We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great guest house.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hunters Guest House
Ranked #3 of 16 Brodick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had a spur of the moment trip to Arran staying at the Hunters Guest House for one night.I can't say anything that will be different from all the reviews on here.I can only stress that every one of them are correct.Spotlessly clean, Nothing was too much trouble for Caroline very helpful and friendly.Great breakfast sets you up for the day, Perfect position for the ferry .Places to eat nearby, Tuesday night Folk night at the Fiddler Music Bar further down the road. Book a table as it gets busy. We managed to get a table for one hour as they were booked up.The group sounded great sorry we had to leave. Would definately stay here if we came again and it would be in the summer when the buses were more frequent so we could get around a bit more. The only down side was the bed was to low for my husband. But nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillygilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

A lovely guest house with the most accommodating of hosts. They were brilliant with us while we were there for a short stay and made us feel exceptionally welcome. Couldn't recommend them highly enough. Decoration is quite suitable and very able to upgrade us on arrival and accommodate our early arrival. Wonderful people.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SRobbie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My partner and I had a pleasure to stay at the Hunters for two nights. This lovely B&B has a great location, close to all local amenities. Our bedroom, which was just above the breakfast area, had a fantastic views of the bay. What makes this place trully excellent is the staff :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCfromEdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Hunter's Guest House is perfectly located in Brodick, only a 10 minute walk from the ferry with grocery stores, a bank and a bakery close by. We spent two nights in one of the smaller rooms with a lounge on the top floor for tea time. This B&B is not only well located for walking trips to the local sights such as the cheese shop, the brewery or of course the Goatfell and Glen Rosa; we were even happier about the nice way in which Caroline and Louise made us feel at home straight away!
Thanks for the nice stay, see you again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knut O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Wonderful location! The guest house is near to the ferry, shops, a bakery, and restaurants. Great places to hike in walking distance, too! We stayed in room number 1 which had fantastic views of the bay and Goatfell. The room was cosy and contained a small seating area where we could drink tea while enjoying the view. Lovely luxurious en suite bathroom. Caroline and Louise were extremely helpful and provided us with books and advice on places to visit on Arran. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Passports-In-Hand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We probably had the best room on the whole island. According to the reviews, we should have booked a room at the Douglas Hotel, but I'm so glad we made Hunters our home in Arran.

We spent three nights in Room Two, which has beautiful bay windows opening out to Brodick Bay and Goatfell. The view really speaks for itself, and we could have easily sat by the window for hours just taking in the view. While I often prefer modern design, the room was tastefully and thoughtfully decorated - exactly the way it looks in pictures. It was also huge for two people! The bed was comfortable and it was amazing waking up to that view. The bathroom had a "roll-top" bathtub and looked like it belonged in an interior design magazine. More importantly, it was spotless and came with much-appreciated heated floors! It was also nice that there was a heated towel rack for cold spring nights. The free WiFi worked perfectly on all our devices. For the price we paid, we thought the room was a steal.

We also had breakfast on three mornings. There was a selection of fruit, cereal, cheeses, and yogurt, and the owner Caroline also made us a traditional Scottish cooked breakfast. It was a great start to the day and we didn't need lunch until 4pm!

Caroline and her daughter, Louise, were extremely hospitable and accommodating. They were very helpful with suggestions on places to eat and things to do on the island. We were made to feel very welcome.

Hunters is also very well-located: just a five-minute walk from the ferry terminal and in close proximity to convenience stores and a host of restaurants.

In summary, I would highly recommend Hunters to anyone visiting Arran. If we were to return to the island, Hunters would no doubt be our first choice. We really wouldn't even consider any other option. Make sure you get one of the rooms with a sea view!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

All round lovely experience. Caroline and Louise were the perfect hosts on hand for any questions etc.
The house itself is located minutes from the ferry, with stunning views ovr the bay and the mountains- snowcapped at our visit.
our room was sumptuous - a double turned into a twin, and so clean. The ensuite bathroom was luxurious with gorgeous fluffy towels. The only thing I would say is that they could be bigger. . But that is a comment not a criticism. Food was lovely and it was the perfect place to hide away from the weather and watch the olympics!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Service3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.0 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,208 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
955 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
769 reviews
0.0 mi away
Corrie Hotel
Corrie Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corrie
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ormidale Hotel
Ormidale Hotel
#6 of 16 in Brodick
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Guest House

Address: Shore Road, Brodick KA27 8AJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Brodick
Price Range: £79 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hunters Guest House is a family run, local business based in the center of Brodick. We have two suites with views across the Bay to the Castle and Goatfell where guest can relax and in the morning we are happy to offer room service breakfast. Double rooms and a single room are also available on a room only or bed and breakfast basis - breakfast is in our downstairs dining room with bay window. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hunters Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Guest House Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing