We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but if the staff looked more cheerful it would have helped” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Pier Tearoom

The Old Pier Tearoom
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Lamlash
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“OK but if the staff looked more cheerful it would have helped”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Had read great reviews of this place so was fired up for something special. For sure the menu looked enticing but when we popped in on a rainy Saturday the staff looked like the weather. I don't think the serving staff smiled once at us and I was brusquely asked to move when I was paying as I was in the way of another waitress (which I didn't see as she was behind me). So it could have been a nice experience but I won't go out of my way to revisit. There are better places on Arran.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geodruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    67
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great start to the day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Lots of breakfast choices and a warm and friendly welcome. Their scones are worth a visit for!! treacle and fruit in the one scone yum yum

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Best food in Arran. Always have selection of wheat free. Small cafe but great food. Well worth a few visits while on Arran.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely little cafe! Cakes to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely service, great coffee and cakes to die for. Just wish they did evening meals as there doesn't seem to be anywhere that does food like this past 5pm.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Lovely simple lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Pretty much summed up by the title. I had a gorgeous vegetarian pie with egg and lentil in and a simple side salad. My wife had the cheesiest cheese scone ever and the kids had cake and milkshake. All in all really very nice

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DRB380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Pier Tearoom also viewed

Lamlash, Isle of Arran
Machrie, Isle of Arran
 
Brodick, Isle of Arran
Lamlash, Isle of Arran
 
Lamlash, Isle of Arran
Brodick, Isle of Arran
 

Been to The Old Pier Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing