We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but plenty of room for improvement”
Review of Auchrannie Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Auchrannie Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Certificate of Excellence
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good but plenty of room for improvement”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Having enjoyed staying at the Auchrannie in its earlier days and remembering the excellent food and service, I had high expectations when returning with my own family. In some cases they were met but in others I was disappointed.

I'm pleased to say that the Resort building provided roomy accommodation for the four of us and staff in Cruize were friendly and went the extra mile to make my son's birthday meal memorable. However, as other reviewers have noted, the building suffers from very creaky flooring and was quite uneven in our room. Most mornings I was awoken early by noise, which is not what you expect on holiday. The bins being emptied at 7:30am was particularly loud.

On arrival we were given four drink vouchers to compensate us for the view of building works from our bedroom but staff in Brambles were strict about only allowing for the smaller glass of wine, which resulted in confusion because the staff in Cruize had been more generous, and the ensuing discussion rather negated the gesture. After a couple of nights, I asked if we could be moved to a quieter room with a better view but the hotel was full. They asked if I could suggest any other means of compensation and I noted that on the first night we had drinks vouchers but said I would leave it to them to decide. Nothing was done, which I felt was a missed opportunity to surprise and delight us with a gesture.

We made use of the free WiFi but found it to be slow and unreliable so perhaps this should be upgraded to cope with the number of users.

I suspect we would return while our children are of an age that we can all benefit from the family oriented facilities but if the Auchrannie wants to live up to its branding that we should "beware" because it is "addictive" then the noise issues should be addressed and the customer service raised to its previous levels.

Room Tip: Due to the noisy flooring, I suspect the top floor of the Resort building would be preferable and al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debsorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,662
    314
    94
    28
    18
See reviews for
852
760
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have just returned from a 2night stay at Auchrannie Spa Resort.. From checking in to checking out everyone was very friendly & helpful. Our room was lovely & spacious & very comfortable, we had friends that were staying in the House hotel across the car park & their room was lovely too!
We dined both nights in the Brambles restaurant which was very good.. Plenty to choose from on the menu & the staff there were great. Breakfast again in the Brambles - enjoyed the 1st morning not too impressed the 2nd morning but was ok. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Arran, we really enjoyed our stay here & will definitely visit again soon!

Room Tip: The spa resort hotel rooms were bigger than the House Hotel rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minidriver72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The lodges are the perfect accommodation for families with small children. We had a bungalow lodge with no stairs to worry about. Lots of garden space for small children to play safely. The lodges are equipped with everything you could possibly need. The prefect holiday accommodation in a stunning location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
167 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Shared a 3 bed lodge (#10) with family and 2 dogs. Lodge quiet, well equipped and comfy. Bedrooms on ground floor and living room, kitchen and dining above. View from back of glen and mountains. Walkable into Brodick Center.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We spent one night here in the resort section of the hotel but felt that the hotel was somewhat overpriced, noisy and lacking in character. Our room was large and well equipped (even providing an umbrella which came in useful!) and our daughter had a good quality bed but there were the sounds of children running up and down and people chatting in the corridors outside until late in the evening.
We both had the monkfish in the Brambles Seafood restaurant for dinner but I'm afraid this had the watery taste indicative of pre-frozen fish. My daughter went for the mussels which, although generous in portion, were disappointing in flavour.
Breakfast was good with plenty of choice from cooked dishes to cold meats and cheeses, yogurts, cereal and fresh fruit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachel582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I've stayed a number of times at Auchrannie since 1989 in the old hotel, lodges, and resort hotel. First things first: it's good enough to have kept me coming back.

But unfortunately on our latest visit (to the Lodges) I found signs of tiredness: wallpaper peeling in the lodge, broken/rotting window frames, and a 'damp' air in the lodge that was difficult to shift, even after five days of hot weather. And the area around the lodges was starting to look in need of attention too - peeling paint and rust, stained external walls etc. And the view when walking back from the spa hotel to the lodges remains awful - basically looking at the hotel's bins and back doors - but that's been the case for many years.

Also disappointing was the service in Brambles - very slow to take our order, especially for dessert, and then twice we ordered things that were no longer on the menu or that "the kitchen was struggling to produce". That said the food was good when it arrived, if pricey for what it was.

Basically: the experience at Auchrannie is still good but the price now looks wrong. Either they need to invest money to spruce the place up and improve customer service to what you would expect for what, for our lodge, was effectively £300 per night. Or they need to drop the prices and acknowledge that they are appealing to a different clientele.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bones1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed at the Auchrannie Spa Resort in July for 5 nights and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The facilities were excellent, modern and extremely clean. The staff are extremely efficient, approachable and friendly. We especially enjoyed dining in the Cruize Bar. Louis and his management team and staff create an excellent atmosphere with wonderful food and service. Donna Quinn is the floor manager and has an amazing personality and she is extremely efficient and makes sure your service and meal are to the highest standard. Guests of all ages love her especially children. It is there attention to detail that makes the difference. The chef also cooks wonderful food for the children which I was really impressed with. We would recommend the restaurant and hotel to couples, friends and families as it caters for all different groups of people. We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.8 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
894 reviews
8.5 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
531 reviews
3.2 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,471 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
370 reviews
4.7 mi away
Corrie Hotel
Corrie Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corrie
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auchrannie Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auchrannie Resort

Property: Auchrannie Resort
Address: Auchrannie Road, Brodick KA27 8BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Auchrannie Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the beautiful isle of Arran lies the multi-award winning, family owned Auchrannie Resort. Auchrannie now consists of two four star hotels; the romantic and relaxing ‘House Hotel’ catering for couples and those wanting a more intimate experience whilst the contemporary ‘Spa Resort’ is popular with families and those prefer a more modern feel to their surroundings. In addition, the resort features 30 five-star self-catering lodges (sleeping up to 8 in total luxury and therefore perfect for the extended family), 3 outstanding, award winning restaurants and bars, 2 leisure centres both with pools, destination spa featuring treatments by ESPA and Ishga and an outdoor adventure centre. Arran is Scotland’s most accessible islands, often referred to as "Scotland in Miniature” due to the dramatic contrast between the hills and mountains in the north, and sweeping moorlands on the south of the island. A short 55 minute ferry journey off the Ayrshire coast, Arran is easily reachable by those arriving into any of central Scotland’s main airports as well as those travelling by car, train and coach. Whilst many tourists arrive on the island simply to kick back and relax, the island is packed with attractions and sights for visitors of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Auchrannie Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auchrannie Hotel Brodick
Auchrannie Resort Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing