We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first visit to Arran”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochranza
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This was our first experience of motor home holidays. How magic was this site. We couldn't find fault with a thing fabulous views and clean modern facilities. Even to the finer details of clearing up the evidence of the majestic red deer who roam the site at will, with pooper scoopers!! The 9 hole golf course looked easy at first glance but proved otherwise with some tricky little holes. The condition of the course was very good - congratulations to the new green keeper. Our only regret was that this came first in our travels so it will be hard to find better. Our hosts were very helpful and work very long and hard to keep the site looking so good and making our stay so comfortable. Well done to you all. David and Gay

Room Tip: The are no rooms and swimming pool but could not get rid of the rating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

There was 8 of us on a motorcycling holiday. The price of camping was reasonable. The staff were great, bringing over a large table using a tractor for us all to use.
The toilet block was very clean, as was the rest of the site, which has stunning views. The staff again came to our rescue by helping me out with materials to try and fix my bike.

The WIFi was very useful, as I couldn't get a 3g signal. We used the restaurant at the entrance to the site for breakfast one morning and the food was very nice.

Overall a really good site, and I would defiantly use it again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank lors74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

What a fabulous place Lochranza is, so peaceful and as everyone else has commented, excellent shower/toilet facilities which make such a difference to the whole motor home experience. We had only booked to stay for one night which was a shame but our trip included Kintyre, Islay, Jura, Oban & Perth too, too hectic so next time we will slow down so we can enjoy Lochranza for longer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khasbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights camping 9 may onwards and were impressed with the free hot showers, the friendly welcome for us and our dog, great views, babbling burn and flat well drained ground for our tent! Lovely to see the deer so close. If you want to eat in the stag restaurant book well in advance!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Dellathomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We arrived March 30th for a week and had been reassured by Kathy that the site was OK despite the recent heavy snows. It was bitterly cold and astonishingly beautiful with all the mountains picked out in snow which turned pink at dusk. Barely a cloud in the sky for the full week and not a midge in sight (possibly frozen to death!) We usually travel further north (Skye/ Morvich/Ullapool) for our Easter break - reducing our drive by 200 miles helped offset the ferry fare which is a bit steep. The site had been cleared of snow and had all the amenities of a Caravan Club 4 star site - without those depressing ubiquitous notices to keep left, keep quiet, clean up after your dog, drive at 10mph etc etc etc which treat us all as discourteous delinquents. How lovely to be treated as a grown-up. You can walk along the river and through the golf course to Lochranza if you prefer to avoid the (very quiet) road to the Lochranza Hotel, or stay much closer to the site to eat at the Stags Pavilion (book ahead). Dogs are welcome on the site. You can take a ferry from Lochranza to explore the Kintyre peninsula or enjoy the great local walks. An excellent bus service connects you back to Brodick if you want to leave the car behind or walk a linear rather than circular route. We live close to the Galloway Dark Skies Park, so are used to clear starry skies, but for anyone who endures light pollution for the majority of the year, Lochranza is a great place to see the stars. If you can't cope without checking your emails, Nigel is trialling a limited access to the internet (for a very modest fee) at the site and it's also available at the Lochranza Hotel. The other reviews say everything there is to say about warmth of welcome and attention to detail so I won't repeat that - but we will repeat the journey to Arran and to this site in particular. Definitely did the job as far as re-charging batteries was concerned.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank half-full55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Previous review comments regarding this campsite’s spectacular setting and wildlife, the gleaming cleanliness of the heated, spanking-new (hot) shower and toilet facilities, and the thoughtfully provided and well-equipped laundry and campers’ rooms are all true. Although Nigel and Kathy, the Lochranza Campsite owners give a good website description, I was still stunned by it all when I was deposited at the campsite gate by bus one afternoon in a terrifically stormy March. Gathering self, tent and rucksack, I met Nigel, who welcomed me and basics were explained straightaway. Let’s face it: solo pop-up, odd-day campers are not the most lucrative business proposition but the owners could not have done more during my short stay to help and make me feel at home. Anyone would appreciate the superb facilities and in my case this “single-tented-damp-n-cramped” was particularly grateful. Pleasingly for me, peace and quiet and respecting this for others is a key request on this site, especially at night – great when you’re alone in a tent. The site has one or two simple rules – good for lone idiots like me – all clearly posted at reception along with Kathy’s carefully posted collection of local timetables and useful information (from site tent pitching for the novice to bus and ferry times – everything you need really) but there’s a relaxed atmosphere and you’re left alone unless you need help. These people have their campers’ interests at heart and it was clear from chatting to them and in seeing how they run this beautiful site that their on-going goal is to provide their campers with the best possible experience. I like finding sites where you’re surprised by what has been thought of. It really was MY pleasure to stay there.

Room Tip: Have a sturdy tent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malcolm p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kath097, Manager at Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. It was nice to meet you and we thought you coped admirably with some wild wintry weather.

Kathy and Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This was our first ever camper van holiday and we were delighted to arrive at Lochranza and find this camp-site in such a stunning location. The management were very welcoming on arrival and helpful re hooking up etc. However no sooner had management left when we were confronted by a very rude and aggressive man from the caravan behind who claimed that we were blocking his view and insisted that we move immediately. As the rest of the site was quite boggy, after torrential rain the night before, we decided not to do this - Big mistake!
Next morning this arrogant man stood at our door, which was open, and stared aggressively at us in our van for over twenty minutes while we ate breakfast which made us very uncomfortable. When we ignored this behaviour he brought his dog and proceeded to throw a ball from our van door which the dog fetched and returned. Getting no reaction from us he then rolled the ball under our van and insisted again that we move so that he could retrieve his tennis ball. I again refused. After an hour of this intimidating behaviour we decided to pack up and leave the site immediately.
We were meeting friends who were coming to Arran that day and decided that we would all be better to stay at another site elsewhere on the island. Unfortunately Lochranza camp site lost not only our business but also the business of our friends for the week.
Other campers said that we should not leave and that normally people were very friendly and that this particular persons behaviour was indeed a rarity. We will come back to this site when we next visit Arran and we will certainly not let this experience dampen our enthusiasm for camping in future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Sandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LochranzaCampsite, Owner at Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

We are very sad to hear about your experience. How could someone behave in such a petty and mean-spirited way in such a beautiful and peaceful place as Lochranza? We wish you had let us know what was going on at the time and the person behaving offensively towards you would have been requested to leave. We’re glad you’re intending to return in the future and we’re sure it will be a happier visit for you. We find that most people who decide to come to Lochranza Campsite are considerate, doing interesting things themselves and are interested in others. Lochranza itself is a place that normally seems by-passed by the stresses of 21st century mainland life, where everyone has the time of day for a friendly chat or to help each other out. It is a pity that in the case of the man who was so unpleasant to you, the place hadn’t managed to work its calming influence on him.
Kathy and Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochranza
10.1 mi away
The Shorehouse
The Shorehouse
#3 of 3 in Brodick
46 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lochranza Youth Hostel
Lochranza Youth Hostel
#2 of 3 in Lochranza
80 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lochranza Hotel
Lochranza Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lochranza
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Butt Lodge
Butt Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lochranza
70 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site

Address: Lochranza KA27 8HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Lochranza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Lochranza
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing