastic plummage.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glenken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmichael, Owner at Kilmichael Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Shame on you for leaving it so long to revisit Arran!!!! Seriously,though, we are delighted that your stay at Kilmichael contributed to your renewed appreciation of our beautiful island and that our 'non-cooked' options at breakfast scored such a hit - just don't leave it so long to revisit next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Kilmichael is the perfect antidote to faceless corporate hotels. Small, but spacious enough, elegance without over-formality, and very very welcoming. The complimentary decanter of Arran whisky in our room was a typical little touch of hospitality; pre-dinner drinks in the drawing room with other guests; delightful furnishings and decoration. They were just some of the features which make this a sanctuary of civilised relaxation. And the food! Dinner was the most delicious meal we can ever recall (outside home of course). We wondered if we had just struck lucky that evening, but were assured by other guests that it is consistently as good. So thanks and congratulations to the hard working owners who have created a real treasure. PS. The website we discussed on the morning we left is PFK Auctions.

Room Tip: Free range peacocks are just one of the attractions of the hotel grounds, and can provide a surprise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plambert99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmichael, Owner at Kilmichael Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Thank you so much for your very generous ecomium! We are very gratified that you so clearly enjoyed your stay and much encouraged by your kind and enthusiastic remarks - particularly the reference to 'hard working owners'!!!!! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.7 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,757 reviews
2.8 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
775 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#2 of 3 in Brodick
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
594 reviews
20.6 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
2.9 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmichael Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmichael Country House Hotel

Address: Glen Cloy, Brodick KA27 8BY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Brodick
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilmichael Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality, comfort and style are the hallmarks of the Kilmichael experience. All the rooms are elegantly and individually decorated to maintain the look and feel of a particularly attractive country house, while offering the standards of comfort and service associated with the very best hotels. Indeed, Kilmichael has twice been awarded 'Scottish Country House Hotel of the Year' and consistently achieves higher grades than other island hotels in every major guidebook and award scheme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kilmichael Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmichael Country House Hotel Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing