We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A special place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilmichael Country House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A special place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is the sort of country hotel you will come back to time and time again. A genuinely friendly welcome. Comfortable rooms and very good food. Don't be put off by the set 4 course menu. If you want to make any changes they will do their best to accommodate you preferences.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms good for dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmichael, Owner at Kilmichael Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
You are too kind! Tall hank you very much indeed for such a ringing endorsement. We are often taken aback by how much our guests enthuse about Kilmichael and you are no exception. Thank you, too, for advising potential guests not to be put off by the table d'hote. As you know, we try to take every intolerance, allergy and dislike of every guest into account when planning the menu and, touch wood, we've yet to be beaten!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    14
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
173
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just had to write a review as when I read all the previous ones I couldn't quite believe it was going to be as good as everyone said. However, it is every bit as superb as you will read elsewhere. Stayed here for 2 nights for our wedding anniversary and felt so well looked after. Delicious food, stunning location, but homely and comfortable too. It is beautifully furnished in a traditional country house style, but is not so grand that you feel nervous or like you're in a museum. We were able simply to enjoy its lack of phone reception / wifi confined to one room, and turn off from the outside world to savour the peace and incredible food. After a stunning, but very long, walk it was the perfect place to return to for a hot bath, a reviving gin & tonic, and incredible dinner. Can't recommend it enough and would like to thank the owners hugely for the care and attention they so clearly put into every aspect of the Kilmichael hotel. We felt like their personal guests and loved every minute.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyJ444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmichael, Owner at Kilmichael Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review. You've summed up everything we hope Kilmichael will be in a nutshell and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Do hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We have just returned from a short break and this incredible place. I feel like we stepped into another land for a few days, a place where everything is peaceful, beautiful and calm. I have come home feeling refreshed, relaxed and joyful - something quite rare after a family holiday! We stayed in one of the cottages with our two children, while Granny stayed in the Rose Bedroom in the Hotel. Everything in the cottage was just perfect, with a really lovely ambience created by the calm decor and wonderful Art and treasures displayed in the house. The Hotel was equally lovely, just full of interesting things - pictures, lovely floral displays, wonderful furniture. The gardens full of wildlife and unusual plants and shrubs were a joy to walk through, we did so each morning and evening. And as for the hosts - Geoffrey and Antony are absolutely charming, both so friendly and welcoming. I am just vexed that we didn't get to sample Anthony's cooking in the restaurant ....... next time! The fresh eggs which Geoffrey gave us on our arrival were the best I have ever had - we ate all 6 in 2 days!

What a wonderful place this is, truly special. We cannot wait to return.

I should say that we are very well travelled, and have had the pleasure of staying in some of the nicest hotels in the world, from the Cote d'Azure to Park Lane. But this is the first time I have felt compelled to write a Trip Advisor review, which speaks volumes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kit50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmichael, Owner at Kilmichael Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
What a fantastic-sounding place; we'd love to stay there ourselves one day! Seriously, we are so grateful for reviews such as yours. It's easy to get too close to the day-to-day running of Kilmichael and not so easy to see it through the eyes of our visitors. Thank you for letting us see what a special experience Kilmichael can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Food from gourmet heaven....light, perfect, delicious and imaginative and hosting that soothes and rejuvenates the spirit. There is something quite baffling and mysterious...and it is the absence of a well deserved Michelin star....amongst the gallery of very impressive hospitality and food awards extending over more than a decade.
Geoffrey and Antony have created a haven, and mix that in with consideration, kindness and impeccable service and it lends itself to a memory that will be cherished for a very long time.
Warm congratulations on achieving your exceedingly rare level of excellence, long may it continue!

Room Tip: The lodges are lovely, spacious, well appointed and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmichael, Owner at Kilmichael Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you so much for your encouraging comments. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that it will be the first of many!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

This was our 2nd time at the cottages & we would have no hesitation in going back. Although it was a chilly & windy weekend the cottage was warm & cosy. The attention to detail is excellent & you lack for nothing. The furnishings are a beautiful quality & the grounds are well worth a stroll, even at this time of year, they must be beautiful in the summer. No negatives at all!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ange G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmichael, Owner at Kilmichael Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, despite the rather unkind weather. You must come and see the gardens in the summer; they are, as you suggest, well worth a visit. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your experience of Kilmichael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We spent two nights in Kilmichael accompanied by our little dog and all three of us were made most welcome.

We had a glorious room with a 'proper' four-poster bed and luxurious bathroom.
This country house is extremely well-appointed; no detail remains unattended to by Geoffrey and Antony. The decor is elegant and is a reminder of more gentile times, unfortunately long past.
The evenings were a joy, beginning with canapes in the beautiful sitting room with its cosy, crackling fire, then sumptuous dinner in the equally elegant dining room and ending with coffee and petit fours back in the sitting room.
If one loves elegance and old world charm and style then this is where to find it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rover022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmichael, Owner at Kilmichael Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your experience at Kilmichael. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have stayed here several times and enjoyed everything just as much as before. There can be few places where Dinner is of the standard presented by Antony. There has been much said in favour of this hotel in previous reviews, so do visit to experience it all for yourself.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhood3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmichael, Owner at Kilmichael Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It's very gratifying to know that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and we hope that you will visit us again before too very long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.7 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#3 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
2.8 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ormidale Hotel
Ormidale Hotel
#4 of 19 in Brodick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmichael Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmichael Country House Hotel

Property: Kilmichael Country House Hotel
Address: Glen Cloy, Brodick KA27 8BY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilmichael Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality, comfort and style are the hallmarks of the Kilmichael experience. All the rooms are elegantly and individually decorated to maintain the look and feel of a particularly attractive country house, while offering the standards of comfort and service associated with the very best hotels. Indeed, Kilmichael has twice been awarded 'Scottish Country House Hotel of the Year' and consistently achieves higher grades than other island hotels in every major guidebook and award scheme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Kilmichael Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmichael Country House Hotel Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing