We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glensile Hotel Arran”
Review of Glenisle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glenisle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lamlash
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel was excellent, room lovely clean and so comfortable it was spotless.
Breakfast excellent plenty of choice and very nicely presented.
We were in room 5 no complaints with it at all would have been nice to have sea view but hotel fully booked could not get sea view but having been there we understand why it was fully booked.
Staff very attentive and friendly made you feel very welcome and happy to look after you.
Excellent location right on the beach .
Dinner at night was very tasty we had dinner four nights and each meal was very good.
I would recommend this hotel great for nice quiet break 10-10
Would certainly go back again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allyson F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

We loved our little cosy room on the third floor....just perfect for us since we do not require anything more than a clean room, good bed and nice light....all of which were here PLUS a beautiful view! Great location for strolling on the beach. The smoked salmon I had for lunch was incredible, as were our breakfasts. The staff was most delightful and helpful in offering us sightseeing tips. Would definitely stay here again if we are lucky enough to travel to Scotland in the future!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel is wonderful. Great location, friendly staff - to each other, and to all the guests - and excellent, beautifully presented food.
We stayed in room 14, a real delight. Quirky, but very comfortable. Everywhere was spotless too. Would return in an instant.

Room Tip: The Premier room at the top, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Popped in with family for lunch as always looked busy. Not disappointed had the fish goujons which were lovely. Friendly service and a great location. Seating area outside to enjoy the lovely views to the sea. :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swampduck66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

What a find! The Glenisle is a wonderful hotel. We had a great room at the front over looking Holy Island, such a wonderful view. The bed was so comfortable bed (just a few months old, I was told) and the whole ambience was friendly and welcoming. We had dinner on 2 nights of our 3 night stay and thought the food was good value for money and very well prepared and presented. One of our party had some food allergies and the staff were happy to make sure the food was safe for her to eat. Breakfast was lovely although I was told the scrambled egg did not quite meet the mark.
Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend the Glenisle.

Room Tip: Room 1 is a great size with wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roselilyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at the Glenisle Hotel for 3 nights in early June and the hotel is without doubt a lovely hotel in a superb location on Arran. The public areas are very tastefully decorated and very welcoming. Staff, on the whole, were friendly, polite and accommodating. Breakfast was very nice and the two evening meals we ate there were very tasty, although I was a little surprised to be served just 2 tiny pieces of bread with my ploughman's board, which having paid over £10 for it, I thought was extremely stingy - more was provided upon request, although a little begrudgingly! We stayed in Room 8, which is at the back of the hotel and was very quiet as this is what we had requested. The room was a reasonable size and very clean, although a couple of things in the bathroom could do with updating. However, we did encounter a problem with the room in that the mattress on the bed wasn't very comfortable and was clearly at the end of its life. The problem was eventually resolved to our satisfaction and the remainder of our stay was very pleasant. We were told that the hotel is in the process of upgrading mattresses where necessary and so hopefully the tired mattresses have now been replaced. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would consider the hotel if we return to Arran. In addition to eating in the hotel restaurant, we also ate at the Drift Inn which was very good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderersCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyArran, Owner at Glenisle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and I was very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable time staying at the Glenisle, and that you found our staff welcoming and helpful.
You did, however, comment on a couple of issues that I thought I would let you know what I have done about.
The first was the mattress for the bed. I am pleased to tell you that we have now replaced all the mattresses in our guest bedrooms. We replace our mattresses every few years and earlier this year had purchased a few from a new supplier to make sure that our guest found them comfortable. We have had a lot of feedback from guests who have found them very comfortable. As a result we have now replaced all our mattresses with the new ones.
I am sorry that you found the original mattress on your bed too soft, but am pleased that we did manage to resolve it for you. I will ensure that we keep a close eye on the condition of our mattresses, which are so important to the quality of a guest's stay, to ensure that the current set of mattresses maintain their current level of comfort.
You also mentioned that the ploughman’s did not come with enough bread. I apologise if you thought that the server was a bit grudging, as we are always very happy to provide additional bread to guests having any dish that has a bread accompaniment. I can see that we need to make that clearer to our guests and will remind all our serving staff to ask everybody if any additional bread is required.
If you would like to discuss anything about your stay with me please do get in touch. I look forward to seeing you again the next time you come to Arran.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Glenisle last night for work, can't fault anything. Staff are so nice and chatty and willing to accommodate you. I'm on a strict diet and making changes to the menu items was not a problem. The rooms are beautiful and really comfortable and clean. The breakfast buffet has juices, cereal and jams and your cooked breakfast is cooked fresh to order and must say the best scrambled eggs I've ever had :-)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank coopiecooperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamlash
3.2 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,792 reviews
8.3 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
599 reviews
3 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#2 of 3 in Brodick
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Portavadie Loch Fyne
Portavadie Loch Fyne
#1 of 1 in Portavadie
745 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
18.7 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenisle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenisle Hotel

Address: Shore Road, Lamlash KA27 8LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Lamlash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lamlash
Price Range: £91 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenisle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming, ancient island inn is now an award-winning boutique hotel. Nestled in the charming village of Lamlash the hotel boasts one of the most beautiful locations on the Isle of Arran; looking across Lamlash Bay toward the Holy Isle which rises 1,000 feet out of the sea. The Glenisle was honoured at the 2011 Scottish Hotel Awards, scooping up a Gold Medal for hospitality as well as the prestigious Rising Star Small Hotel award. Once you have experienced Arran from the comfort of the Glenisle Hotel you might find yourself, like so many others, coming back year after year for a regular break which both relaxes and revitalises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Glenisle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenisle Hotel Lamlash, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing