We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as Good As We Had Hoped!”
Review of Auchrannie Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Auchrannie Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not as Good As We Had Hoped!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We booked a weekend package including ferry and food. It did not get off to the best of starts when we arrived at the ferry terminal and they had no record of our booking! They had to phone through to the hotel to have it confirmed which left us waiting for about 10mins. What if the ferry had been full?

On arrival we thought the signage could have been clearer to differentiate between the House Hotel and the Spa resort. As it was we went into the reception of the House Hotel to be told our booking was at the Spa resort across the road.

The room was nicely appointed and very clean although not really luxury if I were honest although there was some nice Arran Aromatic toiletries in the bathroom. The problem we had was that we found on both nights the room to be hot and stuffy and we both had broken sleep, not ideal when sleep and relaxation is what you come here for! The window only opened about 1" so there was no way to control the temperature. Also for such a new building the floors were very creaky so we head every footstep above us!!

The Spa was nice enough although I was surprised at the lack of a jacuzzi in the Spa resort (although one in the House Hotel) which is normally a given for a resort of this standard. Also as others have said, strange access having to either walk right through the middle of the restaurant or outside in the wind and rain.

Our biggest grumble was our visit to Brambles restaurant. It was my birthday so it was supposed to be the highlight of the weekend. My starter was cold, my wife's steak was cold and overcooked and the standard of food was in general fairly poor given the prices we were paying. 2 star service at 5 star prices!

In terms of service, the staff were really friendly and helpful but sadly seemed lacking in training and it was clear to us many were vocational employees. This was witnessed in the Cruize restaurant on the first night when the wrong starter was presented and in Brambles where the service was sadly lacking in professionalism! Clearing plates before we had finished eating, reaching across my wife's food to retrieve a glass, no one said thank you or goodbye as we were left to retrieve our own coats from the coat stand (having placed them there ourselves as well).

In summary, just disappointed! Was expecting so much more given the price we paid and our high expectations. It's a nice enough place and very family/dog friendly which we liked but we would really have to think long and hard about returning. Sorry Auchrannie!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PilotBoy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RS_General_Manager, Manager at Auchrannie Resort, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thanks for posting a review. I was disappointed that we did not live up to your expectations, and I apologise for this. We did have a number of new employees, and it appears that our training could be improved, and I have passed your comments onto the relevant departments. I do hope that you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,651
    311
    93
    28
    18
See reviews for
850
753
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ayrshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Fabulous lodges, very spacious with everything supplied. Great staff cant do enough for you. We dined in on one night with a delivery from Cruise restaurant. Great food and very hot. Very relaxing and quiet despite the hotel and Spa being fully booked. Free transfers from Ferry terminal there and back. Happy to take our bags and we walked down to meet the Ferry.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mokel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

great place to go for a relaxing break, facilities are excellent and rooms are of a very high standard. We stayed in the spa resort but the hotel looks equally as nice. Just a 5 min walk till you are in the town, lots of nice wee pubs and places to eat if you fancy a change from the resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Our second visit and I can't rave about the place enough .We had a small issue with a dog barking in a room on our floor ...not a problem to the staff at auchrannie they moved us over to the main house ,and may I add it was a suite they moved us to .It was lush .Service again was fantastic ,food amazing .Alittle tip the black pudding and chiritzo salad was awesome .Cant wait until our next visit .Thank you once again auchrannie your staff are a credit to you .

Room Tip: Suite in main house room 21 amazing .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
larkhall
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Excellent accommodation. modern, clean and friendly. Good restaurants with good choices. Spa facilities well equipped and spotless. Hotel even provides umbrellers in rooms for use on rainy days, Good scenic location for walks, Arran Aromatics. Whisky Distilary and Harbour all close by. Mobile phone reception can be tempremental which is great for peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Ground floor in SPA Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helzlarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We have just enjoyed a two night stay at the Auchrannie Spa resort and enjoyed every minute of it. The food was excellent and the room very comfortable. Everyone was very friendly too. We took our black lab with us and there are many great walks. The view from the dining room window is great. Dinner is the Cruize restaurant was excellent and the staff very attentive.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

My 2nd stay here, with 2 friends, staff are lovely, room was very nice, only criticism of room was there were 3 of us, but only 2 of shortbread, water, toiletries, no big deal though! Beds very comfy!
Had dinner in brambles, lovely food & wine!
The weather was a bit wild and the ferries were on Amber alert, so we opted for an early breakfast so we could guarantee getting home, which was a shame, but that's one of these things in our beautiful country!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arleneallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.8 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
3.2 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
8.5 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kilmichael Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auchrannie Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auchrannie Resort

Property: Auchrannie Resort
Address: Auchrannie Road, Brodick KA27 8BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Auchrannie Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the beautiful isle of Arran lies the multi-award winning, family owned Auchrannie Resort. Auchrannie now consists of two four star hotels; the romantic and relaxing ‘House Hotel’ catering for couples and those wanting a more intimate experience whilst the contemporary ‘Spa Resort’ is popular with families and those prefer a more modern feel to their surroundings. In addition, the resort features 30 five-star self-catering lodges (sleeping up to 8 in total luxury and therefore perfect for the extended family), 3 outstanding, award winning restaurants and bars, 2 leisure centres both with pools, destination spa featuring treatments by ESPA and Ishga and an outdoor adventure centre. Arran is Scotland’s most accessible islands, often referred to as "Scotland in Miniature” due to the dramatic contrast between the hills and mountains in the north, and sweeping moorlands on the south of the island. A short 55 minute ferry journey off the Ayrshire coast, Arran is easily reachable by those arriving into any of central Scotland’s main airports as well as those travelling by car, train and coach. Whilst many tourists arrive on the island simply to kick back and relax, the island is packed with attractions and sights for visitors of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Auchrannie Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auchrannie Hotel Brodick
Auchrannie Resort Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing