We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality”
Review of Glenisle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glenisle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lamlash
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

First time at Isle of Arran and it will not be the last. And it has partly to do with my stay at the Glenisle Hotel. From the minute I walked in to the last seconds walking out it is all about service. Hence the last day, did not reserve a table and it was fully booked ... "Sir .. we kept you a table", yes that is service. Room was a bit small and breakfast is not very special (not even Arran Cheese ..) but rest is all rather good and for sure pleasurable. Thanks. Will be back.

Room Tip: Take the front room, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hpkok2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here on my first ever visit to Arran. I haven't stopped raving about it to my friends since! Superbly presented hotel, wonderful friendly staff, 5 star gastro gourmet food and the hotel rooms were excellent. The wine menu was also extensive and the Merlot we had at a very reasonable price of £15.99 was one of the best I have tasted. You would pay for Merlot in a 3 star hotel back in England!I stayed in a single room as was travelling with friends. It was kitted out with everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel! The shortbread was amazing! The views across the bay to Holy Island were spectacular. I would without doubt return again to this hotel and to Lamlash. Thank you to all

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

All the reviews posted reflect our experience of this hotel. Very comfortable, friendly, lovely ambiance and good food. If there was a half mark off it would be for breakfast. For the non cooked breakfast people, a croissant would have been a lovely option with the Arran whisky marmalade. But a small detail. Would go back and next time hope the sun shines!.

Room Tip: superior room recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upgrader55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We've just returned from an Easter weekend at this lovely hotel. We stayed in a "cosy double" and although it was bijoux it was beautifully decorated & very comfortable with a lovely modern bathroom. Our room had a decent view of the bay even though we were at the side of the hotel, and binoculars are supplied in each room to help spot seals and other interesting wildlife.
Breakfast was a little slow on the first morning as only one waitress was serving. When it did arrive, however, everything was freshly cooked and delicious. We also had lunch and dinner in the restaurant and the food was great, I'd definitely eat here again.
All staff were welcoming and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonneclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed for three nights in the Glenisle hotel.The rooms, a single and cosy double were both very comfortable and beautifully decorated. All the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. We had dinner as well as breakfast at the hotel and were not disappointed with the quality of any of the meals. Also some of the dishes were offered as small portions which suited my mother. Highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank srbio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We had a very pleasant long weekend stay at the Glenisle. The owners and staff were so courteous and helpful, the room was beautiful with the best of furnishings and finishings, and the food was outstanding. We couldn't fault it at all - and of course the views from our room over the Holy Isle were stunning.

Room Tip: We had the Premier Suite and would highly recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotlandDiscerning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Food was good, staff were lovely, room was well equipped, and had nice touches. Downside was the rooms were small on the top floor - you wouldn't want to book one if you're too tall! Overall a good place to stay

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ranger14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamlash
3.2 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,749 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#2 of 3 in Brodick
963 reviews
8.3 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#2 of 2 in West Kilbride
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
452 reviews
2.9 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#3 of 6 in Whiting Bay
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenisle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenisle Hotel

Address: Shore Road, Lamlash KA27 8LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Lamlash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lamlash
Price Range: £104 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenisle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming, ancient island inn is now an award-winning boutique hotel. Nestled in the charming village of Lamlash the hotel boasts one of the most beautiful locations on the Isle of Arran; looking across Lamlash Bay toward the Holy Isle which rises 1,000 feet out of the sea. The Glenisle was honoured at the 2011 Scottish Hotel Awards, scooping up a Gold Medal for hospitality as well as the prestigious Rising Star Small Hotel award. Once you have experienced Arran from the comfort of the Glenisle Hotel you might find yourself, like so many others, coming back year after year for a regular break which both relaxes and revitalises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glenisle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenisle Hotel Lamlash, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing