We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochranza
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here 4 nights. Nigel and Cathy are great! The little recepion area and campers lounge are packed with constantly updated information and there are handy id guides for wildlife. The first night we stayed it was quite windy so no modges, but then the wind dropped.....and out they came. I was gratified to find out that they did not like me so apart from a little irritation sue to them crawling around my body, I could ignore them. Otherwise, it might be unpleasant. Midge head nets seem to be the most effective. This was te one downside of the camping, because they came out just when you might want to cook dinner, and there was no question of a relaxed meal until they were gone! However, this is not the owner's fault and they couldn't have been more helpful and charming. The facilities were fine, with plenty of showers, sinks etc., kept spanking clean and well stocked with toilet paper. The showers worked well and were an acceptable temperature. The red deer were all around and often in the campsite, an experience hard to beat. We had the most glorious day of walking from the campsite round the north end of the island with red deer, harbour seal, harbour porpoise, golden eagle sightings. The third day we stayed, we had torrential rain...so much so that by the evening, the burn was coming in over the bank into the lower lying part of the campsite. Tents were hurriedly moved and we were anxiously watching the water level rise as it continued to rain...luckily a the tide went out and the rain eased off, it started to go down and we could sleep in peace. My boys thought it was the most exciting thing ever! All I can say is thank god for the camper's lounge and the microwave!

Room Tip: Choose a higher part of the campsite just in case!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Maloptera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kath097, Owner at Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you very much for writing this. It was entertaining to read and we're glad you all had fun on your Lochranza holiday. All the best, Kathy and Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Awesome camping because it's not just a golf course. We stayed in one of the little posh cabins just big enough for a family of four with the boys sleeping on the floor and us on the seats converted into a bed. Plenty of room for all our stuff and plenty of power sockets to keep everything charged.

Showers were always nice and hot and the staff are friendly and helpful. They also have a little campsite common room with a kettle, microwave and fridge. In here you can sit on one of the sofas and read some of the leaflets, information books or maps and get ideas for your holiday.

And of course at night the skies are truly dark, so #stargazing is a must.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Roy_Alexander101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kath097, Owner at Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Yes, in settled clear conditions the winter night skies here can be so full of stars they look more silver than black.
Thanks very much for your review and very best wishes to you all. We enjoyed having you to stay on the campsite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We've just returned from 4 days here, having found the site by chance in such a beautiful location. I've just read the T/A reviews for the 1st time and think that the title of my review says it all. 35 comments, either Excellent or VG, as opposed to two comments that are poor or terrible ( and the owner has given a considered and balanced response to what I think is unjust criticism of this campsite) Our own positive comments are: stunning location; a quiet site where we saw a golden eagle and a wren on the same day; very cheerful and helpful owners, Nigel & Kath; it is advertised as a quiet site & the owners manage to achieve this; near the village; very clean facilities; lots of information available in the lounge & reception. My only negative comment is the nearest shop is 6 miles away and midges in summer. Both of which are outwith the owners control. So come prepared with sufficient supplies and Avon Skin so Soft. Hope this helps. We highly recommend this campsite

Room Tip: camp away from the stream on higher ground to avoid midgees
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank merrymac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kath097, Owner at Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

We very much appreciate your heartening comments. Best wishes, Kathryn and Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My stay in Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site was long, five weeks to be exact…A long time for anyone to be camping in a tent. However, it did not matter! The incredibly friendly and professional staff made that field a home away from home for me. The Camp Site location, wildlife and surrounding view is breathtaking. Pair that with all the comforts of a good hotel, hot showers, electricity and you have one unforgettable stay on the Isle of Arran.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kath097, Owner at Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Glad you got safely home. We think camping continuously for 5 weeks in a small tent whilst you were working on your geology project was quite an achievement and we enjoyed having you to stay. Thanks very much for your review of the campsite. All the best, Nigel and Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I would highly recommend Lochranza caravan site, the staff are amazing, the site is beautiful and clean, nothing is too much trouble.
stunning location!! Breath taking scenery, deer roaming around, just brilliant!!
We had travelled from Blackpool and wasn't sure how long we wanted to stay the staff were very flexible, to be honest we didn't want to leave it such a lovely place!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kath097, Owner at Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you very much for your enthusiastic review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Best regards, Nigel and Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We love Scotland. However we usually go further North. This year we decided to try Arran and Kintyre.
As the Arran wildlife guide was based in Lochranza we booked three days on this site. It was a nice size; not too big, with the necessary amenities. Anyone interested in golf has doorstep access to a 9 hole course.

There's loads of wildlife there, including an eagle's nest visible from the site. Wild deer roam the golf course in an evening. Lochranza castle, harbour, and distillery are within easy walking distance.

A great break, a great site and a host that couldn't be more helpful.

Room Tip: The whole site seemed good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluekwak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kath097, Owner at Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Lochranza Campsite. We're very glad you enjoyed your time in Lochranza. Thank you also for mentioning the golf as it doesn't often get a mention in our reviews but it is open to everyone (and cheaper for campers). We think it's a good way to see the wildlife of the area too. Kind regards from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed in one of the 3 camping pods which was really great, we put an air mattress and quilt in there and it was very snug and cosy. Campsite was nice and bathrooms were clean, could have done with reception being open a little longer though. We unfortunately made the mistake of coming on a Wednesday so the adjacent pub/restaurant was closed and we had to traipse in the pouring rain to find somewhere to eat. Walking home from the pub was great though, we saw loads of deer by Lochranza castle at dusk which was lovely. Very (and I do mean very!) unfortunately, we also didn't realise how bad the midge problem is in Scotland and our pod was absolutely full of them and we were bitten to pieces by them. Don't think we would stay again just because the discomfort of being bitten all night by midges was so awful, although the pod in itself was fine and the campsite was fine.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SJBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kath097, Owner at Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for your comments and glad you enjoyed most of your stay except for the midges. We've had lovely warm weather here for quite a while now which suits midges but we've also had loads of glorious sunsets and it's always exciting to see the red deer calves around Lochranza at this time of year. Midges are only around in the summer months and not a problem in autumn or spring, and they're not around when there's a breeze. If we're not in reception we're usually to be found around the site and we welcome feedback and suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lochranza hotels
0.7 mi away
Lochranza Hotel
Lochranza Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lochranza
141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lochranza Youth Hostel
Lochranza Youth Hostel
#2 of 3 in Lochranza
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Butt Lodge
Butt Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lochranza
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site

Address: Lochranza KA27 8HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Lochranza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Lochranza
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Lochranza Caravan & Camp Site Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing