We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hostel, scenic location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lochranza Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lochranza Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Lovely hostel, scenic location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Staying here at moment. The rooms are very clean and spacious. Reception opens at 5 but hostel is open during day. 2 lounges a tv and plenty of reading matter are available. Staff freindly. Bus service roughly 3 hourly round the island..will pick up at bottom of lane. Self catering facillities and nearest eating place 10 min walk.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haylesbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Lochranza Youth Hostel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
haylesbeth

5 stars again, we are getting abit to used to this at Lochranza Youth Hostel, thanks so much for your review. The team will be delighted. Please keep spreading the good word.

Many thanks from Natalia, Michal and Jan, we enjoyed having you and hope to welcome you again soon.

Lorna Padden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    22
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
15
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Spent the weekend at the youth hostel and had a wonderful time. The staff were all friendly and courteous, the rooms were spotless and the location is amazing. There are a couple of communal areas, one with a TV. The kitchen and dining area are more than adequate and it's well stocked with utensils and equipment. A very nice experience was had by all five of us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Lochranza Youth Hostel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
DamianR

Thanks so much for reviewing Lochranza Youth Hostel, Natalia, Michal and Jan thank you for your very kind comments.

We think Lochranza is one of the best Youth Hostels in Scotland and we hope with more good posts like yours that more people will come visit us and see our lovely Youth Hostel.

Thanks again, we really appreciate it.

Lorna Padden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
182 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This SYHA hostel is a real gem. It is very modern and clean. The staff are very helpful and friendly as one expects in an SYHA hostel. Lovely choice of stopover. Watch out for the red deer which are everywhere. Check how yiu are going to get there and away as its isolation may be charming but you might need to be somewhere else eventually. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Lochranza Youth Hostel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Bernadette 54

Thank you for your feedback. We think Lochranza Youth Hostel on the Isle of Arran is pretty special, the deer they are our own personal gardners for the Youth Hostel. And our location, its pretty near to perfect.

Our team, Natalia, Michal and Jan, thank you for your very kind comments, they are a small team who work very hard to keep this Youth Hostel that was fully renovated in 2009 to the highest standards possible.

Thanks again for your post, we appreciate it.

Lorna Padden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I spent a week at the hostel between 22nd and 29th April. I was very impressed with the refurb. it has recently received. The building and rooms are light and airy and the provision of loos and showers is excellent. The rooms are thoroughly cleaned every day and the beds are very comfortable. Michael and Natalia who run the place were very helpful indeed; nothing seemed too much trouble and all requests were met with a smile. I chose the breakfast option for the week and seldom needed to eat lunch. So I had a week's excellent B&B for £155 which can't be bad - it made the holiday very enjoyable.
As far as Lochranza goes, you really need transport if you want to see the rest of Arran, but I was content to roam the hills. Buses are few and expensive, being £5.40 for a day ticket ( £3.40 down south) and £19.99 for a week ( £11 on the Scottish mainland).
The Lochranza Hotel is not really worth bothering with unless all you want is a quick drink and don't mind the lack of atmosphere. The pretentiously named 'Stags Pavilion' restaurant is actually very good and very friendly but you do have to book. Having said that I did manage to sneak in for a delicious snack after playing golf ( again expensive) one afternoon. The distillery is good but the jewel in the crown for me is the Sandwich Station opposite the little Claonaig Ferry terminal. Their produce is all fresh, all locally sourced and mouthwateringly produced. It is well worth choosing a packed lunch from here if, like me, you enjoy your food.
I wouldn't bother with the Catacol Hotel either, it looks just as damp and depressing as it was ten years ago when I first ( and last) went there.
THE only thing which needs attention at the hostel is the peculiar pong in the hallway which may be carpet glue although I gather they've had drain problems but it is a very minor issue.
Lovely place, lovely people.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andyhowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Lochranza Youth Hostel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Andyhowes

Thanks so much for your response, Natalia and Michal were thrilled to read your review. Lochranza Youth Hostel on the Isle of Arran is one of the best locations SYHA has, the views are spectacular.

We pride ourselves on our customer service and its so good to read that our team there looked after you so well.

The refurbishment is about 4.5 years old now, but the team there maintain such high standards its still looking great.

Thanks so much for the review.

Lorna Padden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is one of the best youth hostels in Scotland. A very good location with great views. Good prices and if you are a member of course it is cheaper. Staff are always very friendly and helpful and you can eat there or get a packed lunch made up if you are popping out for the day. Very clean and tidy rooms, comfortable lounge to sit and relax in. I would definitely recommend it if you are in the area. If you want to eat out there is a good hotel close by which does good pub meals.
Plenty of parking at the hostel too. Bus stop right outside the hostel with buses into Brodick and the ferry terminal across to Ardrossen.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Purplehazze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

This was my first stay in a youth hostel and i really was not disappointed.
I took my bike and headed to Arran after originally booking in a hotel on the south coast of the island. I cancelled the reservation in the south after looking at the location of the youth hostel and am so glad i did! The YH is in an ideal location for biking, hiking and bird/nature watching on the island.
There is one hotel "next door",(10 min walk; Lochranza hotel) which has an amazing selection of whiskies-including their very own- serves good food and every night most of the residents of the YH were to be found there.
I went as a solo traveler yet even in the low end of the season(8th september) found the place full almost every night and met many other interesting people from all over the globe.
The staff in particular were so helpful and pleasant despite being run off their feet; even they were surprised how many visitors turned up! milo mi, michal i natalia
Bike facilities were great, with lock up hut-not that you need it-and hose to wash. laundry, dry room and kitchen superb and the rooms and toilets/showers etc were clean and functional.
I would not hesitate to return to Arran and specifically this hostel

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank czerwonybialy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

arrived on Arran on Friday evening and got bus (£2.95) to Lochranza Youth hostel were the driver kindly dropped us at the door. Got sorted with a four bedded - 2 bunk beds dorm for £21 a night (£19 if you are a member of youth hostel) I struggled to open my locker if the one above mine was locked but luckily it was left open and i wasn't worried about locking anything up. Beds and room temperature were good and the option of two sitting rooms with plenty space was much appreciated. There did appear to be some sort of fan or extractor which was a bit irritating at night time but earplugs solved that.

Take as many provisions with you as there is no shop in Lochranza. There is everything you will need in the kitchen area with plenty storage space for dry and chilled foods as well as tape/pens to label everything... The kitchen was a bit busy in the morning given the time it has to be vacated by but on our last day a lovely single female moved table so my friends and i could sit together.

Trying to visit the rest of the island on public transport is a challenge we bought a £5.40 all day ticket but had to return on the 16.20 bus from Broddick on a saturday as this was the last available bus....we did try to arrange a taxi but that proved impossible.
Lochranza hotel had Friday night entertainment and the food was lovely, cost £10 -£12 for a main course. Lochranza was beautiful and as others have commented has some very friendly red deer

The only down side of the accommodation was lack of female facilities on first floor. There was one designated female toilet located alongside 2 wonderfully powerful showers and a tiny washand basin, hand drier and hair dryer. The space in this shower/toilet was totally inadequate for the number of female visitors staying on the weekend i visited. If someone is trying to use the hairdryer they need to move to let people into the toilet and move again to give access to washand basin - and god help the folk trying to get in and out of showers at this time too.....There was an additional unisex toilet next door with basin which was much needed however please sort out ladies facilites why have 2 maleshower/toilets and only one female. There was a toilet downstairs but this couldn't be used between 11pm and 7 am.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Askitlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochranza
10.1 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,046 reviews
13.3 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lochranza Hotel
Lochranza Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lochranza
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Butt Lodge
Butt Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lochranza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochranza Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochranza Youth Hostel

Property: Lochranza Youth Hostel
Address: Lochranza KA27 8HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Lochranza
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Lochranza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As winner of the prestigious Green Tourism Business Goldstar Award 2011, Lochranza Youth Hostel is ranked as one of the UKs top ten greenest businesses. Lochranza Youth Hostel offers excellent budget and group accommodation but is also family friendly with private en-suite rooms, a spacious self-catering kitchen and laundry service available. Lochranza Youth Hostel is situated on the banks of Loch Ranza, opposite a 13th-century ruined castle in beautiful countryside. The youth hostel is also located on the Cock of Arran trail, which provides a beautifully scenic low level trek. The youth hostel garden is a great spot to watch wildlife, including red deer, red squirrel, grey seals, otters and golden eagles. Lochranza Youth Hostel benefits from a great bus connection and the bus stop is only 5 minutes walk away. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lochranza Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochranza Youth Hostel Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing