We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent Stay at Viewbank House, Isle of Aran”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Viewbank Guest House
Ranked #2 of 6 Whiting Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed for 3 nights from Frid 21 June - Sunday 23 June.
Fantastic warm welcome from Julie (Mrs Barker) after a long trip up to Scotland
The room was cozy and cottagy though it had a great ensuite and sea view
The breakfasts were beautifully cooked and plentiful, and for 2 of the 3 nights we had dinner there also - gorgeous food!
Fantastic dining room with amazing Rock memorabilia eg 1960s Concert Posters, belonging to 'Mal' (Mr Barker), who seemed like a music expert as he talked through the background to his poster collections. The B&B is set in beautiful scenic surroundings! I felt really chilled out and relaxed by the end of the weekend. Just a pity I have to go back to work!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 1 -Kingsize bed and great sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm B, Owner at Viewbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us at Viewbank. It was wonderful to meet you both and already looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at Viewbank Guest House and we found Julie and Ian to be very friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and tidy and breakfast was of good quality. No problems at all. If you are travelling to Arran for the first time, this Guest House is a good stay. I would recommend a car on Arran, there are buses but this accommodation is easier reached by car. Great value and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khunter127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Viewbank which is situated in a pieceful setting. The hosts were very friendly and were happy to accommodate. Breakfast were very good with a variety of choice and all very tasty. Our holiday was completely hassle free with no pressures and I would certainly stay there again. We had a kingsize bedroom with en suite with splendid views of Whiting Bay.

Room Tip: King size bedroom had lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Ian and I have just spent 4 days with Julie and Mal and were very impressed . The house is in a wonderful position with stunning views over Whiting Bay .
We were made very comfortable and welcome , breakfasts were excellent and on 2 evenings we ordered their meal which was super . All excellent value and well cooked .
Julie and Mal are a very warm ,hardworking couple and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay with them on such a beautiful island .
Thank you so much. Jill and Ian

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mogsandpogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This is a lovely little place and is in a perfect position above Whiting Bay, the views are simply stunning. Mal & Julie are the perfect hosts, offering advice, lending sun tan lotion (because we forgot ours!!!) and feeding you up with delicious simple food that is plentiful. The breakfasts are a pleasure to tuck in to.

Nothing is too much trouble for these guys, they really care about you having a nice stay. If I had one negative and it really is only a small one it would be that the decor is of a time but the guest house is clean, warm and very welcoming so don't let this put you off.

This island in general is a beautiful place for a relaxing break - it took us about an hour to unwind and having got back its going to take us a couple of days to wind back up again.

Our advice is go to Arran and choose Viewbank you won't be disappointed.

The Whittlesx

Room Tip: 1 to 4 have sea views, 5 and 6 are perfect for a family as they have their own front door. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWhittlesxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I ended up going to the island when they,had their power out from the tons of snow, but malcolm made my stay wonderful and I will be back again! Loved it here. Its a beautiful walk up the path to their home, and the sea view is astonishing. The buys from village to village runs frequent at the bottom of the path so its ready to tour using that.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katemac101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Had a great stay at View Bank. Malcolm and Julie were extremely warm, friendly and welcoming.
The food was delicious with healthy portions.
The room was spotlessly clean, and they were very accommodating for dogs. Nice views of the Bay and excellent access to local walks.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank HughieHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whiting Bay
3.4 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cruickshanks Boutique Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#3 of 6 in Whiting Bay
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hunters Guest House
Hunters Guest House
#3 of 16 in Brodick
117 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Viewbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viewbank Guest House

Address: Viewbank Viewbank Golf COURSE | Whiting Bay, ISLE of ARRAN, Whiting Bay KA27 8QT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Whiting Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Whiting Bay
Price Range: £70 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Viewbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viewbank Guest House Whiting Bay, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing