We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we finally discovered this wonderful hotel”
Review of Kildonan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kildonan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Kildonan B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So glad we finally discovered this wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We holiday regularly on Arran and have never before even considered checking what this lovely hotel had to offer. So glad we finally did. Service was excellent in all areas - from cleaning of room to bar/reception/restaurant. Double room with living area and balcony was spacious and decorated to a very high standard with extremely comfortable bed. Location was fabulous with excellent sea views and very quiet at night. There was a shop in the hotel, so getting a morning newspaper presented no problem. Food was varied and delicious. Would certainly return here.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmeldrum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    161
    68
    27
    19
See reviews for
111
250
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Stayed in suite- only by chance as group of 12 so pot luck with which key we got! Plenty space & well decorated- Tv didn't work which was no problem as sat on balcony.
Weather was good so had fine views when having pint & food after days walk from Blackwaterfoot.
Staff helpful & very patient with our- not the quietest- group.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We had to partially arrange our wedding from Bangkok and the Kildonan Hotel were incredibly helpful from the start. Dealing with them over a long distance is no problem. From the very moment we arrived the hotel staff made everyone very welcome. All rooms were in perfect order and the Anne had arranged a bonfire on the beach as promised. The bonfire and burgers went down well setting everyone up nicely for the wedding day on the Saturday. Due to the wind the ceremony was held inside but that wasn't a problem at all. The sun came out and everyone went outside for some stunning pictures due to the lovely location. The meal and evening reception was flawless. The meal service was great and everyone received their steak (or chicken or Salmon) exactly the way they ordered it. A huge thank you to Anne, Rod and their team for all their hard work and for making our day perfect.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anson71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2010

On our third visit to this Hotel we were in room 17 adapted for disabled access and found it extremely comfortable and fit for purpose. The staff service was extremely friendly and helpful and the food was excellent with a good bar menu as well as an excellent diningroom, Our room led out to a private patio area which offered a sea view and the hotel frontage offered the most comfortable and relaxing environment you could wish for. Our friends occupied room 16 which also offered them every comfort they required with very nice sittingroom area within. We would encourage anybody looking to holiday in Arran to consider staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2010

This hotel which is located on the southern end of Arran has the most wonderful views of Pladda and Ailsa. The hotel is a literal stone's throw from a gorgeous beach where you can watch seals, gannets diving and a plethora of other birds. In short it is hard to imagine a more idyllic location. The hotel makes full use of this by having its dining room set so that one can fully enjoy the view thrugh the large glass windows. It also provides several of the rooms with either a patio or a balcony (a feature which makes this - rarely these days - a smoker-friendly hotel!) from where the views can be enjoyed.

The hotel and rooms have been completely redecorated in a somewhat quirky style which seemed to mix the Mediterranean and South American (though I am no style expert and may have this wrong: it definitely is NOT traditional Scottish however).

As far as food is concerned you have a choice of either eating in the bar with a fairly standard but well-done range of bar meals or fine dining in the restaurant. We tried and were delighted with both.

The staff, mainly European, were friendly and helpful.

As far as criticism is concerned it would have been helpful to have had some instruction on the room heating system and the operation of the television. Also the breakfast menu was a little odd in that it did not seem possible to have cereal/porridge and a cooked breakfast - these were presented as an either/or.

However the wonderful location, very good food, interesting decor, friendly staff and the excellent patio/balcony feature (I would check you are booking a room with one of these) far outweigh these minor problems.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milordbyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We travelled to this hotel for a wedding over the May bank holiday. The view as we approached from the cliff was Exquisite with the sea coming up against the hotel and the light house off on a nearby rock. The Car park area was not much but the bar, used by the locals and local campsite was welcoming and served good quality bar food. We were shown to our room on the ground floor (room 16) a suite with a communal patio. There we had a pleasant Gin & tonic in the evening sun, looking out across the bay. In the evening there was live music in the bar and a good old fashioned highland atmosphere. The bed was comfortable if a bit restrictive walking around. The suite area had a two seater settee , coffee table and large scene TV. The bathroom was sufficient but standing in the bath to shower was restrictive. The standard of the room was fine good 3star. However note that mobile phones could not get a signal.

That night we ate in the restaurant, with a grand view of the bay and the light house. Not sure where some of the other reviews were seated but the views for us were fine. Good food however the servings were on the large side. Pleasant surroundings, good food and a lovely spring sun set (Too cold to go outside however).

The next day, we got up and walked about 2 miles into the nearby village and then to the further bay. We stopped at the two waterfalls and then on the rocks to view the Seals at close quarters. We got to about 40 feet away before they worried about our presence. Some great photos.

On the Saturday afternoon, we attended the wedding. Go traditional Scottish wedding, outside in the purpose built Gazebo. The sun came out and this made for a great event. Then pictures on the lawn with the fantastic views behind. Truly a lovely place for our friends to start their married life together. Back to the restaurant for the wedding breakfast. 60+ guests and a choice of three for each course. Then delivered hot, on time and together. I have been to many large gathering before were there has been no choice and service at different times. Not here, all served together and plenty of choice, vegetarian, meat dishes, fish of course. Well done the Chilean Chef. A band in the evening from Glasgow as there is not much choice on the island. However most people would not dream of coming here for nightlife.
On the Sunday we walked up Goat Fell to work of the full Scottish Breakfasts, kippers or porridge. Again a delight.

All in all, not a fine dining venue or 5 star; but a very pleasant stay overlooking some beautiful beaches, good sunsets and a slow romantic gathering for a great wedding venue. Always made better for the couple when 60 friends and family can witness the ceremony and have a great stay at the same time. £100 a night B&B (in or view worth every penny).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marathonrunner-ha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

I have stayed on Arran for many years but moved away so as a birthday treat I went back to the Island and stayed at the Kildonaon hotel fortwo nights.
This really is the most senic hotel on the island and after a day in the hills it was amaizng to sit with a nice bottle of wine and look out on to Pladda and Aisle Of Craig.
The room was nicley decorated, clean and commfy beds - what more do you want.
There are two dinning options - the bar and restuarant and we dinned in both which where both amazing - Rod Im still dreaming about the Arran gold Cheesecake !!
The manager Paris was so friendly and helpfull and I cant wait to return back to the Kildonan

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Janey027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kildonan
9.5 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,159 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
567 reviews
6.4 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
924 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Lagg Hotel
The Lagg Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilmory
244 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildonan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildonan Hotel

Property: Kildonan Hotel
Address: Kildonan | Isle of Arran, Kildonan KA27 8SE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Kildonan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kildonan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kildonan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind and forget your troubles at our small, family run hotel. Built in the 17th Century, it is one of the 7th oldest licensed Inns in Scotland and historically a destination that families have aspired to visit for well over 100 years. Perched on the southern-most tip of Arran with panoramic views to die for, the hotel is located right on the seafront, the beach literally stone's throw away. Overlooking the Firth of Clyde we are right in the middle of a unique eco-system with a plethora of wildlife. We have seals basking daily on the rock jetties off-shore, otters feeding and playing on the rocks and gannets diving non-stop through the day. We are also fortunate to have occasional basking sharks and dolphins visiting in the summer months and an array of birds-of-prey including eagles, peregrines, buzzards and more... Pladda Island sits directly across the sound with its recognisable lighthouse and ever changing silhouette playing host to a large colony of seagulls and gannets. And of course the famous Ailsa Craig, 'Paddy's Milestone', a bird sanctuary now but is renowned for its granite which is still used for curling stones today. The interior is fully refurbished, still maintaining some the quaint characteristics of old, while the tasteful addition of extended bistro and lounge area with floor to ceiling windows allow residents and diners to gaze for miles over a cup of tea, breakfast or an evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Kildonan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kildonan Hotel Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing