We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Break”
Review of Glenisle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glenisle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lamlash
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Summer Break”
Reviewed 26 June 2010

This Hotel has the "wow" factor! The refurbishment has been done superbly, with the decor and furnishings being of very high quality. Our room was amazing, however, we did get a sneaky look at the Superior Suite, which was AMAZING! A fantastic room with a roll-top bath, with a STUNNING view of the bay and the Isle.

The restaurant lives up to the high standards demonstrated by the rest of the hotel. The food is excellent and good value. They even catered for the special dietry requirements required by my wife.

The staff are very friendly and attentive, with good humour and a personal touch rarely seen these days. Nothing is a problem, and have complimented our staying experience greatly.

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel - simply excellent!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidcloake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    102
    19
    0
    1
See reviews for
91
473
38
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

The hotel is superbly located on a beautiful island. We initially booked only for one night, but on enjoying our stay so much, decided on another night. Fortunately we could be accommodated, but with a change of room which was done fairly seamlessly. Both rooms we stayed in have been very recently upgraded. The dining room serves excellent meals with very warm and friendly service. The staff are very bright and cheery and added to the presentation of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Have_Bag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
japan
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Great hotel stunning location on the shores od Lamlash Bay. Great rooms great breakfast and lovely meals on a evening. This is our second stay here and would recomment to everybody.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank japan2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2010

This is a very good small hotel of the type we like a lot! It is extremely well run and has a very good restaurant offering limited choice and daily specials. Given the restaurant choice on Scottish Islands it is fairly priced and very good quality, although perhaps not for every night of a four night stay. ( If you like seafood try Creelers in Brodick for an alternative). Breakfast was distinctly average I am afraid...limited buffet selection ( no yoghurts), frozen kipper fillets masquerading as fresh kippers ...really. ...although the cooked selection was just about OK. The room was lovely with an excellent bathroom...we had a superior one on the front but here is the downside...that lovely new room that everyone talks about is right above and you can hear every word and floor squeak! We did not sleep well for 3 out of the 4 nights and to cap it all the guests upstairs got up one morning and left their alarm on and went out! We had 5 minutes of alarm call at 7.15 am, not what we wanted on our holidays. The owners are charming and were very sympathetic...not much they can do about it I guess ...but improving the floor sound insulation would be a start. Overall very good - and despite all that I would go back but cannot rate it up there with the best. I think I would go for one of the standard rooms at the back overlooking the garden next time and not pay the extra for the view.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinhood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyLondon, Owner at Glenisle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2010
We welcome comments from our guests and use them as an opportunity to improve the hotel. We had taken steps to minimise sound transmission between rooms when the hotel was refurbished, therefore, we were very concerned that these guests had been disturbed by the sound of other guests in the Premier room above their superior room. So, we took the Premier suite out of action for a few days so that we could take up all the floor boards, install extra sound insulation under the floor boards, relay the floor using new flooring (so no squeaks) and fit a top quality sound reducing layer under the carpets. When we asked subsequent guests about sound from the room above they reported that everything was fine.
We have also taken the opportunity to review our breakfasts and we now offer yoghurts to go with our selection of fresh fruit (melon, pineapple, orange, grapefruit and watermelon). We still freeze our kippers to ensure we have sufficient stock to meet the very variable demand for breakfast kippers. Some weeks we will not serve a single kipper. Other weeks we may use 20 or more. If we used fresh kippers we could not guarantee to have sufficient stocks without there being a lot of wastage. We have always been careful not to claim that the kippers are fresh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

I booked this hotel for a ong weekend (Fri-Mon) in March as a surprise for my husband's birthday and from the moment I phoned up to enquire about availability to the moment we left, the staff couldn't have been more helpful. They were friendly and approachable but also respected the fact that we were there for a quiet weekend and left us alone to enjoy a quiet weekend together. We stayed in the brand new luxury master suite on the top floor overlooking the Holy Isle which was just amazing. To open the curtains and have that as your view first thing in the morning is just breathtaking. The room itself is the ultimate in luxury - the rolltop bath strategically placed in the bay window overlooking the amazing view is genius.

The food in the restaurant is expensive but well worth it, it is amazing. Breakfast will keep you going until at least mid afternoon, no lunch required. The only thing we found with the evening meal was that the menu was limited so you probably wouldn't want to eat in there every night. Having said that there is a real shortage of local restaurants and pubs serving good food so you would struggle to find anywhere with food and service as good as this.

The surrounding area is lovely, there are endless walks to go on and an excellent bus service operates on the island. We managed all weekend without a car no problem. The only criticism is the lack of nice pubs and restaurants on that part of the island. We couldn't even find a decent fish and chip shop, although perhaps it had a lot to do with being there out of season.

Overall I would highly recommend the Glenisle for a quiet get away from it all type of holiday with bags of luxury and excellent service. What more could you want?

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrppaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

As usual, we try to read some reviews on tripadvisor before booking. We were not to be disappointed with the Glenisle. Management have their 'finger on the pulse' which means that there is attention to detail. If you have a problem with anything in your room, it is instantly dealt with. Our standard room was really comfortable with a lovely ensuite bathroom and we appreciated the luxurious thick bath towels. Service was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. We had planned to eat evening meals elsewhere but having enjoyed the first so much, decided to eat in the hotel on the other three evenings.
Hope to make a return visit in the near future!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arranlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huddersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2010

We has our honeymoon at the Glenisle and we were blown away by our room, the honeymoon suit is fantastic. The suit overlooks Lamlash bay out to the Holy Isle, it is a clean and recently refurbished room with an AMAZING bathroom! All the staff at the hotel were wonderful and very attentive, nothing was too much for them! We ate at the restaurent a couple of evenings and found the food to be wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennieswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamlash
3.2 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,154 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
922 reviews
8.3 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
401 reviews
2.9 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#3 of 6 in Whiting Bay
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenisle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenisle Hotel

Property: Glenisle Hotel
Address: Shore Road, Lamlash KA27 8LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Lamlash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lamlash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenisle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming, ancient island inn is now an award-winning boutique hotel. Nestled in the charming village of Lamlash the hotel boasts one of the most beautiful locations on the Isle of Arran; looking across Lamlash Bay toward the Holy Isle which rises 1,000 feet out of the sea. The Glenisle was honoured at the 2011 Scottish Hotel Awards, scooping up a Gold Medal for hospitality as well as the prestigious Rising Star Small Hotel award. Once you have experienced Arran from the comfort of the Glenisle Hotel you might find yourself, like so many others, coming back year after year for a regular break which both relaxes and revitalises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Glenisle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenisle Hotel Lamlash, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing