We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting”
Review of Kildonan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kildonan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Kildonan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The hotel is situated very close to the beach with great views. Our room was very spacious and well appointed although the outside furniture needed painting. We enjoyed the big breakfast and the evening meals provided good pub food. There was music in the afternoon which we were encouraged to join in and the locals were very friendly. We booked via a groupon deal which proved excellent value. The only negative was the owner who could have been more friendly when asking us to remove our dog from the restaurant. Overall a good trip and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPG62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
There are newer reviews for Kildonan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Like a lot of reviewers we booked a 2 night break here via Groupon.In terms of value we were happy,but feel if we were not on a groupon deal we may have had a different opinion.
There are a lot of positives on the hotel,but also a few negatives.
First to the positives - perfect setting and location,good size bedrooms,friendly staff,comfy and clean beds,pet friendly, reasonable priced meals and decent breakfast choice.
On the negatives the heating in our bedroom was unpredictable,sometimes the bathroom radiator was on and the bedroom off. As a result on more than one occasion the room was quite cold.The bedroom furniture is a real mismatch in appearance and quality.The desk chair was very unsteady.
The bathroom window had no blinds or curtains although it was quite an open outlook.The bedroom windows had no curtains although they had poorly fitted venetian blinds which both had the open/close rod missing so no way of adjusting correctly.Tea and coffee facilities are available in the room although the coffee sachets are rationed to 2 regular sachets per day.When we approached the hotel mgt for more supplies in the afternoon we were informed they sold coffee in the bar ,whilst getting us another 2 sachets!
Overall I have rated as very good,although its prob somewhere between average and very good.With a little more attention,tlc and diplomacy from the mgt it could quite easily achieve a rating of between very good and excellent.
Would we go back here...yes if its on groupon promotion again,otherwise probably not.

Room Tip: find a room where heating is working correctly and where curtains or operational blinds are on the w...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imperialwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

With a bit of hesitation we booked this hotel through groupon but upgraded when booking. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised how wonderful and lucky we had been in choosing this hotel.
The views from the room and dining room were wonderful and we had to pinch ourselves to see if we were dreaming.
The food was straight forward but good value and well cooked.
Ryan and his team, especially Andrea ? were excellent. Some people moaned about the music in the dining room but we found it unobtrusive.
We took our dog and she enjoyed her regular walks on the beach early in the morning and in the evening. She was received without question.
We would strongly recommend the hotel and look forward to staying again.
Rob and Linda

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank SheffieldRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have just returned from 3 nights at the hotel. The staff are exceptional, welcoming and willing to go the extra mile for visitors. Being vegetarians we could have had a limited menu but after our first meal (we ate at the hotel every evening) we were asked if we had any preferences and the staff met our requests including a beautiful sweet curry made with mangoes and bananas. It is so rare to have such exceptional service and we travel regularly. Breakfasts superb again plenty of choices for all tastes. The room was lovely, clean with a small sitting area and the view from the balcony was superb. Bed really comfortable. The shore area around the hotel enabled us to enjoy seeing seals basking everyday and the highlight for nature spotting was watching two sea otters playing on the rocks in front of the hotel. We walked to Eas Mor waterfall from the hotel along the shore line, superb do visit "library" at the top of the waterfall. Glenashdale Waterfall was a short drive from hotel. The hotel, area and welcome made the holiday perfect. Our thanks to everyone for making it a pleasure. We would hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marj47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My partner and I booked ourselves two nights at the Kildonan H. We had a room number 14, which had no view, was small, with poorly looking bathroom. Not a quality i would have expected considering the price you have to pay to stay here. First night we ordered food and had to wait for an hour and 15 minutes to be served (half cold) meal. Breakfast was the poorest one i have seen in a long time. The nearby campsite looked more cosy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MCfromEdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KildonanHotel1, Manager at Kildonan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Room 14 is the last room in the hotel that we offer to guests as it has no view. It has windows but the room is located centrally within the building and is one of 2 rooms which are roof facing. Although it is a favorite by many guests as it's such a cozy room. We always explain at the time of booking that unfortunately the room hasn't got a view so one should not be surprised to not have one. The bathroom is well lit with full facilities and being in a room less used means fitting are like new.
On checking on the timings of the service of your meals, you were sitting outside on a breezy day which probably cooled your meal fast quite fast when it was served 30 mins after ordering, a little longer then usual for us on a busy day as it was but not an uncommon time to wait for freshly cooked food. You did check on the progress of your meal in the bar about 20 mins after ordering, our records do show ordering and served times to avoid any ambiguity, although time does stand still here so perhaps 30 mins seemed like an hour and 30 mins. Our music is appreciated and complimented on by most and is an easy listening selection hand-picked to be unobtrusive and compliment the views played through a high quality Bang & Olufsen sound system. £79 for 2 nights including a fresh,made to order breakfast is great value for money in my books.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We were on the three night Groupon deal and had upgraded to room 8 which must be the best room in the hotel with balcony and superb views. On arrival we were a bit concerned about the large T sign and neon which we feel lowers the tone of this very good hotel. Dining was reasonably priced and certainly adequate. There was a good wine list. Breakfasts were substantial. We found the music in the dining room each morning rather obtrusive.
We can see what some reviewers mean about need for some refurbishment but certainly would not agree that the place was dirty. We found it very clean. On the whole we had an extremely pleasant stay and hope to visit again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rals2nM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

To enter the from the car park we went through the bar with the neon 'OPEN' sign in the window. Get the picture? That night after meeting friends in Brodick, we found the bar door closed @approx. 11pm. We eventually found the door into the restaurant open (no lighting). The full breakfast had an undercooked fried egg so next morning I asked for scrambled. It hadn't been whisked properly, big chunks of whit, plus the burnt scrapings from the pan! The place boasts of redevelopment but the hotel is definitely TIRED! There was a hole in the bathroom door between 2 hooks and some of the tiling had been 're-grouted' either by a 5 year old or a drunk!. Wouldn't go back or recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janetta6447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kildonan
9.5 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,191 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
576 reviews
6.4 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
938 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
421 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Lagg Hotel
The Lagg Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilmory
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildonan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildonan Hotel

Address: Kildonan | Isle of Arran, Kildonan KA27 8SE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Kildonan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kildonan
Price Range: £83 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kildonan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind and forget your troubles at our small, family run hotel. Built in the 17th Century, it is one of the 7th oldest licensed Inns in Scotland and historically a destination that families have aspired to visit for well over 100 years. Perched on the southern-most tip of Arran with panoramic views to die for, the hotel is located right on the seafront, the beach literally stone's throw away. Overlooking the Firth of Clyde we are right in the middle of a unique eco-system with a plethora of wildlife. We have seals basking daily on the rock jetties off-shore, otters feeding and playing on the rocks and gannets diving non-stop through the day. We are also fortunate to have occasional basking sharks and dolphins visiting in the summer months and an array of birds-of-prey including eagles, peregrines, buzzards and more... Pladda Island sits directly across the sound with its recognisable lighthouse and ever changing silhouette playing host to a large colony of seagulls and gannets. And of course the famous Ailsa Craig, 'Paddy's Milestone', a bird sanctuary now but is renowned for its granite which is still used for curling stones today. The interior is fully refurbished, still maintaining some the quaint characteristics of old, while the tasteful addition of extended bistro and lounge area with floor to ceiling windows allow residents and diners to gaze for miles over a cup of tea, breakfast or an evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Kildonan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kildonan Hotel Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing