We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic house for a family catch up”
other travellers have booked this property
Impressive villa with stunning sea views of Ayrshire coast
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Impressive villa with stunning sea views of Ayrshire coast
Separate sitting room on ground floor. Large dining room comfortably seats 12
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Impressive villa with stunning sea views of Ayrshire coast
Separate sitting room on ground floor.
Large dining room comfortably seats 12
Bright fully equipped kitchen overlooking back garden
Upstairs main bathroom
King size bed with stunning sea views looking towards Turnberry
Amazing view from bedroom looking south.
King size bed with sea views
Super king size bed or twin beds with lovely garden view
Super king size bed or twin beds with side sea view
Super king size bed or twin beds with sea views
Twin bedded room with garden views
Stunning landscaped back garden with putting green
'Hectors House' children's playhouse in garden
View from front of house looking south
Old apple tree in back garden
Stunning sunrise over Ayrshire coast
Local attraction Glen Ashdale Falls
View from Whiting Bay Golf Course
Amazing view from summit of Goat Fell
Sleeping Warrior close to Goat Fell
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Whiting Bay, Isle of Arran, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Troon40
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic house for a family catch up”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

6 of us were over on a family catch up and had a great time. Loads of space, everything we needed ( including the added bonus of electric blankets!!) and great service from Jackie. She even had the ice in the freezer for G&Ts !!! I will be back with the kids as think they would love the wendyhouse

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Mar 2015
I am sorry you feel this way about our house. In the five years we have been letting we have never kept back any damage deposits but in this case we had no choice .We did return part of it as a goodwill gesture.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JulieMRam...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great house in a fab location”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Ideal house for a big group - 8 adults and 5 children - with plenty of living space for all of us. The owner was very helpful before we arrived and was happy to answer all of our questions. There are loads of games and DVDs in the house in case weather is bad although we were blessed with lovely weather for at least half of our stay so were out exploring the island most of the time.

There are plenty of dishes, pots, glasses etc. for a large group. I've often found this to be a problem with other large rentals.

The only downside was that the electric showers could sometimes be temperamental and the local pub had closed down so there was no pub within walking distance. This didn't spoil an otherwise thoroughly enjoyable week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan D
Blanefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect accomodation for group activity holiday”
Reviewed 26 November 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Helenslea is a very comfortable holiday home in a great location for access to all activities. It accommodated all 12 of us with ease and we had a fantastic week there with family and friends. The lounge is a wonderful social space with fantastic views. We had great weather so the barbecue was well used and the garden was a delight to be in. It was our fifth visit and we will be back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilaryd10...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant base for walking holiday with friends”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Perfect holiday home for group of 6, we had a room each, 3 good bathrooms. Very clean and well supplied. Good size living room with open fire. We tried two restaurants walking distance away which were excellent. Walking guides and maps and loads of box games which we didn't need as the weather was fantastic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large size, beautiful gardens.
Liked least: separate kitchen/dining room.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robcrofto...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic base for large family group”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Helenslea was a superb base for our holiday with extended family. Plenty of bedrooms, large lounge and dining room, and beautiful large garden. Easy access to the beach and rest of the island.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susan m
Strathblane, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing Haven with something for everyone”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Thank you Jackie and David for a fantastic stay. Although the sunny weather helped so did the patio, putting, barbecue & waking to sea views every morning. The house (in the small amount of time that I spent indoors) was welcoming and comfortable with plenty of space for everyone & had a comprehensive guide to things to do so we were never bored. The welcome basket with local produce was a nice touch also. Although we enjoyed sunshine there are loads of things to keep you entertained even in the unlikely event of rain. Will definitely recommend to others.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing