We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Arran”
Review of Kincardine Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochranza
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kincardine Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Lochranza B&B and Inns
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
905 reviews
500 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in Arran”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Jean and Andy were very friendly and hospitable. Room was very clean and comfortable with views out to the bay. Shower Room was a good size with plenty of shelf space. Parking available in the driveway. Bed was very comfortable and it was nice to have a kettle in the room. Lodge is very close to Ferry Terminal and has the Hotel Lochranza restaurant a couple of doors down as well as the Stags Pavilion about 10 minutes walk adjacent to the campground, both were very good with the Stags Pavilion just edging out the hotel. Breakfast was very nice with a good selection of fruits, yoghurts, cereal, preserves etc and a good choice of cooked items. Lots of bird feeders in the garden so it was fun to watch the activity while enjoying breakfast. Wifi also available in the Lodge which was helpful. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeLuv2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Jean and Andy make you feel at home in their beautifull B&B with a fantastic view on the Lochranza bay. Nice rooms, good beds, really silent. Perfect for hikers. Good breakfast with view on the garden with lots of birds.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoi-Lau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochranza, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Excellent , clean very friendly and great breakfast - we really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOULL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We stayed at Kincardine Lodge in August 2011 during a five day trip to Arran. Although we arrived soaked on the motorbike we could not have got a friendlier welcome, even though I attempted to play football with one of the static garden ornaments - major fail. We were allowed to leave our biking gear in the spacious lobby and shown to our room which was exceptionally well decorated (I believe Jean had said her paint brush had recently been in overdrive) with a fantastic view over the extensive lawn and out towards the loch and surrounding hills.

There was a comfortable residents' lounge with quite eclectic books ranging from "A history of Tangerine Dream" to "Fighter planes of WW2", plus all the usual parlour games, local books of interest, pamphlets, DVDs etc. Very relaxing place to spend an hour or two in the evening. The bedroom was very clean with all the required fixtures and fittings. Important stuff like hairdriers (less grief for me) and tea making facilities when you have spent a fair time on a bike avoiding sheep and OAP drivers!!

Breakfasts were very filling and quite a choice, from yoghurts and fresh fruit right through to the full monty of Scottish cooked breakfasts, including Stornoway black pudding and sausages from the local butcher 100 yards down the road. So fresh that when I stuck my fork in even the sausage mooed.

All in all a very enjoyable stay at the Kincardine Lodge. One evening we even ate a Chinese carry out al fresco sitting on the garden furniture on the front lawn, after a very careful ride from Brodick with the grub perched between us on the bike. Nothing spilt :)

Jean and Andy were very friendly and hospitable hosts and I would definitely recommend their B&B to anyone. There is a hotel 2 mins down the road in one direction for bar suppers, and a wee sandwich place by the Claonaig terminal 2 mins down the road in the other direction for lunches. Both recommended eating establishments, especially the sandwich shop. It was like a Tardis Mk Two!

Arran is a beautiful place and Kincardine Lodge was a perfect place for us to stay during our visit. Apologies to Jean finally for overhearing the start of WW3 - just because I told Kim to get a move on putting on her slap. Oh well. The seals and scenery made up for the grief :)

Room Tip: Any room at the front of the house looks right over the bay and Kilbrannan Sound
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4angusmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We had never been to Arran before and we only stayed one night on the island where we stayed with Andy & Jean at the Kincardine Lodge. It was great. The setting was perfect looking out over the bay, seals basking on the rocks, red squirrels playing in the gardens and red deer nearby if you get up early enough to see them. It is located less than half a mile from the Lochranza ferry terminal. The room was very comfortable and Andy & Jean were very welcoming and served an excellent breakfast. There was ample off-road car parking. For an evening meal you had to walk no further than 3 buildings away to the local pub where excellent food was available. If we ever come back to Arran we will be heading straight to the Kincardine.Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We found the Kincardine Lodge at short notice and Jean & Andy cold not have been more helpful with the booking the evening before and greeting and settling us in on the day. Set in a spectacular area close to the castle, distillery and other places of interest. We were made to feel at home and in the morning we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast whilst watching the red squirrels raiding the bird feeders and the deer wandering round the garden! This B&B is also a couple of hundred yards from the CalMac Ferry so useful if you are heading on to Kintyre.
Somewhere we would love to stay again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlwagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Seven of us stayed for three nights at this wonderful B&B. The house is beautiful, the view is stunning, and the location is great. The hosts couldn't not have done more to make our stay more enjoyable. They even let us use the dining room in the evening for whisky tastings. As one whom has stayed in many B&B's - I'd be surprised if you could find a better B&B in the area. All around the highest marks!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferintosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochranza
0.0 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,154 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
922 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
746 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lochranza Hotel
Lochranza Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lochranza
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lochranza Youth Hostel
Lochranza Youth Hostel
#2 of 3 in Lochranza
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kincardine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kincardine Lodge

Property: Kincardine Lodge
Address: Lochranza KA27 8HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Lochranza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lochranza
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Kincardine Lodge Lochranza, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing