We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”
Review of Castlekirk

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochranza
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castlekirk
Ranked #2 of 5 Lochranza B&B and Inns
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Reading the recent reviews, I can see that the other visitors are just as smitten as we were when we stayed there for 2 nights. I completely agree with all their glowing comments - it is just the most special place. Vicki made us feel very welcome, comfortable and relaxed in this converted church overlooking the castle and the loch, with deer ambling outside and wildlfe all around. It is an idyllic place and we plan to stay again at Castlekirk when we return to Arran next year.
We were travelling by bicycle and it was no great distance to get to the caravan park where we were able to dine on both evenings at the small restaurant attached. The food there was outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargieEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed at Castlekirk for 3 day is last week. What a magical place, comfortable, welcoming, perfect location, good access around the island even for us public transport users. Vicki has cast a spell over the place, making it feel like home and some. Delightful veggie breakfasts, super views and wildlife on tap. We have stayed in many places in Arran but from now on there is only one place we would consider. Well done Vicki, even our grumpy wee yorkie, Montie loved your home, thank you for sharing it with us.

Room Tip: An otherworldly place where the stress and tension of everyday life is eased away
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunbartonshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We cycled round Arran (slowly!) last week, staying in 3 different b&b's along the way. There is none that came even close to our 3 nights at Castlekirk - this place is very special indeed.

Fully agree with other comments about our hostess Vicki - there is just something so good and kind about her, which makes you feel utterly relaxed and genuinely welcome. The library in the lounge was a treasure trove - as were the artworks downstairs - we felt we could have easily hidden away for weeks.

Add to this views across the sea loch, the castle, the deer, and wakening to the sound of the morning birds out the back...

Cannot recommend Castlekirk enough.

Room Tip: A converted loft area, so bedroom windows are obviously velux style and rear-facing. However the lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mands583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Castlekirk - a wonderful experience, an incredible memory. We stayed at this charming B&B for three nights last month. It was everything I'd hoped for, and so much more. Lochranza is a little piece of heaven on earth, so how fitting that our accommodations were in a converted church. Our host was delightful, the food was delicious, the location was unforgettable. If the gallery is open, be sure to look around. . . we were delighted to return home to the other side of the Atlantic with some of Vicki's wonderful work. Castlekirk, Lochranza and Arran -- a rare and special find!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank June D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlekirk, Owner at Castlekirk, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Thankyou June, it was a pleasure to have you stay, and am glad you returned safely with the seal heads intact!! V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

I cannot suggest strongly enough to stay at Castlekirk when you visit Arran. Castlekirk is in a converted church - you have breakfast under a rose window! - and it is totally unique and charming. The double bedroom tucked under the eaves with its private bath is my favourite room. Add to that the setting across from Lochranza Castle, in what I think is the most picturesque town on Arran, the art gallery filled with the work of local artists (as is the B&B), the tasty veggie-friendly breakfasts and Vicki, the loveliest B&B proprietor on Arran by far, and you are promised a memorable stay. We've been coming here for 10 years and we never want to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: The double bedroom with private bath is worth paying extra for - very romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotpaulabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlekirk, Owner at Castlekirk, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Thankyou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

Castlekirk is situated in the stunning village of Lochranza, right on the water where the deer roam free and there are no street lights - an idyllic location. Castlekirk is a very tastefully converted church and a nice and peaceful place to stay. The place is full of interesting artwork and even boasts its own gallery. Breakfast is lovely and the rooms are most pleasant with lots of nice touches (free wifi, herbal teas, local artwork, toiletries...). The very friendly owner is just the icing on the cake. There's something a wee bit special about Castlekirk - it's not just an ordinary b&b. The combination of the location, unique building and the friendly welcome makes it almost magical. I can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShuggieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlekirk, Owner at Castlekirk, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thankyou, you are welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This was our second time to stay at Lochranza on Arran and we stayed here because our previous Guest House had closed for a few days because of a bereavement. We were not disappointed. This is a converted church and still retains many of the features of a church and has interestingly shaped rooms and stairways built from quality materials not generally found in Guest Houses. Our accommodation was comfortable with a nice flat screen TV with Freeview and free WiFi giving a good broadband connection. Car parking is just across the road on spare ground and a good evening meal can be had 100 yards up the road at the Lochranza Hotel. The breakfast was excellent and Vicki, the Proprietor, couldn't do enough. The view from the breakfast room looking across the bay was breathtaking. We had two red deer just outside the front door at dusk, and previous to this we had just read about them. The Castlekirk is highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlekirk, Owner at Castlekirk, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thankyou, you are welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochranza
10.3 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,116 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
894 reviews
14.1 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Butt Lodge
Butt Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lochranza
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lochranza Hotel
Lochranza Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lochranza
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lochranza Youth Hostel
Lochranza Youth Hostel
#2 of 3 in Lochranza
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlekirk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlekirk

Property: Castlekirk
Address: Lochranza | Isle of Arran, Lochranza KA27 8HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Lochranza
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lochranza
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in legend and romance, LOCHRANZA is the jewel in Arrans Crown. Occasionally the peace is broken by the calls of oystercatchers annoyed by the odd human intrusion. Seals sit on the rocks whilst herons wade around the waters edge, wild deer can frequently be seen roaming the village, and golden eagles can sometimes be seen circling overhead. Across the Kilbrannan Sound, where the sun sets, awaits Kintyre. Look almost due north for views over to scenic Loch Fyne - the spiritual home of the kipper!CASTLEKIRK is the perfect retreat for artists, musicians, writers and poets, or those who just want to stay in a unique Bed and Breakfast and soak up the friendly creative atmosphere. Guests can enjoy looking at artwork which is displayed throughout the house and in the bedrooms. Artists are encouraged to use the inhouse gallery if they wish to paint whilst on holiday, tuition is available by arrangement, and easels are available to borrow, if any musicians feel so inclined, it’s also a great space to sit and practice! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castlekirk Lochranza, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing