We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, small rooms, very good breakfast”
Review of Glenisle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glenisle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lamlash
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed here for one night as part of a short tour with my Mum and Dad of Arran and Argyll. We paid £121 for the double room and £78 for the single (B&B). I consider this to be quite expensive, even for August on Arran, and feel £100 and £60 would be closer to the mark. But the hotel was very nice. The rooms were small but very beautifully done out. The tea and coffee facilities in the room were generously supplied, which is rare nowadays. The breakfast was excellent, with good fresh food and generous portions. We also had dinner in the restaurant, which was generally a good experience: the burgers were top quality and huge, but my Dad's fish (and chips) was a bit small and - in an irritating nod to fashion - wrapped in newspaper.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheProfessor34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

635 - 641 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

Wonderful weekend everything about this hotel was exceptional from the moment we arrived until we left cant thank Geoffrey and his staff enough .Food ,Hospitallity and lovely room with a stunning view all first class we will definitely return.No one staying here could ever fimd fault in this wonderful haven.

Room Tip: Get aroom with a view truly exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobby r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

As part of our 2-day roadtrip on the Isle of Arran we decided to stay at the Glenisle on account of the excellent reviews it had received. We were not disappointed. Geoffrey was a friendly, welcoming and courteous host who seemed to go out of his way to assist all comers.
Apart from him, we met the other staff members who were all extremely polite and really forthcoming. The breakfast was excellent - rarely does my friend have a second breakfast - and we send our compliments to the chef. The dinner dish of scallops was also delicious.
I would recommend this hotel without reservation and hopefully, we'll be back someday!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renata R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

A beautiful and special hotel run to an extremely high standard by caring and sophisticated staff. We were fortunate enough to hold our wedding breakfast at The Glenisle and nothing was too much trouble from the moment we arrived. The location is wonderful with stunning views over to The Holy Isle. The hotel has a vibrant and thriving restaurant that serves a wide range of tasty and interesting food. And the best bit... the premiere suite...any brides dream. It added a touch of magic to my wedding day.
Thank you for making us feel so welcome. We will never forget you.
Katherine and Kenny

Room Tip: It has to be the premier suite, it's absolutely stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We had a fantastic 2 night stay in the premier suite of this beautiful hotel. The views from this room are superb. We were not let down by any aspect of the service, staff or food and the whole hotel was very clean and tastefully decorated. We will return and have recommended staying in the Glenisle to others. Arran is a fantastic island and the staff were knowledgable about local hill walks.

Room Tip: Definitely room 14 which is the premier suite in the attic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bestnewsagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

This is a really beautiful hotel. It is in a lovely spot, overlooking Lamlash Bay. The decor is subtle, relaxing and beautifully done. Rooms are well thought out, immaculately clean and comfortable. Service was friendly, warm, helpful and efficient but in no way overbearing - it was completely natural good service. The food was lovely with an enticing menu. I heard from the locals that the hotel does a lot in the local community. In short, hoteliers from the whole UK, especially London, should come here to see how it is done. And it is amazingly good value. If a service like this can be provided on a remote Scottish island at these prices - why can't it be provided in big cities where costs are cheaper? In London this hotel would be charging treble the prices at least.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OceanSprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We had a two-night stay at the Glenisle as a stopover from Islay on our way to Glasgow. We had stayed there once before, several years ago, and were pleased with the upgrades and refurbishing that had taken place. We had a lovely, spacious room overlooking the bay. We didn't take dinner in the restaurant, but the breakfasts were superb. All the staff were friendly and attentive. We had a chat with one of the owners over breakfast about jazz music.

Lamlash is five minutes from the ferry tothe mainland, but much more quiet and less touristy than Brodick. Much nicer place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WyomingCooboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamlash
3.2 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,793 reviews
8.3 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
600 reviews
3 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#2 of 3 in Brodick
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Portavadie Loch Fyne
Portavadie Loch Fyne
#1 of 1 in Portavadie
746 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
18.7 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenisle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenisle Hotel

Address: Shore Road, Lamlash KA27 8LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Lamlash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lamlash
Price Range: £93 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenisle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming, ancient island inn is now an award-winning boutique hotel. Nestled in the charming village of Lamlash the hotel boasts one of the most beautiful locations on the Isle of Arran; looking across Lamlash Bay toward the Holy Isle which rises 1,000 feet out of the sea. The Glenisle was honoured at the 2011 Scottish Hotel Awards, scooping up a Gold Medal for hospitality as well as the prestigious Rising Star Small Hotel award. Once you have experienced Arran from the comfort of the Glenisle Hotel you might find yourself, like so many others, coming back year after year for a regular break which both relaxes and revitalises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Glenisle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenisle Hotel Lamlash, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing