We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A home from home, and a little bit more.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
View towards Holy Isle
View from garden
Pladda and Ailsa Craig
Bathroom with bath and shower over
Glenashdale Falls
Whiting Bay beach
Arran
Glenashdale Falls in autumn
Ben Nuis
Glen Catacol
Lochranza sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lamlash, Isle of Arran, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jill C
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A home from home, and a little bit more.”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband entered the Arran half Iron Man competition taking place in Lamlash in June '15 and so we decided to have a week's holiday while we were there. After having a look for accommodation online and reading the reviews, we chose to stay at Alt Ardoch Cottage for the week. The photos online really do it justice as we were not disappointed in the slightest. If anything we were amazed at how spacious the cottage was. We had requested a travel cot and high chair for our 2 year old and both were satisfactory for him to use. The beds were very comfortable. The kitchen was very well equipped with washer/dryer and dishwasher. Crockery, cutlery, kids plates, oven dishes, pots and pans were all there. There wasn't anything we thought 'oh could have done with that'. The living room situated on the first floor was lovely with the views out to the Holy Isle. With it being mid summer we never shut the curtains and watched the night sky fall every evening. It was so peaceful. We didn't walk from the cottage to the village as the path down is a few 100 meters along the road. Although it's not a busy road it's not ideal for walking with the buggy. It was fine though if you are just popping out for a run or a walk and taking care when traffic is passing. We travelled around the island by car stopping off for walks, picnics and the swings. I would definitely not hesitate to book this accommodation again and highly recommend it to anyone looking to stay in the area. Ideal for a couple, two couples, family with two children/infants. The gardens are lovely and the views are breathtaking. Can't wait to go back next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage, tastefully and comfortably furnished”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just returned from a week in Alt Ardoch cottage.. I have been to Aaran several times and the friends who shared the cottage have been to the island many times over the last forty years. None of us have stayed in accommodation like this previously. Every comfort was taken care of. Furniture, furnishings, crockery, equipment - all were of good quality and excellent taste. The walls were hung with beautiful artworks. The cottage was spotlessly clean.The welcome pack was most welcome and very thoughtful. Service from Suzanne was excellent and we found the owner to be very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The location was excellent, the views fabulous and the island has so much to offer. We played golf and enjoyed several courses, however we spent many hours walking and enjoying the scenery. Thank you. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambiance, comfort and good taste
Liked least: There was nothing I didn't like!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan H
Nelson, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 13 February 2015 for a stay in April 2014

This self catering cottage contains everything you need. It's clean and comfortable. The living room is on the second floor, offering a gorgeous view over the ocean and of Holy Island. The location is perfect for exploring all of the Isle of Arran.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happydaze...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven nestling above the Lamlash Bay”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

A highly successful Arran holiday last week in no small way made wonderful by the accommodation at Alt Ardoch Cottage. In 40 years of doing self-catering on Arran the standard of provision in the house was amongst the best I have experienced. The house was immaculate on arrival and was everything I had dreamed of, thought the hummocky drive was bit of challenge - but I drive a low slung car. It is furnished in understated style and reeks of good taste. The kitchen equipment was the most well thought out and thorough in attention to to detail that I have experienced anywhere in Europe. God bless decent crockery and cutlery, it really adds to a good meal. Truly for people like us who wanted to buy meat from the Arran Butcher (can you believe those venison sausages!) and the shellfish from Creelers ( langoustine to make you drool) then bring them home and cook for ourselves the Alt Ardoch kitchen was the best. You come to Arran because it's not like home, so you need a torch in the 'proper' country dark at night, and guess what - they give you one in the cottage. The bedrooms were lovely and the beds very comfortable though our two adults in the twin beds both said they were rather narrow - but they'd come back to them willingly. Great shower. Good wifi, but poor TV reception - guess what, you're in the country so read a book or, if you must, watch TV on your laptop. The welcome box does just what it says on the tin and we did feel welcome. Saving the best for last - what about those views! You may find as good, but I doubt you'll find better. We loved it - money well spent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: kitchen equipment and the views
Liked least: narrow twin beds and hummocky drive
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynsd1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Accommodation; Setting and Views; Well worth trying”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great first holiday to Arran cottage made the trip,amazing views , totally relaxing setting , we will be back again

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyAH20...
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage with spectacular views”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely week on Arran, enhanced by the cottage and its magnificent views.
The cottage was clean and well equipped for a self-catering holiday with a large kitchen, perfect for family meals. The lounge was comfortable, as were the beds. If the weather is kind then the patio is a fantastic spot to sit and take in the view of Lamlash Bay below - the view is utterly breath-taking!
There was plenty of useful information provided about the island's attractions, restaurants, walks etc.
Suzanne, the property manager, was great, very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views!
Liked least: poor tv signal (don't know if this is the norm, or just bad luck?)
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and bathroom.
Liked least: Lack of external light near the driveway. Remember your torch.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing