We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great camping pod, shame about the midges!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochranza
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed in one of the 3 camping pods which was really great, we put an air mattress and quilt in there and it was very snug and cosy. Campsite was nice and bathrooms were clean, could have done with reception being open a little longer though. We unfortunately made the mistake of coming on a Wednesday so the adjacent pub/restaurant was closed and we had to traipse in the pouring rain to find somewhere to eat. Walking home from the pub was great though, we saw loads of deer by Lochranza castle at dusk which was lovely. Very (and I do mean very!) unfortunately, we also didn't realise how bad the midge problem is in Scotland and our pod was absolutely full of them and we were bitten to pieces by them. Don't think we would stay again just because the discomfort of being bitten all night by midges was so awful, although the pod in itself was fine and the campsite was fine.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SJBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kath097, Owner at Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for your comments and glad you enjoyed most of your stay except for the midges. We've had lovely warm weather here for quite a while now which suits midges but we've also had loads of glorious sunsets and it's always exciting to see the red deer calves around Lochranza at this time of year. Midges are only around in the summer months and not a problem in autumn or spring, and they're not around when there's a breeze. If we're not in reception we're usually to be found around the site and we welcome feedback and suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Having been regular visitors to this campsite for 30 years I'm sorry to say that we'll most probably not be back.
Yes the shower block was kept clean and the water was hot but showering was almost impossible due to a cone of water hitting the walls and curtain rather than the person stood in the shower, this is the same in all 3 showers in both the ladies' and men's.
We constantly felt watched by the owners and the installation of cctv (which I'm not convinced is legal due to there being no signs warning you that Images are being recorded) seems very ott for such a peaceful location.

The owners seem more interested in threatening to throw people off for anything, a passing comment about a local event at the distillery resulted in a response 'I'll just throw roudy people off'. The same threat was given to us because one of our dogs occasionally barked at a passing dog (we always responded to her bark and quietened her).
The owners' constant scrutiny meant I didn't feel able to relax and enjoy my surroundings, I certainly didn't feel comfortable allowing my daughter to play in case she upset anyone!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank pixie_rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kath097, Owner at Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

I guess you're taking out your anger on us because your four dogs kept many visitors awake at night and we received several complaints about you next morning which must have left you feeling humiliated. Of course we had to ask you to ensure it did not happen again. Please remember that we gave you a significant discount for your camping fees and dogs because you had been before.

I'm afraid it is you who is treading on very shaky ground legally as you are broadcasting a libellous statement to the world. We do not have CCTV and do not have recorded images. We have a monitor so that when we are inside we can respond promptly to guests arriving.

You expressed your concern that the Distillery Festival might lead to disturbance on the campsite. You were reassured that we do not tolerate noisy behaviour at night. We feel very saddened that you have twisted this comment with malicious intent. Incidentally, the Distillery Festival was the usual happy event it always is, causing no problems on the campsite.

No one had any problem at all with you playing with your daughter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I'll start with the positives: Very clean, quiet, has its own guest lounge with fridge and microwave which is handy.

Negatives: On arrival there was no one at reception so had to investigate things for ourselves, ended up having to enter and pitch at our own accord. The land is not suitable for tents, everywhere we tried our tent pegs only penetrated the grass by about 2" until it hit rock. There is a stream/trees by the boundaries of the camp site where tents are put which is very very bad for midges so had to sit in the car to avoid them (not the owners fault I know but surely they would know this problem), showers are a pain in the neck as they operated by a push button timer which you need to push every 5 seconds to keep it running, bin areas were quite messy, and to finish the trip off we were woken by the OWNERS grass cutting the camp site before 9am !! Really? this is a place to go to to relax from the sound of grass cutters!

Be aware folks! Don't forget I told you so when this happens to you...

Room Tip: Do not camp by riverside! Be warned of midges!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stormelph08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kath097, Owner at Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

As you've chosen a public forum to air your grievances rather than a personal conversation, I will respond to your criticisms here.
Firstly, there is always someone around the site even if reception is closed. We have clear advice displayed about where to pitch your tent on the door. Most tent campers choose to be by the burn. Also, we find that most campers are independent types who are happy to pitch up by themselves.
Secondly, the ground is hard because of the long, dry spell of sunny weather we've had here. If you'd told us you were struggling to peg your tent out we would have helped you. Warm summer weather brings midges out at dawn and dusk at this time of year on days when the breeze drops. It never put me off camping in Scotland.
We make strenuous efforts to keep the site tidy. One morning a seagull had pulled rubbish out of the bin but you will have noticed it was very quickly cleared up. We never strim before 9 am, but every so often strimming is necessary as part of keeping the site tidy.
We aim to be an environmentally-friendly campsite in order to keep Arran the beautiful and unspoilt place it is. Push-button showers save water (5 seconds is hardly factual). We love camping ourselves and aim for Lochranza Campsite to be the kind of campsite we like when we go camping. We're clearly not your sort of site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a great week at lochranza caravan and campsite. It is situated in a beautiful location surrounded by fells, with a burn running along the edge of the site. The toilet block was always kept clean and we never had to queue for the shower. There is a golf course next to the site with a putting green which is free to use for campers, putters are provided.
The weather was fab most of the week although there was a great downpour on the 1st night which left some of the site a bit boggy for a while, but everybody seemed to manage ok.
The owners were friendly and helpful and the site is kept in great condition. The fact that wild deer roam freely around the campsite is a great experience, especially for the children, and was one of the attractions when we booked. You get a really close up view of the animals that would be hard to beat.
There is a great restaurant, the stags pavilion, next to the site.
Arran is a lovely island and this was our first camping trip to Scotland and it could not have been better.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank b1222rhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Lovely clean campsite, friendly staff and the local Dear seem interested in 1979 VW Campers! They were gathered round our van having a good nosey at 6am!
The campsite is also very well situated for the Arran Distillery across the road

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This campsite has spotless facilities and is in a beautiful, quiet spot surrounded by mountains. Lovely sunset on our one night stay, and the deer also came to visit in the early hours. Lambs in the field next door, and a distillery just across the road.
Perfect relaxation....

Room Tip: Not far from the ferry terminal at Lochranza
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lotty68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We visited in September. The campsite is in a great location with a short walk to the sea and castle with an even shorter walk to the distillery. Very clean toilets and well run site. The site has a nine hole golf club attached with honesty box to play.
The highlight for us was the wildlife with red deer, red squirrels, an otter and possibly a golden eagle. There is a superb restaurant at the entrance to the camp but it is advisable to book as fills quickly.
Some very nice walks nearby especially along the coast and over the hills.
I would highly recommend and will return.

Room Tip: Nice to camp next to the 9th green but watch out for errant golf balls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluedook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kath097, Manager at Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Now that the end of season is here again, Nigel and I would like to say an enormous thank you to all of you who have reviewed Lochranza Campsite this year. We are touched by your kind comments and enjoy reading your thoughtful insights and hearing about your interesting experiences. We hope we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochranza
6.7 mi away
Corrie Hotel
Corrie Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corrie
188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lochranza Youth Hostel
Lochranza Youth Hostel
#2 of 3 in Lochranza
80 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lochranza Hotel
Lochranza Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lochranza
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Butt Lodge
Butt Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lochranza
68 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site

Address: Lochranza KA27 8HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Lochranza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Lochranza
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing