We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to stay on Arran”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Glenartney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Glenartney
Ranked #2 of 19 Brodick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“The place to stay on Arran”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Great place , loved it . Nice & handy but quiet too . Extremely clean & very nicely appointed . As much tea and coffee anytime you wanted it . We were leaving before breakfast but they left us a nice cold buffet to have as early as we wanted . Thanks '

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    63
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
44
174
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed here for six nights and can thoroughly recommend it as a great base from which to explore Arran. It is decorated and furnished to a high standard, is spotlessly clean and has two comfortable lounges for guests with lots of information on Arran, as well as a small bar. Our room was not particularly big, but excellent use had been made of the space and the view over the mountains and the bay towards Broderick Castle was stunning. The breakfasts here are wonderful - a good choice of fresh fruits and cereals, as well as a very high quality cooked breakfast. We found the owners and their staff very friendly and helpful. We greatly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 878MargaretEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had an excellent 1 night stay here.Room was very clean and comfortable with ensuite although on the small side with a tiny wardrobe space. Still there were no vacancies that evening. Breakfast was excellent with friendly efficient service. The location is good with wonderful views of the bay and Goat Fell

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myglassisfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Glenartney is a great B&B, extremely friendly and welcoming, immaculately clean, lovely breakfasts, and very accommodating of the dog. We would thoroughly recommend it to anyone visiting the beautiful Island of Arran (the mini heatwave helped!). We spent our time walking and spotting the island wildlife, no red squirrels to be seen until on our last morning one popped out of a tree right next to the Glenartney, you can't get service better than that!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rona_and_Nigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

If you are visiting Brodick on the beautiful Island of Arran stay here .It is a two minute walk to the harbour with beautiful beach and sea views. The rooms are cosy and spotlessly clean. The breakfast is formidable and you will not leave hungry. There is a little bar for evening refreshment and a lovely television lounge plus another sitting room for the exclusive use of guests . Buy some placemats and coasters designed by the hostess ( an artist) to remind you of you visit all year round .

Room Tip: Choose one with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Have just spent another 5 glorious days in Arran,staying again in this lovely house perfectly situated in a quiet location in the heart of Brodick within walking distance of the pier,eating places and shops.The rooms are very clean and tastefully decorated with stunning views from house and gardens over the mountains and Bay. Breakfasts are second to none and a great way to start the day before enjoying the delight that is Arran. The garden seating area is the place to be,relaxing on a fine evening after a day out or at night to watch the fabulous sunsets over the mountains.
Hopefully we will return soon whenever we hear The Call of Arran again.

Room Tip: Room 6 is a Beautiful twin bedded room with lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Lovely location and easy to find . Cosy room as predicted but clean and fresh and will be really great when the painting is finished! The breakfast was wellcooked and there was a great selection to choose from served by friendly staff .the facilities were really good but didn't spend a great deal of time indoors as weather good. However we were lucky and feel if we had needed to be indoors as more, this would have been okay as guest lounge spaces were well decorated and comfortable , games, books and a tv etc . Garden has a large bush right in front of seating area which is a shame as view from there could be amazing ! WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TO OTHERS?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.5 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#3 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ormidale Hotel
Ormidale Hotel
#4 of 19 in Brodick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenartney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenartney

Property: The Glenartney
Address: Mayish Road, Brodick KA27 8BX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Brodick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenartney 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dramatically diverse landscapes make Arran an ideal destination for both adventurous and relaxing breaks. Hannah and Ross welcome you to the Glenartney. We pride ourselves on our personal service and together with our friendly team, our aim is to make your stay with us as enjoyable as it can be. From the locally sourced produce used in our breakfasts, to the two guest lounges, home baking and a place to store and dry your sports equipment, the Glenartney is a real home from home. Our 12 bedrooms include everything you need for a comfortable stay. Free WiFi, tea & coffee making facilities, TV, hair dryer and Arran Aromatics toiletries are provided in our rooms. With stunning views across Brodick bay and the surrounding hills, the Glenartney provides a great base to explore Arran. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Glenartney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenartney Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing